We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Cap Maison”
Review of Cap Maison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cap Maison
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cap Estate
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Cap Maison”
Reviewed 4 March 2011

We arrived after a very long journey and was greeted by wonderful and helpful staff, my children are 12 and 8 and were given a very refreshing fruit punch which went down a storm, my husband and I were offered a glass of champagne. We were shown to our room and I was amazed at the size very big, we also ad the kids beds in there as well so I thought it would be very tight, I was wrong!

We ate in the Cliff Top the first night, but thes weren't keen on the menu, so we ate mostly in Rodney Bay.

The grounds are just beautiful and the staff were so friendly and helpful you couldn't ask for more. There wasn't much for the kids to do expect swimming and spending time on the beach, no entainment programmes but they really weren't bothered they we're happy to be in the room in the evening playing games or watching tv.

I would like to say a special thank you too the ladies on the reception and the staff in the restaurant at breakfast they were all so friendly and helpful, they are a real credit to Ross and hs resort. Thank you all for a very wonderful and very pleasent say :-)

I would love to return one day but I'll wait for the kids to get a bit older.

Once again thank you Ross and all at Cap Maison

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pebbles04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    117
    51
    8
    3
See reviews for
84
533
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Cap Maison is the best hotel that we visited in Saint Lucia. In fact, it is among the best hotels in which I have ever had the pleasure of staying.
From the moment we arrived, it was clear that we had discovered a superior hotel. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the front end manager, Day (not sure about the spelling), who offered us both glasses of chilled champagne while she searched for our reservation. There was some initial confusion regarding our booking because my last and first names had somehow been reversed, but Day was incredibly accommodating and helpful. She even offered us a complimentary villa to relax in and freshen up while they prepared our suite.
What was even more amazing was the upgrade we were offered for our trouble. Instead of the very adequate suite that we had booked, we were given an Ocean View Villa Suite with a Rooftop Terrace and Private Pool. This was easily the most beautiful place that I have ever stayed in my entire life. It was perfect in nearly every way. It was spacious, tastefully decorated, and well appointed with nearly every conceivable amenity.
During our stay, Day continued to check in with us. She helped us arrange our massages, made dinner reservations for us, and generally made certain that our every need was met. Every staff member was friendly, courteous and professional. The dinner at The Cliff Restaurant was excellent and the setting was magnificent. The therapists who performed our couples massage were quite skillful. There is little negative that I can report about our experience at Cap Maison.
When we return to Saint Lucia, it will be at Cap Maison that we will book our stay. There is no more picturesque setting in the north of the island and probably no better hotel on all of the island. Thank you, Cap Maison, for being such a wonderful part of our honeymoon!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheImmortals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley Lancs UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Stayed here for a week courtesy of St Lucian Travel Service , basically won a holiday:) The atmosphere was relaxed and the rooms were fantastic. The view from our room was amazing and the bed was so comfortable, if it hadn't have been for sunshine I wouldn't have got out of it!
All the staff were cheerful and could not do enough for you. They are a credit to the hotel. I especially liked the cocktail get together with Ross & Annabel as it gave the opportunity to meet other guests. Breakfasts were delicious.
The only problem I found was that as we were not using the hotel as a secret hide-away to get away from it all, it was a little far out from Rodney Bay. Taxi is £10 each way. But if you can afford to stay here then I suppose £10 is nothing:)
Luckily we like to walk and explore and use the buses, which we paid extra to take us back to the hotel..........Sorry Ross for lowering the tone, but we really did have the most amaxing time staying with you. It was like a dream come true. I could live there. Off to put monies on the lottery!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcoogan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Had a wonderful stay at Cap Maison, even after the plumbing malfunctioned in our room. The Staff were happy to help us move to a new (and Better) room.

It is quiet, restful and unobtrusive.... a great getaway.

The food at the Cliff is expensive but worth every penny and the view amazing as were the waiters who went out of their way to be accomodating. We stayed five days and ate every meal on site.

The management put on a sunset cruise (for free) on one evening which was perfectly magical.

One problem area was in our first room where there were a few mosquitoes in the evening (no bites but we could hear them).... the management was aware of this and it was taken care of by sleeping under a mosquitoe net... sort of romantic.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sea335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Just returned from and outstanding stay at the Cap Maison. Right from our warm welcome to the warm good bye we could not fault the service and care we received from the management and staff. We were slightly anxious about how they would cater for a vegan diet . We did contact Ross the manager and Matthew the food and beverage manager before our arrival. They were great and after a few days all the waiting staff got into the swing of it too- making sure we had our soya milk and margarine every morning with breakfast . Their willingness to help with the diet continued on in to lunch and evening meals. The food in the evening was outstanding and chef came up with new ideas every night for the vegan choice. One night he even made strawberries dipped in chocolate not milk but pure cocoa and did other variations on dessert too.

The hotel and it's service had the feeling of a 5 star hotel without the pretentiousness we've found in some hotels of this standard. We felt very relaxed , welcome and valued as clients . As a gay couple we have not always found that to be the case in some hotels but our experience at the Cap was exceptionally warm.

The staff morale was very high too . The majority were more than willing to help, always greeted us with a smile and nothing was too much trouble. Three members of staff stood out for us - Vanessa, Andrea and Keisha - just amazing customer service , warmth and care every time.

The hotel had a large wedding on our second weekend and we were concerned that the service would suffer and that the wedding would take priority. However we need not have worried as we were still looked after just as good as we were looked after every other day. True sign of good system and management.

Thank you and congratulations to Ross and Matthew on building such a wonderful positive vibe around the hotel and staff. You gents have done an amazing job and thank you for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smiler012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossCS, Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, 21 February 2011
Thank you very much for your review and I was delighted that you enjoyed your time spent with us. Chef Craig was particularly pleased that your specific dietary needs were met!

We are all "proud as punch" that we reached our 100th review, in what has been a relatively short history, since our opening in December 2008!!

We very much look forward to welcoming you both back in the future

Kind Regards

Ross

Ross Stevenson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Wales
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Cap Maison is a fantastic hotel. Rooms are modern and clean, fresh , roomy and airy. The pool area is lovely and the food served in the restaurant is out of this world, so so fresh, tasty and different. All the staff we encountered during our week long stay were warm and friendly , but also very discreet. The beach is small and quite shaded for most of the day, but it is nice and quiet and we spent a few hours there every day snorkelling and swimming (although if you’re looking for a long white stretch of sand to sunbathe all day it’s probably not for you!).

The couple of small problems we had (balcony door not locking properly; safe left locked so we couldn’t open it) were sorted within 20 minutes.

Reception staff were on hand 24 hours a day with any queries and were very helpful and again discreet. The small gym and spa were great - we had a couples massage which was blissful.

We were there late Jan/early Feb and during the week it was very quiet but it got a bit busier at the weekend. It was just what we were looking for.

The only downside (it’s very minor, and it won’t be a downside for everyone) is the location - you have to take a taxi/drive to virtually every other restaurant / bar / town etc. We spent a couple of evenings in Rodney Bay, which is great for a bit of life, but very touristy. We also took a boat tour one day which was sold to us by the hotel, called The Best of St Lucia…beware, because when we got to the boat, it was pretty much a booze cruise! We had a great day out and loads of fun but it wasn’t what we were expecting! The island is beautiful - we visited Soufriere, saw the Pitons, visited a cocoa plantation and so on.

We stayed in a garden view room, which had two balconies, one from which we could see the reception area and the staff area, but could also see the sea; and another which overlooked a car park. It wasn’t a problem for us but some people might not like that. Also our room was quite noisy during the nights/early mornings as we could hear staff arriving for a day’s work / a couple of taxis arriving back at 3am, although this was nothing major and it was literally only one or two taxis a night.

Cap Maison is not cheap, but is worth every penny! It was a lovely, friendly and relaxing place to spend a week in the sun.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MidWalesSiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

So, having been to Cap Maison in 2009, i decided to head back there on 2010, this time with a freind of mine who was long overdue a decent holiday.

Naturally (if you read my previous review) I was in no doubt that the hotel and staff would be extrememly good, but given I had raved about it to my friend, i was a bit concerned i had oversold it somewhat. I neednt have worried. Since being there last time, its clear that Cap Maison has developed the tiny bit it needed to in terms of service. The staff I encountered (rarely, as they are keen to be unseen and discreet) were warm and friendly and very helpful. The manager there, Ross was on hand when i arrived and when my rental car was not quite ready (not a Cap maison partner) he even offered to loan me his. This level of customer service is rare anywhere, but particulaarly in the caribbean.
Food has improved, the menu still very good but the consistency of service is now very high. The rooms have not changed - spacious, well appointed and very quiet.
The main thing I noticed was how well the grounds were looking. Now a couple of years old, the plants and flowers are now mature and the designers clearly know what theyre doing as it looks tremendous. Contstant pruning and tending from the gardeners sees to that - always 2 or 3 of them making the place look spectacular.

All in all, a very different holiday to my last one, due to the company, but equally as impressive and I came back well refreshed and very relaxed. My friend has booked again for 2011, so i am pretty sure he agreed.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dipshamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cap Estate
18.3 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
934 reviews
20.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
0.9 mi away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
18.4 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
1,160 reviews
19.7 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap Maison

Property: Cap Maison
Address: Smugglers Cove Dr, Cap Estate, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Cap Estate
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cap Estate
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cap Estate
#2 Spa Hotel in Cap Estate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cap Maison 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cap Maison is a new family owned and managed five star boutique resort. Located above a beautiful secluded sandy cove on the north west coast of St Lucia, Cap Maison offers luxury private villa suites, many with private rooftop pools. Facilities include a waterfront fine dining restaurant, spa, fully equipped fitness centre, walk in wine cellar, beach club with chaise lounge service, free non motorised water sports, a hiking and running club, private 46 foot resort boat, club lounge with (computer access) and concessionary golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Cap Maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap Maison Hotel Cap Estate
Cap Maison Gros Islet
Cap Maison Hotel Gros Islet
Cap Maison St. Lucia/Cap Estate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing