We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth seeking out”
Review of Colledges House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Staverton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colledges House
Ranked #1 of 3 Staverton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Delightful place to spend some time, tastefully furnished and spacious, fabulous garden quiet and peaceful location and an easy stroll to the local pub!
Liz, the resident owner is a very nice, kind and welcoming host - we will more than likely go back on our way back South as it was a real find and well worth a return visit.
What makes it complete is that Liz cooks the best English breakfast we have had and we have experienced many!
If I was asked to suggest any improvement it would be for a nespresso type machine for the bedroom.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

I've known Liz - the owner - for some 5 years now and have stayed at Colledges House numerous times usually when visting Silverstone, Oxfordshire and or the Cotswolds.
Without exception, this is like coming home. The property is very well kept, the food very good and the owner a delight.
One always feels very welcome and spoiled. It goes without saying that I hope to stay many more times in the future at Colledges House, in fact when attending the Silverstone Classic next july this will again be the case.
Patrick, Belgium

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrick v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Staying at Colledges House is, as another reviewer has said, almost indistinguishable from staying with friends. The rooms are elegant and beautifully furnished; Liz was friendly and as helpful as she could possibly be. Her breakfasts were excellent, and she was splendidly relaxed about the time one appeared for them. I would go back like a shot if I had a reason to be in the area.

Room Tip: N/A - any room will be very good. It is a secluded spot in a very quiet village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We only stayed for one night, but would have stayed longer if we had had the time. It was a lovely stay: delightful room, great hostess and excellent breakfast, what more could you want?
I can't recommend this highly enough, we will definitely be back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Karin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My family stayed for a couple of nights,some in the main house and some in the cottage.We were all made welcome from the start.The dinner Liz prepared was yummy ..the dining room looked welcoming and cosy.Nothing was too much trouble.The rooms were clean and comfortable..the living room was warm and a good place to chat and have a few drinks whilst admiring all the beautiful antiques .
This is truly a unique place to stay
We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My sister and I stayed here mid November - and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. In Liz, you couldn't wish for a kinder or more accommodating hostess - she made us feel wonderfully welcome from the moment we walked in the door. Yummy, yummy breakfasts, cosy rooms and a lovely family feel. We felt as though she was treating us like friends. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

For the second year in succession, 7 of us stayed at this beautiful cottage for an old school reunion. It was like staying with a best friend (Liz's warmth and charm is always so welcoming) and she prepared the most wonderful 4 course dinner for us in her private dining room with a cordon bleu menu. Coupled with a brilliant night's sleep in comfortable rooms, followed by a hearty breakfast, the reunion was voted the best ever.

Unfortunately for Liz, she has got us again next year (if she'll have us!).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Colledges House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colledges House

Address: Oakham Lane, Staverton, Daventry NN11 6JQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Daventry > Staverton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Staverton
Price Range: £90 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful Grade II listed, large thatched Northamptonshire stone cottage, full of atmosphere, is the ideal base for touring the Midlands, Althorp, the NAC, the NEC, Oxford, Warwick, Stratford-upon-Avon and Silverstone, with easy access to the M1, M6 and M40. The discerning guest will appreciate the relaxed and friendly ambiance in wonderful surroundings, incorporating style, comfort, delicious meals, peace and tranquility. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Colledges House Staverton, Daventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing