We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
155
16
2
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
16
2
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel attention to detail cape town surpassed our expectations cold white wine hidden gem in house restaurant dressing room breakfast and dinner the owner manager rooms are beautiful owners and staff room was spotless large pool welcome drink friendly welcome off the beaten track
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Just spent a truly wonderful weekend in Grabouw at Villa Exner. Berndt and Sabine being charming hosts who have created an elegant and relaxing space. Rooms are large and well appointed , beautiful landscaped and manicured gardens and then there is Sabines amazing culinary skills. A truly great place to relax and unwind .

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank AndyCPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We arrived at Villa Exner after a few hectic days preparing for a wedding in Elgin Valley and sank into the calm atmosphere with the greatest of ease. Our bedroom was a delight and the rooms in the main building were elegantly and interestingly furnished.
Breakfast was served at our table which made a pleasant change from the normal bun fight at most hotels. Dinner was just a delight - Masterchef final standard in quality and presentation.
Service was excellent but unobtrusive. We traveled around the area on the advice of Berndt and found some great places to visit.
This boutique hotel is a must for anyone wanting to visit the Western cape or travel along the Garden Route. We look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mikeinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Villa Exner this past weekend. The house is well appointed and the grounds are immaculate. Our hosts were kind and attentive, and we had everything that we needed at hand. The highlight of the stay were the magnificent meals presented at breakfast and dinner. Beautifully plated, perfectly portioned dishes, packed with delicate flavours, and served with imagination and flair! I would love to return to this special spot.

Jo Halse

Room Tip: The gardens cottages open onto the lawns and provide privacy and space.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

One of the best ever. Elegant decor with spotless and very comfortable rooms, lovely terrace/pool areas. Bengt and Sabina were perfect hosts, with Sabina's cooking and presentation more than good enough to grace any top class restaurant - dining in is a must!
Our 7 day stay was over only too quickly. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Footprints40761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Very beautiful villa. It is a kind of luxury estate, althoug you can not always expect the host to cook. But they were very knd and had some very good recommendtions.
I hadone of the rooms in de the main building. It had a bathtub on the terrace. An although it was late winter I could not resist tempation and had i fine bath there. (I will spare you the pictures as I am not Brad Pitt).
Would recommend it to any adult(s) who is looking foor a nice place (some 40 minutes fron Cape Town) in the Elgin Valley. If you travel with kids then Old Mac Daddies would be my choice.

Room Tip: I really likedmy room in the main building. It had a bathtub on the roof terrace (which had it privacy I can assure you). I believe it wasroom 6.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews