We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
155
16
2
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
16
2
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel attention to detail cape town surpassed our expectations cold white wine hidden gem in house restaurant dressing room breakfast and dinner the owner manager rooms are beautiful owners and staff room was spotless large pool welcome drink friendly welcome off the beaten track
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Wasn't expecting such luxury at the back of Grabouw but Villa Exner was a treat! The hosts are lovely, the service impeccable and the breakfast was great!

Spacious room and bathroom, comfortable bed and very pretty grounds. Would definitely recommend - great for an Elgin Valley wedding weekend accommodation.

Room Tip: Room 11 was just great!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travlinheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

It is 1am on my honeymoon and I am lying in bed at Villa Exner being treated to the snoring of our neighbours in the room next door. The house, pool and rooms are beautiful and the owners very friendly. I would just echo feedback regarding the thin walls, as you too may find yourself writing reviews to keep yourself occupied until you're tired enough to sleep through the neighbours snoring.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Travel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Wanted to explore the Elgin Valley area and all that it has to offer. The Villa Exner was certainly a great place to be based. It provided a environment that was very relaxing with great food and a service that was excellent. The rooms have been fitted out to a high standard and are pleasing to the eye. There is a lovely swimming pool within the garden that has been beautifully landscaped.We were provided with some very useful advice about the area and where to explore, as a result we stayed an extra night. A most enjoyable stay.
Tony & Liz

Room Tip: We had a luxury room that had a shower and a bath in one of the annex's a short distance from the main building. Had its own terrace that was screened with plants.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarwickshireTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We originally booked in for Friday and Saturday night but so loved the place stayed the Sunday night-it was my sons wedding weekend which made it more special-run as one would expect by a German family-proffessional and beautifully decorated but not pretentious-we have lareday committed to goping back in winter-stunning place in a very quiet area in the valley,
Trevor M and Amanda.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This glorious 5*+ Boutique hotel can be found nestling between vineyards and orchard covered hills and valleys of the beautiful Elgin Valley. It is a family run hotel which offers all we expect from a 5* hotel together with kind personal attention from the family. The room, with views over three sides of the building was very spacious and very comfortable.( a small refrigerator to keep the bottled water cold would have been welcome) An excellent, controlable air- conditioning system kept the room at a perfect temperature. Having the kettle etc. for making tea/coffee in the dressing room was thoughtful. We enjoyed fine dining, of the highest standard, served in beautiful surroundings. Lovely easy gardens and a large swimming pool. This gem of a hotel, hidden behind the town of Grabouw, is the perfect place to experience the tranquility of the countryside and yet be within easy touch of the Winelands, Franschoek, Stellenbosch and Cape Town. We look forward to another visit.

Room Tip: We were VERY happy with- Room 23.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbarahooper_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews