We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Break Base”
other travellers have booked this property
The Woodman Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Woodman Lounge
The Woodman Kitchen Vulcan Lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
The Woodman Lounge
The Woodman Kitchen
Vulcan Lodge
Bathroom with Beams
Searle Kitchen
Woodman Bathroom
Woodman Bedroom
Woodman Bedroom
Winter in Rhayader
Winter Sun from Rhayader Bridge
Fun in the Park
The Wye in Rhayader Park
Winter Sunset
Castle Mound, Rhayader
A spectacular sight
Craig Goch Reservoir
Garreg-Ddu Reservoir
Glas Llyn
Penygarreg Reservoir
Caregg Du Reservoir
Winter on the Wye
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llanwrthwl, Llandrindod Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DigitalDi...
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Break Base”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed in Woodman at Vulcan lodges as a last minute weekend break of 4 nights (we extended one night) and found it an excellent base for exploring Rhayader and the surrounding area.

The facilities provided are to a high standard and well appointed and the property is warm and comfortable. There are lots of plugs for modern electrical gadgets and the Freesat TV and (~1.5mb) internet connection are sufficient to keep even geeks like me entertained. The large bath is great for a soak and warming up after a day outdoors in the mid-Wales countryside. There is also a useful porch area for coat's and muddy boots, or probably even enough space for a couple of bicycles.

Whilst the cottages are located on an A road, they are set back from the road, and its not what Id call a busy road - 1 car a minute during the day, and 1 every 5-10mins after 7pm. Rhayader is about 5 mins drive and Llandridnod Wells is about 10mins away for getting food and supplies. There is also a shop and cafe next door for essentials or breakfast.

My only tip would be, due to the traditional and sympathetic refurbishment, taller people (over 6ft) may wish to choose one of the other cottages downstairs as I suspect they may offer more headroom through the doorways - I banged my head on the lounge/kitchen door 3 or 4 times and Im only 5ft 10. :)

We enjoyed our break and are already thinking about booking again in 2014.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in the Woodman cottage. We are very pleased you enjoyed your time with us in Mid Wales and we very much appreciate the positive comments you have made. We welcome guest feedback as it helps us in our quest to make our guests' experience as good as possible.

I'm sorry you banged your head on the door into the lounge. I think we will have to put up a 'Mind your head' sign to reduce the chance of this happening.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again at some future date.

Elaine

ps I've replaced the can opener!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freebird...
southwest
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A very cosy and comfortable base”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

If you want an 'away from it all' cottage with only the sound of birds then this is probably not for you. However if you want to feel like you are living in a cosy cottage without any of the inconveniences then this is great. We had not been to this area before so wanted to explore. It was good to be close to a main road for access and not to have to worry about finding a shop while we were out for any basic supplies.
This all sounds a bit practical and boring but it was in fact a lovely cottage. We didn't really notice the noise from the road.I liked the good sized hall downstairs for coats and shoes etc. The folder of walks and cycle rides and others attractions was useful and had been carefully put together. We did have to wait in the shop for a few minutes when we arrived but it was nice to then be shown into our accommodation - rather than searching for keys under a stone outside as sometimes happens!
Well up there in my list of favourite holiday rentals - even saw a red kite from our window!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: bath and shower
Liked least: a bit more cupboard space in the kitchen would be good
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about the Woodman cottage. We are glad you appreciated the convenience aspects of the location and what the surrounding area has to offer. It is always very pleasing for us to get such positive feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
206Anna
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not exactly a cottage”
Reviewed 11 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

My husband and 20 month old toddler stayed here for the long weekend in August and on arrival were a bit disappointed, To call this accommodation a 'cottage' is a touch misleading. It was actually a pub that had been converted into a set of flats. The building was right next to a petrol station (from where we had to get the keys). We did not find the A road at all quiet after 6pm as the website suggested, the steady stream of fast moving traffic was easily heard from our bedroom window. Unfortunately we had a very loud party of people in the flat below, and there did not appear to be sound proofing!
Although the 'cottage' catered for young children, The Woodman was an upstairs flat with a long narrow staircase. A cot and high chair were provided but the flat very much lacked a safety gate. There was no garden, only an empty roof top which we did not venture onto for obvious safety reasons with a toddler.
On a plus side, the beds were clean and comfy, the corner bath was a hit, and we had complimentary wine and welsh cakes on arrival. The kitchen was clean and very well equipped, the living space was cosey and there was a useful folder with local attractions, great TV and wifi, and a good location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bath
Liked least: The stair case with no safety gate
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2013
Thank you for your constructive and helpful feedback. I am sorry the Woodman did not meet your expectations. We do endeavour to describe all of the cottages accurately on our website and I have reviewed the description for the Woodman. All of the points you raise are in fact referred to, but I have now rewritten parts to make them more evident. Most importantly I have said that the Woodman is not suitable for small children because it is upstairs and there is no direct access to the garden. There are in fact 2 garden areas. What a pity you did not find them - especially the one at the side of the Lodge which is secured with gates. I am pleased you took my advice and did not venture onto the roof for obvious reasons. Also building regulations prohibit this. They also required us during conversion to put sound insulation under the flooring. I do accept however it is unlikely to prevent all noise especially if there is a particularly noisy group of guests in the Middleton.

I am sorry you were disturbed by traffic. Normally there really is very little traffic after 7.00 pm which is why the shop and café close at this time. I have however asked our builder to put new, double-glazed windows in to the rooms on the front.

We chose to call the units cottages as we felt they were reverting to what they originally were: a row of stone cottages occupied by a blacksmith (hence the name Vulcan), a midwife, a carpenter and a coffin maker.

Yes there is a small service station close by. Many guests appreciate this as they are able to order a newspaper, get cash from the post office, do the lottery, buy milk and other bits and pieces without getting in the car. They have also made good use of the café for breakfast and other meals. Some have commented that though close by it is not intrusive as it is across 2 large car parks and an island with trees.

Check in procedure: guests are asked to report to the staff on duty in the shop who direct them to the café for a complimentary hot drink while I am called. I then take guests to their cottage and tell them all they need to know about the facilities available. They are given my personal mobile number and are able to contact me at any time during their stay. Most guests seem very satisfied with this arrangement for checking in.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback which will help us in our quest to continually improve our guest experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joan l
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An ideal location, spacious and cosy”
Reviewed 15 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We chose the cottage because we felt it were set in a prime location for walks and seeing around Mid Wales, particually the dams.
When went into the cottage it was much spacious than we had imagined, yet without losing any of the cosyness it portraid. We relaxed and felt at home immediately, in fact a place we would not get tired of. Everythilng was at hand to fulfill our neads within the cottage. There was also a shop next door, which offered cooked meals at a time to suit, plus a cafe or resturant should you not want to cook yourself. Everyone was so welcoming. Even a garage to fill up your car with enough fuel to view the area! What could be better? Certainly a place to recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that we felt relaxed immediately
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Dec 2012
Thank you for writing such a positive review. This is especially pleasing since it is the first review of the Woodman cottage we have received. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the shop and cafe nearby a bonus. We look forward to seeing you again some time in the future.

Elaine Zamroz, Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$65
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
other travellers have booked this property
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing