We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great base for a solo traveller or couple.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Barn

Double bedroom leading out onto the terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Double bedroom leading out onto the terrace
Enjoy spectacular views from the garden Kitchen of the Old Barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Double bedroom leading out onto the terrace
Enjoy spectacular views from the garden
Kitchen of the Old Barn
Enjoy the views from the sunny terrace
Sitting area of the Old Barn
Splashing about in the pool
Your 'Back Yard'
Enjoy breakfast on the terrace
Fresh eggs for breakfast
Surrounding gardens
Help yourself to our veggie plot
Lots of fresh tomatoes in summer time from the veggie patch
Garden views
Views from the cottage
Surrounding gardens at the property
Summer in the garden
Views from the cottage
Plenty of fresh herbs and veggies to pick
Pick your own fruit
Enjoy some local cheese with our home made cherry chutney
More from our veggie garden
Famous medieval town of Sarlat, a short drive away
River nearby
Nearby Roque Gageac
Nearby flea market
River views
Local market in our village
Fabulous fresh produce every Sunday in the village
The cheeseman at our local market
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Rouffignac-Saint-Cernin-de-Reilhac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Janet W
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great base for a solo traveller or couple.”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This rural property is down a country lane about a mile/ walking distance of the small town with all you need. It is compact but perfect as a place to unwind and enjoy the lovely scenery or to explore the region. A vehicle is essential. The wifi is much improved so stable and reliable.
The hosts live on site, are friendly but not intrusive. They have a wealth of information on the area and happy to help with any queries you may have. There is a folder in the property full of leaflets on local tourist destinations if you like to plan your trips.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good price and location for a solo traveller.
Liked least: The shower room is tiny but perfectly functional with plenty of hot water.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2015
Thank you for writing about your stay. Over the years we have tried various ways to get the wifi working as well as possible and this year I think we finally nailed it, with a new and very good booster system. This means both cottages have good signal strength all the time now, even outside on the terraces too. We know this is important for guests. I would agree, a car is an important part of the trip, although there are lots of lovely walks and rambles in our close vicinity, to get the very most out of a trip to the Dordogne a car is a must. Thanks again. Kindest regards Karen and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and friendliness of the hosts (not intrusive)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Sep 2015
Thank you for writing about your stay. Lots of people are in agreement with you, there is so much to do, one week is not long enough. Hopefully we'll see you again sometime soon, so that you can get to do the things you didn't have time to this summer. Thanks again. Kindest regards Karen and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Swanage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Sep 2015
Thank you for writing about your stay with us. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your holiday. Kindest regards Karen and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Niftytoo
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our Holiday in The Barn”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Cosy little Cottage. Downfall was the very small Shower! Lacking towel rails.in the kitchen and Bathroom, Pot luck with the WiFi. Could have done with a small coffee table, when sitting on the sofa had to put drinks on the floor. The Parking area could have been made a bit wider.bit tight to get In and out of your car. But better than nothing. Good points, very convenient for the Super Market, Restaurants etc. but saying all that we had a nice peaceful Holiday.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cazzy1861
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A truly magical place!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The Old Barn is an enchanting little property complete with a view of a fairy tale castle! The owners (Karen and Steve) were extremely helpful and were on hand when needed but not intrusive. The property is was well equipped and very comfortable. The location is ideal for visiting all the touristy villages/attractions. Sitting outside in the evening with a glass of wine watching the sunset was a magical experience. We had visits from Scooby the dog, who is well behaved and adorable. We will definitely be returning to this wonderful place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to pick one thing, but probably the location and views
Liked least: having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie C
1 review
“A relaxing and enjoyable week!”
Reviewed 24 December 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The Old Barn was a wonderful place to spend a week in early August. Lovely little town close by, a supermarket round the corner and easy access to all the touristy bits of the region. Steve and Karen (and Scooby) were so welcoming and have really struck a great balance between being on hand when needed and allowing privacy when you want it. We loved our stay here and would heartily recommend it to anyone. We will be busy with a new baby this summer otherwise we'd be back like a shot! Thanks for a fan holiday guys and have a very merry Xmas! Katie & Toby x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 December 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Jul 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to write about your holiday, we really appreciate it and it's great for future guests to read comments from our previous guests. Thanks again. Kind regards Karen and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing