We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like dogs barking all nights and disgusting breakfast this is the place for you!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The House of The She Pine Tree
Ranked #1 of 1 Sabugo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The place is in a small village on the countryside where apparently the neighbours keep dogs locked in their gardens, therefore 24hrs around the clock dogs are barking making it very difficult to sleep, don't event consider opening the windows to get some fresh air!

Also, the breakfast hygiene is beyond terrible. Cheeses, hams, yoghurts etc are just standing in room temperature for 4+ hours every day, with flies occasionally eating on them. The cheeses that are not eaten after one days breakfast are then put back into the fridge and are out again for the next day, for even more hours in room temperature. There was a fruit salad as well that looked really disgusting because it was old an had been in room temp for to many hours (days?). Cutlery and glasses are sometimes not clean. Its a shame that someone would like to serve food in this way.

The "reception" is only manned from 2pm to 6pm (that would be the hours you normally are away from from your hotel) making it complicated with practical stuff such as payment and getting in the house and room upon arrival. Pool is not cleaned.

Otherwise the house is charming and the room was very nice and clean! Beautiful views over the surroundings and the Sintra mountain.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mattias A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Nobody was there when we arrived but, when he showed up 30 min later, the owner was very friendly and spoke good Italian. He gave us the apartment and gate keys and just left us free to use everything.
We did not sleep in the main house, but in a (larger) second property 5min away.
The place was really big, on two floors: three bedrooms in the basement and one large dining/living room on the upper floor. It was located inside a garden closed by an automatic gate.
The problems were essentially two: it was a very humid environment so I didn't sleep very well and got a little sick and there was no wifi; internet was only available in the main house during breakfast, so we could not plan next day's visits.
We had breakfast in a room inside the interesting main house with a lot of family pictures and sketches or paintings on the walls. Breakfast buffet was good and rich.
The owner would always show up during breakfast to say hallo and check that everything was ok.
By the way, there is a swimming pool but doesn't look to be usable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

It is an interesting property with lots of art and antiques etc. However, it just isn't working as a smooth guest facility. We were left standing on the street, locked out, for 30 minutes, despite arriving exactly at the time we said we would.....no one was at the property to let us in. Our room was in the basement and had comfy beds but it was incredibly damp and smelled of mould. The ensuite bathroom, well, um, you had to stand in the shower to "go"....so small it was not really useable. Breakfast consisted of good cheeses and stale bread and horrible, undrinkable coffee. No one is on site to help, wifi doesn't work despite being told it does. Pool is unclean, and there are used matresses piled up in the garden. It might function well as a hostel for 18 year olds, but it is not a functioning B&B for adults.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ericthebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

When we drove up to the house we had our doubts seeing it from outside, but as soon as we came inside we were just taken over by its charm. Inside the walls are covered with beautiful drawings and paintings of the father of the now owner Tomás. I also loved all the family pictures and memorabilia. There are a lot of stories there that Tomás might want to share with you when drinking a glass of wine together (what we did). Maybe the house is not for complete neat-freaks because there is stuff (magazines, books, knick-knacks) everywhere. The house itself is beautifully restored and decorated. If you like old houses, art and antiques, this is where you will feel right at home... Loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kariki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This place has dramatically changed based on prior reviews, sorry to say not for the good. Thomas (a nice guy and architect) took over the operation of the B&B from his kids last year when they decided to jump ship and take off to the big city of Lisbon. Thomas has other more important things to take care of and in our opinion, just doesn’t have his heart in running a B&B. He is not resident there (neither is anyone else like a caretaker) and just pops in to check on things during breakfast and in the evening. You are basically like other reviewers have stated “must fend for yourself”. Thomas gives you the key to the house and “help yourself” to the items in the fridge, i.e. DIY. The first night there we were joined by two other couples and Thomas brought in pastries and other items for breakfast. Next day we were the only ones there and guess what… no pastries or any other goodies. Breakfast was cereal, toast and coffee. Not like any of the other upscale B&B’s we have stayed at over the years.

The property needs a major facelift! Parking is difficult as you must park in the rear off an alley way. The B&B is located in a poor neighborhood and many of the rooms face the small houses with the laundry flying from the windows.

Our major concern was that there were dogs barking constantly all day and night. Thank goodness, we had airplugs with us!

As for the inn itself, lots and lots of art all over the place as Thomas’ father loved to draw and paint. Yes, we knew that this is not exactly in Sintra. However, the 15 minute drive is not a big thing. You should note that WIFI is spotty in the B&B and in addition the small swimming pool is always "green" and not swimable!

If you are expecting a B&B like most of us know, this is not your place. It’s more of a “crash” place with a DIY breakfast. Frankly, We’d spend the extra bucks and stay in Sintra or Lisbon next time!!

Room Tip: If you must stay here best room is number 6. The terrace room at the top requires climbing two flig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NTVBOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We loved staying here, and were very impressed by the welcoming staff and slightly eccentric interior. The place feels like home, and if you've got a car, is a great place to come back to after a long day of sight-seeing in Sintra or Lisbon. It was not too difficult to find, and although there are not really any nearby restaurants, the B&B itself provides a lovely meal for a very decent price.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side have lovely views.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank JimmyFromAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

It was quite hard to find this place as it is located not in Sintra itself, although it was interesting to communicate with the locals trying to find the way.

We stayed in Chapel suite which is located 300 m away from the main building. The room (I would say "loft") is full of antique things, paintings and books. It was interesting experience to stay there, but the room wasn't very clean. The building is old and, taking into consideration many antique things, it requires more attention to maintenance. Toilet and shower were clean though. The main building looks nice with a cozy living room and nice art collection, feels like a real house, but without a family.

Dinner was ok, but not what I expected while reading a menu and ordering it beforehand. We consoled ourselves that it was a typical dinner prepared by a tired Portuguese housewife so it was authentic as well. Breakfast was very basic, nothing special.

In general, this guesthouse is interesting to stay for one night, although it's a low value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofidza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The House of The She Pine Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House of The She Pine Tree

Address: Rua Nossa Senhora da Piedade 25, Sabugo 2715-399, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sabugo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sabugo
Price Range: £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The House of The She Pine Tree 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome To The House Of The She Pine Tree! The House of the She Pine Tree was built at the end of the XIX Century for a local farmer´s family, and expanded in the 30´s, when it was redesigned to its “Sintra Chalet” looks. It sits on the highground edge of the time forgotten villages of Sabugo and Vale de Lobo, in the county of the historic town of sintra (a Unesco World Heritage Site). The village rolls down the last west facing slope where the hills of Carregueira and Olela merge, with breathtaking views of the mountain of Sintra and its valley, with fabulous unlimited 270º degrees sunsets panoramas! The sea from Guincho to Ericeira lies just behind the horizon. The house was bought in the early sixties by the journalist, war reporter, radio and tv producer and speaker, painter, artist, award-wining novelist, theater and children´s stories writer, publicist, poet, antiquarian, art collector Olavo d´Eça Leal (Vd. Bio). The house will be the property of a foundation and hosts the temporary and permanent contributions of drawings, paintings, furnishings and personal objects of Olavo, constituting a Museum House. In order to sustain its maintenance and support the conservation of the house and its collection, the house is operating as an inn/bed & breakfast, a non-profit charity. The rooms are decorated with the art collection, furnishings, and personal objects of Olavo, on loan or donated by his widow, Emilia, and his son, Tomaz. The collection is constituted mainly by drawings from 1926 to 1976, the year he passed away in Oxford, covering 50 years of his work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your The House of The She Pine Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Of The She Pine Tree Portugal/Sabugo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing