We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Massugas, Gironde, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Julie R
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A relaxing few days in a lovingly restored and cared for home. We had a really peaceful stay and could not stop admiring all the work that has been done on the property to get it to such a high standard. Everything you need for a great holiday is provided and for us the sun even shone!! We loved the outdoor areas. Thank you for having us and good luck with the pitch and putt course.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2014
Thank you Julie and Chris for your review. Jim and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the bonus of sunny weather in April. The grand opening of the pitch and putt course will happen during May and hope one day enjoy a round with you both, with plenty of refreshments of course!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek r
toulouse
1 review
“paradise”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

we had a lovely week the last week sept, the barn was well equiped had everything to make our holiday,
bordeaux is worth a visit park/ride available,also st-emilion, we live in france have had several holidays staying in gites and barns and this is one of the best,
jim and janet are great host, the barn conversion is magic and the scenery from the garden and beautiful sunset makes this a wonderful place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: large t/v comfortable seating
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2013
Thank you both for your review, much appreciated. We enjoyed your company sitting under the stars chatting about Suffolk, amongst other things! Bring your putter for the pitch and putt next time, it will be ready for 2014....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna S
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely stunning in every way”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed in the Gite for a week this June as a friend was getting married in a chateaux not far from the location. We decided to make a holiday of it with myself my fiancé, our 6 month old boy and my Mother. It was nothing short of wonderful from the moment we arrived. We were greeted with a beautiful setting, impeccable facilities and accommodation, not to mention Jan and Jim the owners who couldn't do enough to assist and welcome us to the Gite. It was certainly our best holiday yet and we are intending to return as soon as we can! Jan and Jim provided everything beyond our expectations and we can't wait to visit again and cook on the BBQ with the roots from the local vineyard. Thanks for a holiday we will never forget.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the owners
Liked least: Leaving :-)
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2013
It seems a while ago since you were here and we remember your stay with fond memories. Thank you for your fabulous review and of course would love to see you again. Always a pleasure to baby and granny sit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stress-free relaxation in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

My partner and I along with our 3 adult 'children' stayed 7-21 September 2013 and we were very impressed with the accommodation, the facilities, location and importantly the owners: Jan & James.

Accommodation:
It was like staying in a 'home away from home'.

Everywhere was clean and maintained to a high standard.

The beds were large (2 singles combined with no gap between the matresses) and very comfortable. The facilities were 'ensuite' with plenty of hot water - we never ran out despite our best efforts!

The kitchen was very well equipped (all the 'white goods' you would have at home) as well as a complete set of kitchen and dining 'tools'. We even made plum jam!

The living and dining area was 'open' plan. Chairs and sofa very comfortable and for those who want TV then UK viewing is available so you can keep up to date on news and programs. There were many books, board games, DVDs as well as helpful information about local sites of interest and markets.

Outside Facilities:
A lovely swimming pool with solar heating. Plenty of loungers and chairs. There is a 'pool house' equipped with padded seating, two bikes, pool 'play' equipment, boules, croquet etc. It provided a lovely spot to sit and read and to occasionally lift your head to watch the pool activity and gaze over the surrounding vineyards.

An external dining area under the shade of a plant covered trellis.

There are no sounds to distract you from relaxing! It is peaceful and tranquil with plenty of opportunity to stroll undisturbed through the rows of vines. An ideal location for chilling out, catching-up with your travel companions, eating the superb local bread, cheeses, sausages as well as the wine.

Location:
We had an excellent day canoeing down the Dordogne - take a picnic and take time to see the wildlife (fish, kingfishers, herons etc). We also found a rope swing over the water which was a big hit with boys of all ages!

An hours drive to Bordeaux, a little more to the Atlantic coast and 40 minutes from St.Emilion.

Plenty of villages and small towns nearby - all are a short drive (10-20 minutes depending upon location) and the bread is wonderful - why can't we make the same in the UK?!?

Owners/Hosts:
Jan and James combine friendliness and professionalism and were never intrusive. They were always happy to offer advice and assisted with local knowledge: Vet (for our dog before returning to the UK), bakers, wine sales, markets, etc etc. We speak very highly of them and importantly, we all would be very happy to return. It a location where you can do as little or as much as you wish. We hope you have as much fun as we all did! Cheers & bon vacances!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ability to immediately relax, the accommodation, location and the ability to take our dog.
Liked least: Nothing - with the exception of the unseasonally cool weather!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2013
Jim and I are pleased that you all enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime. Thanks also for bringing the gift a great selection of mint sauces, I will be the envy of all my friends!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie S
Derbyshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Had a fantastic holiday! This Gite is absolutely beautiful and the location is stunning. Jan and Jim have tastefully restored this beautiful barn with no attention to detail spared. The beds are comfortable with crisp cotton sheets and the Gite has everything that you could wish for- a real home from home. The pool is spotless and the pool house has lots of games but equally on cooler days or evenings there is a bookcase full of books and a host of indoor games along with a 42inch flat screen TV/DVD library. The Gite is in a tranquil location amongst the vineyards and in the evening all you can hear is the sound of owls and crickets. We sat outside every evening enjoying the sounds of wildlife while we ate our evening meal Al-fresco. Absolutely beautiful. There are lots of interesting places to visit in the area including Bergerac, St Foy, Eymet and Bordeaux and I would strongly recommend this Gite to anyone. We travelled with our two grown up children and had a wonderful family holiday. Many thanks to Jan and Jim for being the perfect hosts and for making our holiday so enjoyable. We hope to be back again soon. Marie and Simon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the accommodation and the beautiful location
Liked least: Nothing! it was all perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2013
Thank you both for your wonderful review together with the super photos. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frannytom
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Unsurpassed hospitality amidst the vines”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

What a lovely couple, their barn is lovely, but what really stands out is their friendly welcoming and sweet hospitality. Another obvious delight is the location. With access to the woods you look straight onto vines in every direction. It is absolutely delightful. Easy drive to shops and with Jan and Jim on site to advise, it is a perfect location to do all things dordogne.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and hospitality second to none
Liked least: That we had to leave.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2013
It was a real pleasure to read your review, thank you very much. Thanks also for your design ideas some of which I plan to implement for 2014!Watch this space!
I really enjoyed our girly chats and miss my little buddies who I enjoyed looking after. Hope to see you all again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert W
Sidmouth
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing & Friendly”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We've stayed with friends and relations at Jan & Jim's on a number of occasions in recent years. The location is fabulous for a relaxing holiday - popping a few corks from local vineyards, enjoying the spectacular views, venturing out to local villages and hostelries in this unspoilt part of France. The accommodation itself is brilliant - secluded, but with Jan & Jim close by if needed, and always providing a warm and helpful presence. Thoroughly recommended for all kinds of couples or groups.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2013
Thank you very much for your review and we look forward to seeing you all again next year. You will then have the "pleasure" of playing on the new 6 hole pitch and putt, with of course a hole named after yourself! Will keep you updated on the progress and in case we need some advice......
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;