We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accomodation in a beautiful village”
other travellers have booked this property
The courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The courtyard
La Maison de Monsieur Calbet with Citroen 2CV The courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
The courtyard
La Maison de Monsieur Calbet with Citroen 2CV
The courtyard
Pool
Bedroom 1
Bathroom 2
Bathroom en-suite
Kitchen
The courtyard
Living room with view on the square
Bedroom 2 with view on the square
Bathroom en-suite
Living room with view on the square
Kitchen
La Maison de Monsieur Calbet
La Maison de Monsieur Calbet
Around Castelsagrat: lots of sunflowers
Lavender fileds around Castelsagrat
A local event: folkloristic dance
Market with delicious local produce in Moissac (every Saturday and Sunday)
Beautiful cloister in Moissac -classified World Heritage by Unesco-
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Castelsagrat, Tarn-et-Garonne, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steve G
Watton at Stone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation in a beautiful village”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed for a week at La Maison deMonsieur Calbet, The house which dates from the 12 century has been beautifully renovated and is probably the best equipped of the places that we have rented in France over the years. The owners live next door and are most helpful and informative without being in any way obtrusive. The house is right at the centre of the village, next to the' Mairie' in the old arched square which boasts a restaurant, a bar, a tabac (Spar type shop) and a bakers. Unfortunately the bakers, restaurant and bar were all shut for their holidays for some of the time whilst we were there. Can't believe the French do that sort of thing but there were plenty of alternatives in the othermedieval towns and villages nearby, so no harm done. We got most things we needed at the tabac but there are supermarkets, markets, shops and restaurants in Valence which is about 5 km away.
The house itself is large and very cool in the hot weather due to its shaded front and thick stone walls, it is full of character and history. The bedroom we used had a super comfortable bed and in keeping with the rest of the property had wooden shutters to keep it cool together with a very effective ceiling fan. Despite temperatures in the upper 30 s we were never to hot at night. Parking is easy, right outside in the square we were able to pull up outside the front door on most occasions.
The small pool in the walled courtyard is ideal for cooling off but a little small for serious swimming. The kitchen has everything you could need and most of the basics like oil, detergent and condiments were provided. There is a full oven and a hob plus microwave, fridge freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, kettle and coffee maker provided. Wifi is also available and works in the main part of the house. There is no televison but then when we have had this in other French places the programming is usually rubbish anyway. Mobile phones/tablets work well.
Stunning countryside all around, lots to do and see, many markets, night markets and other attractions as well as the river scenery of the Tarn, Lot and Garonne all nearby A great place to spend a week or two would thoroughly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character and peace of the place
Liked least: Bar was shut for their holiday.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewed 4 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it was wonderful
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Icapbw5
1 review
“Would highly recommend - a taste of French life at its best!”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We would highly recommend a visit to Castelsagrat if you are looking for a taste of French lifestyle and culture. The original stone, french house equipped with all modern amenities icluding a washing machine, dishwasher, BBQ and a courtyard where we spent many an evening. We visited the local gourmet food markets in the very close surrounding - historic towns and dined out in some of the restaurants suggested by Natasha and Phillip in their tourist infomation guide - our Bible for the 10 days! We visited La Maison de Monsieur Calbet with our two teenage children and will definately be going back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house - was perfect
Liked least: Monday´s - France got too quiet
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TheTimsin...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Would definitely visit again”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

You can be spoilt for choice when it comes to finding a self catering gite in France. We scoured the internet and looked at numerous gites but when we found La Maison de Monsieur Calbet online, it seemed to be exactly what we were looking for. After Natascha gave us the tour of the house, it exceeded our expectations! The house was beautifully decorated, immaculately clean and well equipped. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were spacious, and having two bathrooms upstairs and one toilet downstairs was nice so we didn’t have to wait for each other in the mornings.

The outdoor space in the back of the house was a wonderful place to spend the evenings and we made full use of the barbecue. We cooked our own meals every night apart from one evening when we ordered pizza from Pizzeria Chez Mireille, which was a little awkward to find but their pizzas were certainly worth it! Highly recommended.

Another point to mention is the boulangerie in Castelsagrat which is a mere stone’s throw away from the house. Their croissants and pains au chocolat were perfectly moist and flaky, and we enjoyed their baguettes and flutes for our picnic lunches. Definitely one of the best boulangeries we have visited.

Natascha had compiled a small list of things that were going on during our stay, but was never pushy nor did she overwhelm us with loads of brochures. If she mentioned something that was of interest to us, she was happy to give us more information and sometimes mentioned something else to visit that would be on our way. We visited several other bastides in the area, and enjoyed the markets in Valence d’Agen and Condom. The pool at the house was a welcomed retreat after a day of sightseeing in the 30C+ temperatures!

It was lovely to meet Natascha and Philip. They were both very welcoming and ensured we enjoyed our stay. When we ran into them under the arches, it was almost like bumping into old friends. We were honoured to have been their first guests in their beautifully renovated maison and we expect we’ll be looking to go back in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing