We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
152
16
2
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
16
2
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelattention to detailcape townsurpassed our expectationscold white winehidden gemin house restaurantdressing roombreakfast and dinnerthe owner managerrooms are beautifulowners and staffroom was spotlesslarge poolwelcome drinkfriendly welcomeoff the beaten track
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 174 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We spent the last night of our trip to the Western Cape here and could not have chosen a nicer venue. Perfect welcome through to the perfect send off. The room was fantastic, service was superb, food wonderful and great selection of wines. We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sascha S, Front Office Manager at Villa Exner, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We're delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and will share your compliments among all our staff. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Dinner and breakfast were excellent and the owners and staff went the extra mile. Room was lovely and very tastefully decorated and all the facilities were of the highest quality and comfort. We felt really looked after.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jeantE6510ZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sascha S, Front Office Manager at Villa Exner, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thank you for your stay and review. All of us at Villa Exner are delighted that you've enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Safe travels & fond memories

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

This is a fabulous little hotel to get away from it all and relax in 5 star luxury, food was great service superb.
I highly reccommend it to anyone who loves peace and quiet,with fantastic views of the mountains and local farms...

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Y5635GGmartinr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sascha S, Front Office Manager at Villa Exner, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thank you for your stay and review. All of us at Villa Exner are delighted that you've enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Safe travels & fond memories

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Elgin is the best wine region in South Africa and this place is a nice anchor point to visit all those fantastic vineyards in the Elgin Valley and even Hemel & Aarde Valley. We have enjoyed the hospitality, breakfast and dinner at Exner. Both were excellent and we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank P374HGmarcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sascha S, Front Office Manager at Villa Exner, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you very much for your stay and review. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

Our Friday afternoon arrival was very welcoming and the suite is sumptuous. Nothing is neglected. Off for wine tasting in the abundant Elgin Valley (Side note: don't mIss Elgin Vintners, Oneiric, Almenkerk, Oak Valley and Paul Cluver) and on return they light a fire in our room's fireplace - a very cozy way to enjoy some further sipping before dinner. That night we are the only guests in the restaurant and are we ever pampered. Delicious soup and pork fillets with lovely wine and another warm wood fire. A beautiful night's sleep that was hard to end is followed by a delicious late breakfast that lacks for nothing. Nice chats with the owners who are "there" without imposing themselves. The night porter is being trained as a waiter and shows exemplary potential and caring attitude. We are joined by friends for more wine tasting during the day to return to a fuller restaurant Saturday. Each table enjoys its own conversation but as each finish dinner conversation begins to involve everyone very socially. More fire is offered in the room to finish the evening and another good sleep. A superb large breakfast Sunday before a reluctant departure. We shall have to come back!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rodney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews