We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad end to good day out” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abel Tasman Aqua Taxi - Day Tours

Abel Tasman Aqua Taxi - Day Tours
Ranked #4 of 10 things to do in Marahau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the breath-taking beauty of the Abel Tasman National Park from the comfort of our purpose-built, eco-friendly water taxis. Whether you're looking for a short walk, a scenic day out, or a multi-day hiking adventure we have an option to suit. AquaTaxi gets you closer to those out-of-the-way spots along the Abel Tasman coastline and to the Park's incredible golden-sand beaches. Let the friendly team at AquaTaxi help you create an itinerary best suited to your needs, time and budget.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad end to good day out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

First we had a great experience as commented on. But on the outward trip the pilot showed us the building at Bark Bay where we had to be to get picked up after walking from the north. We made it to Bark Bay Hut when my partner, fortunately, convinced me to walk around to the next beach where the Bark Bay Camp was - this turned out to be the proper place and should be highlighted. We were picked up by another company (who didn't even look at out tickets) but the worst was to come. At Marahau we were hooked to a tractor and driven past our campsite and campervan another kilometer to their taxi place. On inquiring why, were told there was a local dispute between a local and the companies so no-one is allowed to be dropped off at the Marahau Camp (but we were picked up there by 4 boats at 9am). Were told it's only a 2min walk back (actually 10min) but could wait for a van if wished. Like most others we walked, which was the last thing we wanted after a long walk on the track. Complained at the office and lady took notes and could not understand why we weren't dropped off while passing but don't know if anything was done. My opinion, partly very professional, partly very cowboy operation.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan A, Owner at Abel Tasman Aqua Taxi - Day Tours, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
I'm sorry to hear an otherwise good day did not end well.

I would like to clarify and explain the situation a bit. Because of the vague and often non-sensical local regulations issued by our local council we are not allowed to drop-off passengers at our base on Franklin Street when using certain vessels. I'm sorry this inconvenienced you, but we have no choice but to follow the rules, even if they are ridiculous. However, I also wanted to point out that it is actually 510m between the two locations, and 99% of the time we are able to drop customers back at the same base they departed from. When this is not possible, as you said, we do offer a complementary van service for anyone who has done enough walking for the day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    40
    10
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Aqua taxi service highly recommended! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Very efficiently operated. Excellent 'skippers' of boats, who gave us brief history and stories of various points along the coastline.

Helpful?
Thank TJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great service, great captains of the taxi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Used this service to bring us to Onetahuti to hike some of the Abel Tasman trail - highly recommended, by the way. We walked he short distance to Bark Bay and took the taxi back into town. I showed up the day of and booked a taxi for a few hours away. The captain took extra time to make us laugh and bring us around an island to see some baby seals, and was very surgical with his taxi placement on the shore. A little expensive, but then again there's not many ways to get to these spots.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great ride on the water along abel tasman coast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

What we did- the absolute abel tasman package

We hop on the water taxi and went all the way up to Totanui, back to Barks bay and hiked to Anchorage.

For $82, though a little steep, we got to experience some scenic locations along the coast of Abel Tasman national park! It was definitely scenic though not breath taking, we even got a chance to catch a glimpse of a few seals! It's a fairly easy hike but i would recommend preparing slippers as some part of the hike might be wet!

I recommend just the package from marahau to barks bay and hike to anchorage as it would be $10 cheaper. (anyway the beaches look fairly similar after awhile:p)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mathewyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good day trip, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

We booked ahead for our trip and we had excellent service via the website and email. It was easy to find. Our trip out was with a competent, interesting Skipper who gave lots of info about the areas we were passing through.

We jumped off and started our walk. It was v beautiful and quite quiet. We had plenty of time - we are not particularly fit but walked a little quicker than the DoC signs suggested. There's a lot of up and down.

The weather got a little colder and when a boat pulled in to the pick up area, we asked if we could go back in a little earlier and they were v flexible. We stopped to see the seals on the way back and again, the Skipper was professional and informative.

Helpful?
Thank SarahsOffAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abel Tasman Aqua Taxi - Day Tours also viewed

Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Marahau, Nelson-Tasman Region
Motueka, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Abel Tasman Aqua Taxi - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing