We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
151
16
2
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
16
2
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelattention to detailcape townsurpassed our expectationscold white winehidden gemin house restaurantdressing roombreakfast and dinnerthe owner managerrooms are beautifulowners and staffroom was spotlesslarge poolwelcome drinkenjoyed our stayfriendly welcome
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Berndt and Sabine were the perfect hosts for our 4 night stay in Grabouw, after a short stay in Mauritius en route from London for my God-daughter's Wedding. A warm, friendly welcome greeted us with a delicious glass of cold white wine the minute we arrived. Too late to book an evening meal, we were served with a beautifully presented cheese platter on the veranda of our chalet later. Our chalet was immaculate - never have I seen such perfectly pressed sheets and every night was as comfortable as the first. Joined by other guests the next day we were served a delicious light lunch before leaving for the wedding. We will never forget the breakfasts, served on the main veranda, overlooking the garden with the mountains in the distance. Sabine has such a talent for presentation with a keen eye on healthy eating. Freshly baked bread and the best ever coffee. Berndt has an inexhaustible knowledge of the surrounding areas and gave us excellent advice on where to visit for wine, olive oil and exceptional lunches. We so enjoyed our stay in these magnificent surroundings that we chose to have our evening meal at Villa Exner on our last night in South Africa. Berndt and Sabine were eager to ensure we had a meal of our choice. Exquisite! The attention to detail, presentation, mix of favours and general ambiance on a beautiful Cape evening was second to none. They are the dearest couple and we shall never forget them waving us good-bye as we drove away from their gracious home. We felt we had made 2 new friends who had taken such good care of us throughout our short stay. Do go and enjoy their warm, kind, generous hospitality.
Bonny & Stuart

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We enjoyed our stay. Excellent, friendly, personal service that made us feel welcome. Everything you expect from a 5 star hotel. Loved the gardens. We would have liked to have some options regarding dinner menu. Food was excellent, though. :)




  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My wife and I were visiting Grabouw for a wedding. We came from the UK for a very short trip. We booked Villa Exner online and had no idea how nice our 3 day stay would be. It surpassed our expectations. We stayed in a garden chalet with a beautiful bedroom, exquisitely furnished, soft large bed with the best cotton, lovely towels and soaps, and the ensuite was as good as you will find in any 6 star hotel.

Bernt and his wife Sabine looked after us. Presentation and quality of the breakfasts were 1st class and delicious.

The house was also beautiful but all we really want to say is that anyone who stays here will be very pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We attended a wedding in the Elgin Valley and stayed at Villa Exner. The location is quiet central.
The staff was super friendly, the breakfast amazing and the facilities really great.
The only negative is that there is no cable TV in the rooms, but there is a DVD player with a TV screen.
They really take great care in the small detail and I would most definitely recommend this as my preferred stay-over destination in Grabouw.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Su-lise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sascha S, Owner at Villa Exner, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Many thanks for your review, it was a pleasure to welcome you at Villa Exner.
Just as an advice, only our Double rooms don't have satellite TV; From Luxury King rooms contain satellite TV, mini bar fridge, ironing station, laptop sized safe, King bed and a lot more space as well as direct garden access. Generally, our Double rooms are designed for a shorter stay and to offer a most cost-effective accommodation by offering slightly less amenities.
We hope you will find this comment useful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Wasn't expecting such luxury at the back of Grabouw but Villa Exner was a treat! The hosts are lovely, the service impeccable and the breakfast was great!

Spacious room and bathroom, comfortable bed and very pretty grounds. Would definitely recommend - great for an Elgin Valley wedding weekend accommodation.

Room Tip: Room 11 was just great!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travlinheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews