We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual Restaurant on Abel Tasman Beach”
Review of Hooked on Marahau

Hooked on Marahau
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Marahau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Seafood, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic, View, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hooked on Marahau is a cafe and beer garden located on the Marahau waterfront; 1.5Km from the start of the Abel Tasman National Park's Coastal Track. Hooked has arguably the best view in the area with vistas across Tasman Bay and north along the Astrolabe to Adele and Fisherman's Islands in the Abel Tasman. We serve cafe style breakfast and lunches with barista coffee and homemade baked goods. We also have a daily happy hour from 4:00pm to 6:00pm. Dinner is bistro style with local wines and locally brewed craft beers.
Fairfield County
Level Contributor
142 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Casual Restaurant on Abel Tasman Beach”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Fun casual restaurant near the entrance to Abel Tasman Park. Outdoor setting, friendly service, casual ambiance. We had great fish and chips--fresh and tasty. Great people watching spot as adventurers get ready for all kinds of water, hiking and camping events. One of the few restaurants in the area. Good for any time of day.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharonConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan A, Owner at Hooked on Marahau, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thanks for the great review. Great to hear we got the mix right with the casual ambience and friendly, attentive service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    124
    34
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best in the area”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We enjoyed dinner in this restaurant on two evenings during our short stay in this area. We had looked at another restaurant but were put off going there by a heavy surcharge on the first evening, as it was a public holiday. We were pleased that we chose to eat at Hooked on Marahau. We both had steak on the first evening and fish/a vegetarian option on the second evening. The portions were ample, the service was prompt, the attention to detail was good and the price was fair. We felt valued throughout for our custom and were treated well. We felt that this was the best restaurant for dinner in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan A, Owner at Hooked on Marahau, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thanks for the positive comments about your positive experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
588 reviews
327 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Children's portions adult prices!”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Visited Hooked on Marahau after completing 13k of the Abel Tasman trail and we were very hungry. It was happy hour when we arrived and enjoyed discounted cool beer at $5.00 a pint. We ordered 3 portions of fish and chips and a beef burger from a limited menu of fish and chips and burgers. When the 3 portions of fish and chips arrived we were disappointed to see that the size was more minnow than cod. The burger was full size, excellent and tasty. When we complained about the minnow/ junior portions on our departure we were told that we had eaten from the lunch time menu and that the evening menu had larger portions but at an added $10 premium. The coffee at $6 a cup was also the most expensive we had bought during our stay.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VanessaRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan A, Owner at Hooked on Marahau, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thanks for taking time to review our restaurant, and thanks for the positive comments about the beer and burger. The lunch fish and chips is slightly smaller (and priced accordingly) on the lunch menu than the one on the dinner menu. However, many other customers have commented on how large the lunch portion, so I guess your party must have been super hungry after your walk!

Also, our coffee prices range from $3.00 to $4.50. We charge $0.50 for extras such as an extra espresso shot or soy milk etc. So the only way you could have possibly paid $6.00 for a coffee would have been if you got an extra large, extra shot, soy latte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Am still amazed at the quality of food that we found all over New Zealand. In what appeared to be a "out of the way" place we found this amazing restaurant. The quality of the food was fantastic, the presentation great and the friendliness of the wait staff and owner "heart warming". Would highly recommended that if in Abel Tasman you stop and have a bite. We sat outside and the view of the receding tide added to the magic of the evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beach_and_sunToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan A, Owner at Hooked on Marahau, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments and good rating!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Great coffee and wonderful staff”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

They know how to make a great coffee with engaging, friendly staff. I heard from a friend that cooked breakfast was amazing but didn't get a chance to try. Hope to be back next summer and would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan A, Owner at Hooked on Marahau, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thanks - we take great pride (and care) in the quality of the coffee we serve. Hope to see you back next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hooked on Marahau also viewed

Marahau, Nelson-Tasman Region
Marahau, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Kaiteriteri, Nelson-Tasman Region
Kaiteriteri, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Hooked on Marahau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing