We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fab hosts, peaceful location, wonderful pool and...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chez Yurt

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Yurt -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bussiere-Poitevine, Haute-Vienne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ros G
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fab hosts, peaceful location, wonderful pool and facilities, lovely part of France”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Lovely welcome on arrival. Hosts made you feel like friends but you had your privacy. Facilities were more than adequate. Pool, games room, fishing, BBQ , Firepit. Lovely views, very peaceful. A lot to do around if you want it. It was easy to relax at the location. Could feel like you were the only ones there. Would definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2015
It was great to meet you all. So glad you had a good time and that the weather cooperated! We particularly enjoyed the opportunity to get to you know better over dinner. Au revoir.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maz00
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Even better the second time around!!!”
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This is the first time we have ever returned to the same place but we had to go back to Chez Yurt and it was even better than before. We went with our two boys, 4 and 8. Cathy, Jules and Dylan were wonderful and welcoming, providing a lovely hamper and a cup of tea when we arrived. Recommendations, Lac Saint Pardoux - 3 lovely lakes for swimming, Ile aux Serpents, the market at Le Dorat, Defi Planet is a great day out. A must is to take up a home cooked meal by Cathy and Jules (the duck and dessert of plum crumble were superb!) and just relax and enjoy your holiday! There is a games room, tree house, trampoline and swimming pool all a few steps away. Wonderful place made even better by the hosts!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Absolutely nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2014
We were delighted to have you back - you were even better the second time round as well (if that's possible)! Dylan just loved playing with the boys again and is keen to send some postcards so do PM me your address. We feel honoured to be your very first repeat visit, and hope to see you in the future. Hugs to you all X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamieMack
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love love love”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

What a find. Simply stunning. We were a group of friends but it could equally work for a family or romantic little hideaway for a couple.
It has the best of all worlds and really brings a new meaning to the term glamping. So many things to do, lovely touches such as food hamper, wine and beer on arrival. Then it's all about relaxing and having fun. One thing you simply have to do is have dinner with the owners Cathy and Jules. Amazing food and delightful company.
We've never wanted our return flight to be cancelled more (damn Ryanair - for once they were on time!)
We'd so love to come back so please don't change anything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2013
Thanks so much for your comments, Jamie. We feel very honoured to be part of your long-standing 'blokes' annual getaway' tradition. We really enjoyed having you all round for dinner, and happy to see the fire-pit and gym equipment getting some use! Hope to see you again. :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
633AnnaW
Ludlow
2 reviews
“Yurt Glamping - fantastic place to stay with everything you need”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We loved staying here - the yurt experience was fantastic ! the yurt itself is huge and luxurious and the barn, just a few feet away, has cooker, fridge freezer, shower and toilet. Cathy (the owner) is incredibly helpful and the welcome pack was ample for our first night's stay and breakfast the next day. We would like to go back, it was one of the highlights of our holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved sleeping in the yurt under the stars!
Liked least: It was technically possible apparently to pick up a wi-fi signal but we didn't manage it. Only a slight problem but useful to look up places to visit etc.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2013
Thank you so much Anna - we'd love to have you back! There are many upsides to running the business but the main one is meeting such a variety of lovely people. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maz00
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Yurt, Very Relaxing!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed at Chez Yurt for one week in August and had the most amazing time. We went as a family, with two boys aged 3 and 7 and we all loved it. The Yurt was immaculate, extremely comfortable and made extra special with the addition of fairy lights. The additional block which housed the kitchen and bathroom was well furnished with everything we could have wished for. Hot showers were wonderful and not once did we feel as though we were "camping"! All towels were provided as well as bedding and swimming towels which was a thoughtful addition.There was an eating area inside but we had superb weather so ate outside everyday.
There was also a trampoline, swimming pool and swings/slide which was used daily!!!
Plenty of activities nearby, Crocodile Farm, Monkey Sanctuary, Lac Pardoux and a wonderful visit to a local market. We also had a home cooked meal by Cathy which was absolutely delicious!
Cathy and Jules are excellent hosts and a special message for Dylan - Arjun and Taran both say hello and miss you - Taran is still playing with the Triceratops!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty to keep the children occupied
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2013
Thank you Meera, what a lovely review! We really enjoyed meeting you all, and look forward to cementing the friendships next year. Delighted to hear that the triceratops is still loved, and Dylan can't wait to see the boys again. X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surfingst...
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Awesome”
Reviewed 25 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We spent a fantastic week in Limousin. My kids, aged 2 and 4, were able to go free range which is fantastic when you usually live in a city. It was super relaxing!

The yurt is wonderfully spacious and fairy lights made it magical. Beds were comfy. The hammock seat hanging from the oak tree, overlooking trees and a lake was a great touch. We were delighted with the welcome hamper as it meant we didn't need to head straight to the supermarket on arrival. Sipping wine on the patio whilst the kids explored the trampoline, well equipped games barn, swing, slide, said hello to the chickens and cats, made for a perfect first evening.

There is a small barn with kitchen, shower room, dining area and sofa and it was lovely and cool compared to the heat outside. The kids were very happy playing with the toys provided (which was a thoughtful touch). The swimming pool was lovely although we were a bit unlucky with the weather so only used it over our first weekend.

We enjoyed the unspoilt nature of the area, the red Limousin cows in every field, the croaking frogs in the lake next door and glut of traditional French villages.

Plenty to do in the area - we visited a monkey park/reserve and a crocodile park as well as Limoges. There were plenty of other options for families with older children.

Cathy, Jules and Dylan (Matilda says hi!) were fantastic hosts and there were so many little touches that just made things easy for us...two sets of towels, one for showers and one for the pool...oil and vinegar in the kitchen for salad dressings....a water dispenser in the fridge...BBQ...WIFI...pool table...table tennis...swing ball...and we had a fab last evening at a local pizzeria! Thanks guys!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We really appreciate you taking the time to do this. It was great to meet you - Dylan says 'Hi back' to Mathilda (and please let her know that he lost a tooth today - big news when you are 6!). Have a great summer. x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azer7
Paris
1 review
“Fun, peaceful vacation in a beautiful spot!”
Reviewed 29 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

If you have an outdoor loving family but camping is not your thing, this is perfect for you.
Chez Yurt is located in a beautiful, quiet spot, where all you hear is birds and frogs. Sleeping in the spacious yurt was such a fun and comfortable experience. We enjoyed sipping beer (Cathy thoughtfully had ready for us in the fridge) on the terrace, admiring the surrounding nature. Our kids loved jumping on the trampoline on the yard, petting the friendly cats and playing the billiard/pingpong in the barn (very important when it rained). The separate kitchen was well-equipped and everything was very clean. So was the shower and the toilet. We were very well taken care of throughout our stay.
Cathy gave us lots of ideas for visits in the area - we did a hikind/picnicing by beautiful St. Pardoux, which was not far from the yurt.
Thank you Cathy - we had a wonderful vacation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Yurt, peacefulness, service
Liked least: Nothing much - wifi was not working well
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. It was great to meet you all, and hope to welcome you back again one day. Dylan loved playing with Ethan on the trampoline! Best wishes, Cathy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing