We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rainbow Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Oreti Village(Turangi)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
12
10
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
10
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot poolsdrying roomnew zealandannspamotelunitaccommodation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We found this motel very apt for tongariro crossing. After the big walk, what else you can ask for, if you got a free and private natural mineral spa..!!!. The motel is in a very peaceful, countryside location. Around 20 min. drive to the crossing. Has got a handy cafe/shop next door. Hassle free car parking. Generous room size. Kitchen is well equipped. Rooms are clean. Old fashioned-but all very clean and nice. Nice and friendly hosts. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

On recommendation from family, we stayed at the Rainbow Motel en route from Auckland to Wellington. We stayed in the one bedroom unit. The decor is cute and retro and the rooms are spacious and immaculately clean. The bed was super comfortable - had a great sleep! Hosts Ann and Bob are incredibly friendly and very helpful. Our highlight was the private thermal pools (water from natural hot springs) where you can have a soak after a long drive and look out at the stars. One thing though, the walls are very thin and can get a bit of noise from the next rooms so bring ear plugs. Otherwise we loved the stay and would definitely come again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nessaklnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Stayed here overnight, arrived on a cold wet night and were shown to our unit by lovely friendly host. Our unit was retro in style, and with everything you needed. Spacious and warm, with nice comfortable bed. Even though the bathroom was old fashioned in style, it was very clean and the shower was good. Heated thermal pools are great, especially after a long drive. Not flash, but homely and comfortable. Very reasonable room rate. Lovely hosts.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlemingsJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Due to a last minute change of travel plans we stayed at this lovely little country motel. One of our group had stayed previously and recommended it. The owners are very friendly and helpful.
The self contained rooms are large and comfy with a large fridge and everything you need to cook. There were two bedrooms and there was an extra bed in the lounge room, so can sleep 5 comfortably. There was heating in the bedrooms and lounge room. It was clean, and though quite old, its 1950s/60s decor gave it an interesting back country NZ atmosphere.
The highlight of the place though is the four private covered thermal pools which are included free. They can be used any time, so some of our group had a late evening bathe.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NettyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We needed a convenient overnight stay and the thermal pools were a delightful bonus.
The accommodation was plain but spotless and spacious with big comfortable bed
We breakfasted at Tokaanu as meals are not included, hence v reasonable tariff.
Pleasant owners husband and wife.

Room Tip: All rooms seem the same high standard
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChasO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews