We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first dhow!”
Review of Kimbilio Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kimbilio Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at Kimbilio for two nights (three would have been even more relaxing) on our way back by bus from the south of Tanzania to Dar-es-Salaam. The owners and staff were friendly and really went out of their way to help. The rondavel was just five yards away from the beach.

The highlight was an afternoon trip to the island where the famous ruins of the Kilwa Kisiwani World Heritage Site are situated. We were accompanied by an enormously well-informed guide, Osman, organised by Kimbilio. We crossed the 2km channel by dhow and had time during the crossing to work out the difference between dhows and the sailing boats we know - the 'boom' at the top of the sail rather than the bottom, making it difficult to tack. But at least you don't get hit on the head!

Probably the most impressive buildings were the two medieval domed mosques and the big Omani fortress complete with sanitation. We then walked across part of the island and came down to the shore again from the Great Palace at sunset to find our dhow nestling in the dusk in the midst of tall mangrove trees. We had to wade out to it in shallow water over white sand. It was a magic moment!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanzaniaTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Kimbilio Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

We found this place almost accidentally but realized we were in the right place as soon as we talked to the owners.They have been very kind and friendly to us from the very first moment.
The bungalows are really nice, cozy and clean. They have mosquito nets, shower with hot water and electricity. The beach in front of the lodge is clean and you can relax on the lodge's sunbeds and/or have a good swim.
We had both dinner and breakfast and they were both excellent.
The lodge can accommodate only a few guests so the atmosphere is always friendly and quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Semi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Lovely managers, lovely staff, lovely bandas, great food and what a view. Excellent, did not want to leave. Hope to go back very soon. Highly recommend this to one and all - especially the diving.......

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helga G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed 3 nights and were very happy with our beach front rondavel and all the very delicious and plentiful meals. The Italian couple running it are very hospitable and helpful. We visited the other 3 main lodges in Kilwa whilst we were there and knew we had made the right choice.

The 6 rondavels are spacious, comfortable and had mosquito nets and hot water. Each of the 6 chalets are provided on the beach with 2 deck chairs, 2 loungers and a thatched sun shade. I think they also provided beach towels and another nice touch is the foot wash outside the chalet to prevent sand from being brought in. This sort of attention to detail was much appreciated.

They organise trips to the ruins for guests but you pay the $30 per person directly to the guide and they don't make any profit out of it. We enjoyed this trip and usually one leaves the lodge at around 2.00 p.m. and return at sunset. I didn't think it would be enough time but it was. We had the ruins to urselves which was nice. The beach and swimming was good.

The only slight negatives weren't the fault of the lodge. It was too windy whilst we were there and it can be a problem at that time of year. Also the lodge is on the edge of the town which isn't the prettiest in the world. However, once you are through the lodge's gates you forget about that.

Room Tip: Three rondavels are almost on the beach and these are the best. 2 others are just behind with good s...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalawiExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

I went to Kimbilio Lodge last July and it was a fantastic place to stay, and I thoroughly recommend visiting the Kilwa region. We hired a car to take us there so that we could see a bit of the country and were amazed by the beauty of the location. It’s right in the middle of a white sandy bay, very close to Kilwa Kisiwani, where the main ruins are.

The restaurant and rooms are beautifully put together and really complement the natural situation. The rooms especially are wonderful as they are in a unique round shape and the beds are huge, hanging from the ceiling. It is very cool at night with the sea breeze and you can hear the ocean all the time, which I think is very special. The food was also fantastic as the produce was so fresh.

As for the sightseeing, it really is a fascinating place to visit. A local guide called Osman who has perfect English and was great fun to be with took us to both Kilwa Kisiwani and Songo Mnara. I strongly recommend taking the longer journey to Songo Mnara, particularly if you are travelling at the time that the international archaeology team are working, which is for six weeks of the summer. They are very interesting and obliging to talk to, so they made the visit even more worthwhile. Safari njema!

Room Tip: They are all very beautifully situated and I'm pretty sure they all have sea views as the water...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank safarinjema123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

An amazing white beach with confortable bungalow, with a lovely italian cuisine and friendly atmosphere.
Briefly, excellent service and a nice place to be on holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felix51Milan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights during our 3 week trip around Tanzania earlier this Summer, and these days were without a doubt one of the highlights of the whole trip. We were recommended Kilwa as somewhere a little different to try, and we couldn't believe how much it had to offer. Kilometres of empty white beach - no mangrove, no rubbish, nobody hassling to try and sell you things, just peacefulness and a sense of seclusion - excellent diving, and some culture and history in trips to the ruins (Songo Mnara was our favourite - definitely worth the long boat trip). Although we didn't take advantage of it, we also heard that Kilwa offers some of the best sea fishing around. Kilwa really did seem to offer everything, and so relatively untouched (the ruins at Songo Mnara are still being uncovered by archeologists!).

Kimbilio was the perfect lodge in the perfect location. We were instantly made to feel extremely welcome by Betty and all the staff, and any problems we had were dealt with incredibly quickly. Betty is a fantastic host! The food was excellent - mostly fantastic seafood with an Italian touch and very reasonable.

Probably the highlight of the lodge is the huts though - just metres from the sea, lovely character, lots of hot water. Falling asleep and waking up to the sound of waves in that huge Zanzibari-style bed is something I will never forget.

Thank you Kimbilio lodge and hopefully see you again

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lgandml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilwa Masoko hotels
2.2 mi away
Kilwa Beach Lodge
Kilwa Beach Lodge
#5 of 6 in Kilwa Masoko
53 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kilwa Dreams Beach Resort
Kilwa Dreams Beach Resort
#3 of 6 in Kilwa Masoko
26 reviews
25.1 mi away
Fanjove Private Island
Fanjove Private Island
#2 of 6 in Kilwa Masoko
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mwangaza Hideaway - Slow Leopard
Show Prices

Been to Kimbilio Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimbilio Lodge

Address: Kilwa Masoko | Tanzania Coast, Kilwa Masoko, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Lindi Region > Kilwa Masoko
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Kilwa Masoko
Price Range: £46 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimbilio Lodge is a very small, italian managed, romantic lodge situated on a lovely white sandy beach in Kilwa Masoko. Only 6 bungalow, directly on the beach, fitted with mosquito nets, ceiling fans and hot water. African style mixed with italian touch is present in the bungalows decor as well as in the cuisine: our customers will try swahili specialites as well italian dishes. The restaurant serve only seafood. Great snorkeling just in front of the lodge (equipment available inside the lodge for the guests) and boat excursions on the outer reef are possible. Excursions to the UNESCO world heritage site of Kilwa Kisiwani are easily organized, as well as excursions to the archeological site of Songo Mnara and excursions to see hippos. The Lodge has been conceived to offer relaxation, leisure and culture in a peacefull and romantic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kimbilio Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimbilio Lodge Tanzania/Kilwa Masoko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing