We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fun, peaceful vacation in a beautiful spot!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chez Yurt

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Yurt -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bussiere-Poitevine, Haute-Vienne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Azer7
Paris
1 review
“Fun, peaceful vacation in a beautiful spot!”
Reviewed 29 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

If you have an outdoor loving family but camping is not your thing, this is perfect for you.
Chez Yurt is located in a beautiful, quiet spot, where all you hear is birds and frogs. Sleeping in the spacious yurt was such a fun and comfortable experience. We enjoyed sipping beer (Cathy thoughtfully had ready for us in the fridge) on the terrace, admiring the surrounding nature. Our kids loved jumping on the trampoline on the yard, petting the friendly cats and playing the billiard/pingpong in the barn (very important when it rained). The separate kitchen was well-equipped and everything was very clean. So was the shower and the toilet. We were very well taken care of throughout our stay.
Cathy gave us lots of ideas for visits in the area - we did a hikind/picnicing by beautiful St. Pardoux, which was not far from the yurt.
Thank you Cathy - we had a wonderful vacation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Yurt, peacefulness, service
Liked least: Nothing much - wifi was not working well
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. It was great to meet you all, and hope to welcome you back again one day. Dylan loved playing with Ethan on the trampoline! Best wishes, Cathy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blakeycre...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A place loved by all the family.”
Reviewed 13 January 2013 for a stay in August 2012

When it comes to holidays I like Boutique hotels and my husband and children like camping so compromise is key! I felt very lucky on this holiday that i didn't really have to compromise, the facilities are fantastic with the yurts even having electricity. My husband and children had their outdoor experience sleeping under a great oak tree looking at the stars and we could sit on the terrace at the barn after a lovely hot shower drinking the lovely wine from the welcome hamper.
The pool and the trampoline were loved and well used by the children. Cathy, Jules and Dylan were the best hosts with a wealth of knowledge about the area and things to do. We had a great day out at the lake with a picnic and a fun time visiting the monkeys.
We also highly recommend a meal cooked by Cathy her food is fantastic.
This is definitely a place we would recommend as a holiday destination.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2013
Thanks, Becky, for such a lovely review! I'm particularly pleased that you liked the facilities - we do aim to be more than just 'camping with a proper bed'. All the best to you and the family. X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hope153
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“excellent, beautiful friendly and well thought out”
Reviewed 7 January 2013 for a stay in July 2012

We stayed late July - stumbling across the website earlier in the year - what a find! it exceeded all our expectations. The yurt is fantastic - huge - well furnished and thought out with electricity or use of candles, it was both Clean and fresh, light and airy ... The barn is exceptional, well kitted out with all that you need for a glamping escape...... the terrace was a much used addition - A lovely sun trap during the day and a great retreat from the boys of an evening - the best place to sip wine and eat cheese.
Cathy and her family are very warm and welcoming - she is a great hostess and a fab cook - do take up one of her meals. The welcome hamper was just what we needed on arrival and full of eats/treats to get you through your first evening. The location was perfect - quiet and within easy reach of the bakers ( ask cathy for directions - just the best breads and pastries) village amenities and a car ride to the supermarkets. A near by lakeside pizza restaurant is a must do too.
If the boys ( aged 3 &5)were writting this review they would say that the best bits were the pool, helping Cathy feed the chickens, the pool, sleeping in the yurt, the pool,
the b-b-q, the pool, the trampoline the pool and the games room.
A fantastic holiday - we loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: that we were the only holiday makers, the pool - the hosts
Liked least: my failure to book two weeks
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2013
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a review. We are touched by your lovely comments - and glad that the boys liked the pool! Hope our paths cross again - and Dylan says 'hi'.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob S
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely location, setting and atmosphere”
Reviewed 8 December 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We spent a great week at Chez Yurt with all our expectations exceeded (sorry for the management speak!). The facilities of the adjacent barn, which included everything except a bedroom, meant that we were able to cook and wash as you would in a rented house yet sleep beneath the oak tree in the Mongolian Yurt, or sit on the porch overlooking the quiet valley.

Our two girls could have happily spent all their time in the pool, on the trampoline or playing with in the games room, but they also enjoyed the walks and cycle rides from the door.

The hospitality was superb throughout and we thoroughly enjoyed the meal prepared by Cathy. We would unreservedly recommend Chez Yurt.
Highlights:
Swimming pool - complete with very active young children to keep my girls occupied
Welcome hamper and ability to cook and wash in luxury
Complete privacy if required
Aperitifs whilst sitting on the step of the Yurt when the girls were asleep

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: All the mod cons of the adjacent barn and the atmosphere of the Yurt
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure to meet you and the family, and share our little 'coin de paradis'. We will hopefully see you all again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing