We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Exner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Exner
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grabouw
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

I discover this hotel by chance and I was absolutely not disappointed !
Nice deco !
Clean & cosy rooms.
Good bedding.
Clean & functional bathroom with a hot powerful shower stream. Perfect after an outdoor activity.
The owners are helpful & friendly.
I shall return !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    12
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
74
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Unfortunately, this was not on my top ten list of weekend getaways! The owners have no sense of humour, no sense of hospitality and no sense of style.

The venue is austere like its owners and with a cold room and harsh decor, this is one to be missed!

Nothing to redeem this "hotel" I'm afraid... just not worth the drive.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Very stylish luxury boutique hotel where hands-on owners ensure that all requirements are met in an understated professional and friendly manner. Superb and inventive breakfasts, different each day with wonderful evening meal if ordered in advance. The rooms, all different, spacious, were spacious, extremely comfortable and very stylishly and inventively decorated. All set in quiet and beautiful gardens.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

.The owners are welcoming and offer helpful and useful advice for exploring this beautiful part of the Western Cape. The accommodation is superb - we had a garden room and honestly couldn't have asked for anything better. As for the meals - a Masterchef in that kitchen!! I ended up taking photographs of the food as it was presented so beautifully and then the taste treat - each mouthful, a delight of note! All I can say is that if you are in the Elgin area, look no further than Villa Exner!

Room Tip: The garden suite rooms are beautiful and look out on to the gardens and I think are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

After 20 hours travelling, we arrived at this hotel and was greeted with 'have you made a booking?'

As this is a boutique hotel, one would expect they would be fully aware of who is arriving....especially as we were the only guests!!

We arrived at 12.45pm and were told the rooms would not be ready till 2-3.00pm. On asking if there was somewhere we could sit and wait, we were told no, and that they had no facilities to provide us with something to eat. On asking if there was a taxi we could call to take us to the nearest eatery, we were told no.

After this more than frosty (I would say downright rude) reception, our 2 night stay was in a wonderfully spacious room, exceptionally well appointed. The breakfast was faultless and the grounds and pool superb. The downfall was that it was in the middle of a small town where a car was definitely required.

The stay got better by the fact that we were dealt with by the husband from then on, instead of the icy wife.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We recently spent three nights at Villa Exner, using it as a base to explore this beautiful valley and its wine farms, as well as experience the excelllent restaurants in this area. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of accommodation, the beautiful grounds and the lovely meals. It is very much a hands-on operation by husband and wife, who prepares the breakfasts and dinners. My only comment would be that they should offer plunger coffee in the room rather than instant as it is rated 5-stars and the dinner we had whilst very good, was expensive, especially compared to the excellent meals we had at other restaurants in the area.
Also the mark-up on the wines in their restaurant was way to high. We paid R180.00 for a wine made just meters down the road and then purchased the same wine the next day for R50.00 from the winery.
A great find in such a such a small town. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the king-size garden suite (two twins pushed together though)as the rooms are enormous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Domenique7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

We have stayed at the Villa Exner twice now. It is consistently excellent. The dinner is superb. Breakfast fantastic. A real gem of a hotel. The owners are attentive and helpful. Rooms are great. I didnt like the pillows! Too flat and soft for me...otherwise a perfect visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grabouw
8.6 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
13.8 mi away
Arabella Hotel & Spa
Arabella Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Kleinmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
8.8 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
23.9 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
23.0 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Exner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Exner

Property: Villa Exner
Address: 11 Essenhout Avenue, Grabouw 7160, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Grabouw
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grabouw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Exner 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Exner is an exclusive small boutique hotel, centrally located at Elgin Valley Grabouw in the Winelands and close to Cape Town. All major attractions and activities are within easy access, making it your ideal base to explore the Cape while enjoying the space and tranquility of the country side.Experience all those indulging touches and the intimate, personal service that only a small boutique hotel can offer.Villa Exner provides the space to relax and rejuvenate; rolling lawns, a decadent open garden offering privacy and interactive places where you can sit and chat in a laid-back atmosphere, make new friends and enjoy life in a modern country style. Villa Exner is based in the heart of Elgin Grabouw, only an hour from Cape Town. Surrounded by pure nature with the two bordering Nature Reserves, the heart of the Cape Floral Kingdom, as well as the Winelands and Hermanus at the doorstep, there are a million things to do. Hiking, birding, mountain biking, 4x4 off road trails & tours, quad biking, golf, tennis, paragliding over the stunning False Bay, scuba diving along the coast, to name a few. One of only two South African water-skiing schools, with the most beautiful setting, is also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Exner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing