We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, clean and comfortable”
Review of Rainbow Motel

Rainbow Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rainbow Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tokaanu
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Stayed here overnight, arrived on a cold wet night and were shown to our unit by lovely friendly host. Our unit was retro in style, and with everything you needed. Spacious and warm, with nice comfortable bed. Even though the bathroom was old fashioned in style, it was very clean and the shower was good. Heated thermal pools are great, especially after a long drive. Not flash, but homely and comfortable. Very reasonable room rate. Lovely hosts.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlemingsJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 27 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

Due to a last minute change of travel plans we stayed at this lovely little country motel. One of our group had stayed previously and recommended it. The owners are very friendly and helpful.
The self contained rooms are large and comfy with a large fridge and everything you need to cook. There were two bedrooms and there was an extra bed in the lounge room, so can sleep 5 comfortably. There was heating in the bedrooms and lounge room. It was clean, and though quite old, its 1950s/60s decor gave it an interesting back country NZ atmosphere.
The highlight of the place though is the four private covered thermal pools which are included free. They can be used any time, so some of our group had a late evening bathe.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NettyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We needed a convenient overnight stay and the thermal pools were a delightful bonus.
The accommodation was plain but spotless and spacious with big comfortable bed
We breakfasted at Tokaanu as meals are not included, hence v reasonable tariff.
Pleasant owners husband and wife.

Room Tip: All rooms seem the same high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChasO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Though a bit dated, well maintained and newly painted and clean. Free guest pools are good.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markogilvienz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tokaanu
4.7 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.4 mi away
Braxmere
Braxmere
#1 of 1 in Tokaanu
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tokaanu Lodge Motel
Tokaanu Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Tokaanu
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Motel

Address: State Highway 41 | Rd1, Tokaanu, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Tokaanu
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tokaanu
Price Range: £64 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Rainbow Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing