We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner dance, bed & breakfast”
Review of Houw Hoek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Houw Hoek Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Grabouw B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The location is serene, picturesque and fresh and easily accessible from the N2 national road. The rooms are a fair size and beds are standard size. The fire place in the room could have done with extra fire lighters as just one small piece was provided. The dinner dance is clearly very popular and was well attended. By the time we ordered our meal the duck was no longer available (sold out). After a long night of partying, the morning after breakfast venue too was crowded with a queue for the hot foods right next to my table. A huge fire was burning when it wasn't cold at all. Wont hurry back there again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chalan Africa T... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

The scenery is beautiful, but the service is 1 star. The trampoline was dangerous as the covers on the sides were not on. The rooms were good, except the lighting that was so poor you could not read after dark. The cleaners were eager to get you out of the room before you had brushed your teeth and came back four times to check within 30 minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leneCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stopped here for a drink on our way back from Hermanus thanks to our drivers recommendation. The place is beautiful with and oldtime bar and friendly bar tender. Makesure to stop in and see the throne room before leaving. Looked like a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SheriBobLove2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We recently attended a wedding in the area and booked in at the Houw Hoek Inn .We spent one night there and felt well taken care of. Being one of the oldest Inn's in South Africa you get a feeling of what it must have been like to be a traveler in the early days of the Cape colony. The Hotel is well run by locals inhabitants of the area .This is three star good value for money accommodation.
It is also well positioned just out side Cape Town on the N2 highway one of the main routes in and out of Cape Town. I would recommend this to travelers looking for accommodation on route in or out of Cape Town. Also a value for money week end get away for local Capetonians.
The Breakfast was a very generous spread , typical South African traditional breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schiess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We had both been to Houw Hoek as children for afternoon visits, but this was the first time either of us had stayed over. What an amazing experience. The weather was terrible when we got there which meant that it was perfect Houw Hoek Inn weather. We spent the evening (the last night of our two week holiday) in the pub playing UNO and chatting to the lovely gentleman behind the bar while listening to the bucketing rain. The roaring fires that were burning in fireplaces throughout the Inn made it just that much more special.

Dinner was amazing - we still often speak about the delicious chicken cordon blue and pepper steak that we had. The lemon meringue was divine! Probably the best meal we can remember having!

The next day the rain had cleared and we enjoyed a game of putt putt before heading home.

The perfect spot to end a perfect holiday!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynneCapeTown79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I expected a South African Travelodge but HH surprised positively. We had a family room. Slept 5 easily. It was clean and comfortable, if unspectacular. The "hotel"(?) itself was good.... V nice pool and loungers, great kids play park, crazy golf.....for what we paid ( R1000?) it was very good value.

I saw a huge Cape cobra in the gardens which amused my 4 year old no end ("yes we've had a few around since the wild cats left")

The service at the restaurant was fine, breakfast not bad at all.... But special mention for the AMAZING steaks on the evening menu. Really excellent. Wine list was terrible but you can BYO from the v good wine shop at the farm stall opposite for R15.

All in, nor a bad place to spend a few days. NB Clientele not exactly Downton.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
Thank Hendog999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Situated near Grabouw on the Houw Hoek pass on the N2 highway ( the main road from Port Elizabeth to Cape Town which passes through the Garden Route) in stunning scenery this really is an excellent value hotel and a great place to stop either for a restful break or for a stopover on a journey. The rooms are of good proportions for family accommodation. clean and well appointed. Many are set around a swmming pool courtyard, others spread either side of an internal road, all within a few seconds walk of the hotel reception and dining roo. Breakfasts and evening meals are taken in the delightful dining room and are very well prepared and are good value. The staff could not be more friendly and the setting could not be better. It takes a lot to beat having a drink on the hotel verandah overlooking the stunning hills behind.

Room Tip: Ask for a room aroud the swimming pool courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grabouw
7.8 mi away
Arabella Hotel & Spa
Arabella Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Kleinmond
857 reviews
9 mi away
Villa Exner
Villa Exner
#1 of 2 in Grabouw
137 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tri Active's Kunguru Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Elgin Valley Inn
Elgin Valley Inn
#1 of 4 in Grabouw
79 reviews
8.3 mi away
Trail's End
Trail's End
#2 of 11 in Grabouw
4 reviews
0 mi away
Inn on Highlands
Inn on Highlands
#3 of 4 in Grabouw
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houw Hoek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houw Hoek Hotel

Address: N 2 Freeway | Houw Hoek, Grabouw 7160, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Grabouw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Grabouw
Price Range: £44 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Houw Hoek Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us for a relaxing break at the family-friendly Houw Hoek Hotel, a leisurely 80 km from Cape Town. We are peacefully positioned in an exquisite location, between majestic mountains and picturesque ponds right in the heart of the Kogelberg Nature Reserve. Guests hoping for a tranquil country escape will not be disappointed with our old-world charm, warm hospitality and beautiful surroundings. Most of the rooms have private balconies showcasing our breathtaking mountain views and fireplaces for those cosy winter evenings. We have 5 air-conditioned conference facilities for up to 250 delegates, and our beautiful and romantic lawns are a popular wedding venue. Enjoy 5-star treatment on a 3-star budget. Join us for drinks or a delicious meal on the terraces with views of the magnificent surrounding mountains. There is also much to keep the children occupied. We offer all the comforts of home and our outstanding service will ensure that you have a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Houw Hoek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing