We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Compact comfort close to the town”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Barn

Double bedroom leading out onto the terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Double bedroom leading out onto the terrace
Enjoy spectacular views from the garden Kitchen of the Old Barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Double bedroom leading out onto the terrace
Enjoy spectacular views from the garden
Kitchen of the Old Barn
Enjoy the views from the sunny terrace
Sitting area of the Old Barn
Splashing about in the pool
Your 'Back Yard'
Enjoy breakfast on the terrace
Fresh eggs for breakfast
Surrounding gardens
Help yourself to our veggie plot
Lots of fresh tomatoes in summer time from the veggie patch
Garden views
Views from the cottage
Surrounding gardens at the property
Summer in the garden
Views from the cottage
Plenty of fresh herbs and veggies to pick
Pick your own fruit
Enjoy some local cheese with our home made cherry chutney
More from our veggie garden
Famous medieval town of Sarlat, a short drive away
River nearby
Nearby Roque Gageac
Nearby flea market
River views
Local market in our village
Fabulous fresh produce every Sunday in the village
The cheeseman at our local market
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Rouffignac-Saint-Cernin-de-Reilhac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David P
St Davids, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Compact comfort close to the town”
Reviewed 23 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The Old Barn has everything you need squeezed into a very compact space.
The kitchen/diner is well equipped with a small dining table and a sofa to watch the TV from. There's also a bit of outside space when the weather is good.
The bedroom is comfortable with just enough storage and the showeroom and toilet is adequate, although the washbasin is tiny.
Steve & Karen are the perfect hosts, and whilst the location is in a quiet spot, it is easy to walk to the town and the supermarket.
Overall the Old Barn represents excellent value for money.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2017
Thank you David for writing about your stay in the Old Barn this winter. Good luck with your house hunting. We hope your house hunting is going well. Take care. Warmest regards Karen and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanasauz...
Bordeaux, France
1 review
“Very nice and cosy house in the Périgord”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a great time in Karen's place, relaxing in a beautiful region of France ! The house is big enough for a couple, completely autonomous and contains everything you will need ;-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Ideal!”
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in The Old Barn. It was so peaceful watching the sun going down with such a lovely view from our terrace.
The location is perfect as we were able to visit so many interesting places within easy reach.
The Barn is well fitted out and perfect for two.
The owners were very helpful in sharing their knowledge of the lovely area.
Geoff & Maureen Johnston

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Little terrace was on a slight slope( but this was a minor gripe)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyThirdEy...
Cornwall
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 22 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We spent a very peaceful week in The Old Barn enjoying it's rural location on the edge of the village. The accommodation is perfectly situated to explore all that the Dordogne has to offer. We visited some old favourites such as Sarlat and discovered some new gems too. The Barn was warm, clean and comfortable and had everything we needed for our week long stay. We slept well in the cosy bedroom and enjoyed fresh eggs from the resident hens for breakfast. We especially enjoyed sitting outside with a glass of wine and watching the sun set while the cows ambled up through the meadow. Karen and Steve were friendly hosts who were happy to help if needed.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy_Lisa...
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We have just returned from a fabulous stay at the Old Barn. Excellent location for visiting local sites. The owners were very helpful and accomodating recommending, and helping us book, some super local restaurants. The accommodation had everything we needed and is ideal for a couple - it even had uk tv! So peaceful with gorgeous country views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veedee36
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Did not live up to its web site blurb!”
Reviewed 17 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Though pretty to look at from the outside these premises did not live up to their internet hype. The owners seemed distracted by the new premises they are building in another village nearby.We stayed 3 weeks, it was a test of my culinary skills to produce a meal with the lack of kitchen equipment provided.The kitchen badly needs re-organising, there are no cupboards or shelves only a bookcase,, the kitchen equipment has seen better days, i.e one saucepan with lid, 2 others without, & 4 worn frying pans. There were 2 large ceramic baking dishes, far too large for the microwave and no other dishes to use in the microwave.A good washer (no instruction book) but nowhere to dry clothes.No wardrobe or drawers in bedroom,only a hanging rack, change of linen had to be requested several times & then some of it was not ironed I could write a book.Our expectations were high because of their advertising, it just didnt happen. No herbs or veggies from the garden, the friendly hens reduced to 2, who appeared not to be laying. Can opener didnt work, knife would not cut bread, need I go on?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly dog
Liked least: Tiny shower with clinging curtain
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2016
Hello. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time with us. I am sure the weather didn't help, as it rained pretty much every day that you were here, which is very unusual for this part of the world in spring. I would like to clarify the points you raised in your review.
Our kitchens are designed to enable guests to prepare simple meals during their stay. There are 4 shelves and a separate work top with a further 2 shelves. The kitchen is equipped with a 4 ring gas hob, a microwave, fridge, toaster and an electric kettle. There is a 3 pan Ikea set and a larger pan that previous guests had requested for boiling pasta etc. There are various plastic bowls to be used in the microwave. The larger bowls you mentioned are serving bowls, not designed to fit in a microwave.
If you had let us know you were having difficulty using the washing machine, we would have been happy to explain it to you. Previous guests had never raised this as a problem, so we did not think an instruction booklet was necessary, I will be including that in the house book from now on. We feel that the clothes maiden you used to dry your clothes on during your stay is sufficient, it is large enough to hang a full load of washing on. A washing line would only block the fabulous view from both terraces.
The bedroom has 2 large shelves for storing clothes and a large hanging rack with hangers. Clean linen is provided every week, as detailed in our house book, all linen except towels and fitted bottom sheet are ironed.
The weather this year has been unusually wet, so my veggie patch is a lot slower to start than normal, unfortunately this is out of my control. As our hens have free reign of the garden for a lot of the year, they may lay their eggs outside of the coop. If you had let us know you couldn’t find any eggs, we would have been happy to fetch you some. The same applies to any kitchen equipment that you were not happy with. If a problem is pointed out to us we are more than happy to replace or repair anything straight away. But we can only do this if you communicate a problem to us during your stay. The inaccuracies aside, I do feel that your review is very unfair. Not once during your time with us did you ask for help with anything or let us know that you were not happy with any of the facilities. As you can see from our other reviews and the fact that so many of our guests chose to return to us year after year, we are always on hand to help and offer our guests advice and support when asked.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Feb 2016
Thank you for writing about your stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the peace and quiet. Thanks again. Karen and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;