We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
151
16
2
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
16
2
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelattention to detailcape townsurpassed our expectationscold white winehidden gemin house restaurantdressing roombreakfast and dinnerthe owner managerrooms are beautifulowners and staffroom was spotlesslarge poolwelcome drinkenjoyed our stayfriendly welcome
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We have stayed at the Villa Exner twice now. It is consistently excellent. The dinner is superb. Breakfast fantastic. A real gem of a hotel. The owners are attentive and helpful. Rooms are great. I didnt like the pillows! Too flat and soft for me...otherwise a perfect visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Had a very happy stay. Food, service , rooms eveything was just awesome. Would recommend Villa Exner. Even the two black cats were friendly. The pathways and gardens were well kept and pretty. Just loved the decor!. Thanks for making our stay a time to remember. Hope to see you soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Just spent a truly wonderful weekend in Grabouw at Villa Exner. Berndt and Sabine being charming hosts who have created an elegant and relaxing space. Rooms are large and well appointed , beautiful landscaped and manicured gardens and then there is Sabines amazing culinary skills. A truly great place to relax and unwind .

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank AndyCPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We arrived at Villa Exner after a few hectic days preparing for a wedding in Elgin Valley and sank into the calm atmosphere with the greatest of ease. Our bedroom was a delight and the rooms in the main building were elegantly and interestingly furnished.
Breakfast was served at our table which made a pleasant change from the normal bun fight at most hotels. Dinner was just a delight - Masterchef final standard in quality and presentation.
Service was excellent but unobtrusive. We traveled around the area on the advice of Berndt and found some great places to visit.
This boutique hotel is a must for anyone wanting to visit the Western cape or travel along the Garden Route. We look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mikeinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Villa Exner this past weekend. The house is well appointed and the grounds are immaculate. Our hosts were kind and attentive, and we had everything that we needed at hand. The highlight of the stay were the magnificent meals presented at breakfast and dinner. Beautifully plated, perfectly portioned dishes, packed with delicate flavours, and served with imagination and flair! I would love to return to this special spot.

Jo Halse

Room Tip: The gardens cottages open onto the lawns and provide privacy and space.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews