We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The House of The She Pine Tree
Nearby Hotels
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Ibis Lisboa Sintra(Sintra)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Sintra Jardim(Sintra)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$181
US$163
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$164
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$317
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$37
US$36
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
33
12
5
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
12
5
8
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The She Pine Tree is a one off; it is a museum but without any of the constraints of such a place. We were made to feel very welcome despite arriving quite late on a Sunday evening - a meal was waiting for us and we ate there each evening for four nights. We ate very well and each evening with different couples also staying there - all of whom seemed to share our pleasure in the experience of the She Pine Tree. Our room was large and comfortable - Room 6; and it was great to be surrounded by books, pictures and so much else of interest.
We had a hire car from the airport and we think this is the best way of getting around to make the most of the Sintra area but also to visit some of the excellent coastal restaurants or travel further afield to eg Obidos.
The welcome from Tomaz could not have been warmer and it was delight to share his love of the house - there were memories but they were in no way intrusive or inappropriate.
The She Pine House is a one-off; it is special; not least because you need to be prepared to become part of it. If you are looking for a bog standard modern apartment don't go there; if you are looking for somewhere full of character and flexibility then this the place for you. We have already commended it unreservedly to several friends and hope to return.

Room Tip: Room 6 was large and comfortable.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johnreestalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The place is in a small village on the countryside where apparently the neighbours keep dogs locked in their gardens, therefore 24hrs around the clock dogs are barking making it very difficult to sleep, don't event consider opening the windows to get some fresh air!

Also, the breakfast hygiene is beyond terrible. Cheeses, hams, yoghurts etc are just standing in room temperature for 4+ hours every day, with flies occasionally eating on them. The cheeses that are not eaten after one days breakfast are then put back into the fridge and are out again for the next day, for even more hours in room temperature. There was a fruit salad as well that looked really disgusting because it was old an had been in room temp for to many hours (days?). Cutlery and glasses are sometimes not clean. Its a shame that someone would like to serve food in this way.

The "reception" is only manned from 2pm to 6pm (that would be the hours you normally are away from from your hotel) making it complicated with practical stuff such as payment and getting in the house and room upon arrival. Pool is not cleaned.

Otherwise the house is charming and the room was very nice and clean! Beautiful views over the surroundings and the Sintra mountain.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mattias A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Nobody was there when we arrived but, when he showed up 30 min later, the owner was very friendly and spoke good Italian. He gave us the apartment and gate keys and just left us free to use everything.
We did not sleep in the main house, but in a (larger) second property 5min away.
The place was really big, on two floors: three bedrooms in the basement and one large dining/living room on the upper floor. It was located inside a garden closed by an automatic gate.
The problems were essentially two: it was a very humid environment so I didn't sleep very well and got a little sick and there was no wifi; internet was only available in the main house during breakfast, so we could not plan next day's visits.
We had breakfast in a room inside the interesting main house with a lot of family pictures and sketches or paintings on the walls. Breakfast buffet was good and rich.
The owner would always show up during breakfast to say hallo and check that everything was ok.
By the way, there is a swimming pool but doesn't look to be usable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

It is an interesting property with lots of art and antiques etc. However, it just isn't working as a smooth guest facility. We were left standing on the street, locked out, for 30 minutes, despite arriving exactly at the time we said we would.....no one was at the property to let us in. Our room was in the basement and had comfy beds but it was incredibly damp and smelled of mould. The ensuite bathroom, well, um, you had to stand in the shower to "go"....so small it was not really useable. Breakfast consisted of good cheeses and stale bread and horrible, undrinkable coffee. No one is on site to help, wifi doesn't work despite being told it does. Pool is unclean, and there are used matresses piled up in the garden. It might function well as a hostel for 18 year olds, but it is not a functioning B&B for adults.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ericthebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

When we drove up to the house we had our doubts seeing it from outside, but as soon as we came inside we were just taken over by its charm. Inside the walls are covered with beautiful drawings and paintings of the father of the now owner Tomás. I also loved all the family pictures and memorabilia. There are a lot of stories there that Tomás might want to share with you when drinking a glass of wine together (what we did). Maybe the house is not for complete neat-freaks because there is stuff (magazines, books, knick-knacks) everywhere. The house itself is beautifully restored and decorated. If you like old houses, art and antiques, this is where you will feel right at home... Loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kariki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews