We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolute gem”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llanwrthwl, Llandrindod Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ana-marie...
Witney, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Absolute gem”
Reviewed 2 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We can't rate this holiday rental enough.... Totally idyllic setting, great accommodation and really friendly and helpful owners. Nothing is too much trouble.
We were lucky to see an otter fishing for his breakfast in the river wye at the bottom of the garden.
There are so many birds can't name them all but a few were woodpeckers, wood hatch, great tits etc
One thing I will say is the photos of the cottage really don't do it justice it really is a wonderful place to stay inside and out
We absolutely loved our stay and are already looking to see when we can go back :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ruby2727
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage in peaceful location”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Crych Du was a wonderful beginning to our holiday in Wales. Beautiful river setting, cosy, comfortable and spotlessly clean cottage. The nearby Élan Valley provided an excellent start to our explorations. Being so centrally located in Wales, we were able to tour to many places and return to wonderful Crych Du at the end of the day for a relaxing , peaceful evening. The early mornings were special too with river walks. We would highly recommend Crych Du. Our thanks to the wonderful hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting- ambience if river
Liked least: Lack of wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelmsford
Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yatton
Reviewed 5 December 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Suffolk.
Reviewed 13 September 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nothard2p...
Somerset
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Shangri-La in Powys”
Reviewed 29 May 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

The other reviews say it all really. Crych Du is in an idyllic setting and it's a lovely property. Apart from the owners occasionally coming to feed their hens, horse, sheep etc you could be at the cottage for a week and not see another soul if you didn't go out to enjoy the spectacular Elan Valley and other places in the area. There's even a Shakespeare theatre! (Check out Willow Globe and if you get chance, go there during the day as well and you may be lucky enough to get the full tour. We did!). If I had to find a fault with the property it would be the inefficient shower. Crych Du's water comes from a bore-hole and the flow is not adequate enough for the electric shower hence the water alternates between scalding hot and luke-warm. A small inconvenience compared with the benefits of this wonderful place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2011
Thank you for your review and we were pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay at this delightful property. The owner has confirmed that as soon as he was aware of the problem with the water supply it was acted upon and rectified. He apologises for any inconvenience this may have caused you and hopes that he may be able to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing