We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its best”
Review of Kimbilio Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kimbilio Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Three of us went after the Slous game parc to Kilwa. We stayed on the beach in two bungalows. The took care of us as if we were the closest family. Nothing was too much; Bringing us to other places to kite surf. Doing all possible to make our stay as pleasant as possible. But if you want to be spoiled wait for the lobster dinner. Close your eyes and dream away as if you are in a Michelin Star restaurant. Could some things improve yes. We would like a larger choice of wines but we realise we were in Tanzania and not in France or Italie.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bankshl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We vere visiting Kilwa Masoko and looking for a dinner, that is why we went to Kimbilio Lodge. The kitchen was closed but still the owner wanted to cook an excellent and delicious grilled fish to all 5 of us. Thank you and wish you all the best!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Rodejewitsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Set on the beach, the Kimbilio Lodge has a delightful aspect over a tranquil bay. Approx 10 individual bomas all facing the sea. As there were few other quests, staff made me feel like it was my private resort for the two days I was there. Food was outstanding, locally caught fish. Apart from the ruins of Kilwa Kisiwani (short dhow ride) fishing & diving are the main activities. The manager, Hakim, is a qualified dive master.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimEwbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I was in Kimbilio Lodge in Oct 2013. The lodge is the smallest in Kilwa Masoko, only six bungalow directly on the best beach in the area (possible to access the sea also with low tide). After 3 days around Kilwa, I can say Kimbilio Lodge has for sure the best location possible and also is probably the best for decor. Is not luxurious (no 5 stars and not even 4 stars hotel in Kilwa), no aircon no TV no telephone but there is WiFi if you can't avoid to surf the net ! Still it is cute and with a nice european touch mixed with tanzania decor, has a nice tropical garden and a great deck overlooking the ocean, perfect to enjoy a chilled beer after the day. I was in a bungalow just few meters from the sea, for only 80$ as single occupancy, I found it a good bargain, especially considering the abundant and good quality breakfast included. The lodge is managed by an Italian couple, Elisabetta was the one present in the lodge when I was there and I found her a very professional manager (everything was running smooth and much more on time than many other places of higher level) and a very pleasant person to talk with. The staff was very friendly and look much happier than in many similar places. I felt always very welcome, they make you feel more like a friend than like a customer. The highlight is for sure the kitchen: they trained their chef in preparing italian dishes as well tanzanian dishes, so tourists can taste some great italian-seafood as well some local speciality. The menu is fixed so better to tell them in advance if you don't eat some kind of seafood, and the menu dipend of local availability but I found it always abundant and very high quality.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank ezio_lolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Kimbilio. The Bandas are very close to the sea and specious with a huge double bed. Everything is tastefully arranged and clean.
The Bandas are surrounded by a garden which was just great because the time I was there everything was blooming.
The staff is friendly and helps arranging a visit to the ruins, a Tuc Tuc or sailing trips.
I had a great time and would recommend it to everyone who will visit Kilwa.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaCPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Kimbilio Lodge was a hidden paradise with a beach-side bungalow which was perfectly appointed with a Swahili style of decor. We had Elisabetta, the manager, arrange our dinner the second night when we knew we would be returning late. The food was outstanding and the hospitality unsurpassed. Elisabetta treated us like long-term friends and the hospitality was unsurpassed. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I happened upon Kimbilio when looking for a place to stay in Kilwa for a long weekend getaway with friends from Dar es Salaam. Hakim, the manager, was extremely helpful and was able to accommodate our group at the last minute. We had great, fresh food (including a massive grilled fish for dinner one night!) Hakim also helped to assist us making arrangements to visit the ruins in Kilwa (a fantastic experience for those who want something a little different than the typical Zanzibar vacation). The property was simple, but clean and well maintained (which is not easy in this tropical climate!). The beach was swept clean of seaweed every morning, and the porch is a relaxing unique locale to take in the sunset. I would whole-heartedly recommend Kimbilio when you are visiting Kilwa.

(also regarding the review below about cash and ATMs - Hakim was very clear with us about the price (which was VERY reasonable) and that we would need to pay in cash.) If you do any traveling around Tanzania (or East Africa for that matter), you should know that functioning reliable ATMs are not always found outside of main cities and credit cards, if they are taken, will incur additional fees!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank afc513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilwa Masoko hotels
2.8 mi away
Kilwa Beach Lodge
Kilwa Beach Lodge
#5 of 6 in Kilwa Masoko
54 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kilwa Dreams Beach Resort
Kilwa Dreams Beach Resort
#3 of 6 in Kilwa Masoko
27 reviews
0 mi away
Mwangaza Hideaway - Slow Leopard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimbilio Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimbilio Lodge

Address: Kilwa Masoko | Tanzania Coast, Kilwa Masoko, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Lindi Region > Kilwa Masoko
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Kilwa Masoko
Price Range: £47 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimbilio Lodge is a very small, italian managed, romantic lodge situated on a lovely white sandy beach in Kilwa Masoko. Only 6 bungalow, directly on the beach, fitted with mosquito nets, ceiling fans and hot water. African style mixed with italian touch is present in the bungalows decor as well as in the cuisine: our customers will try swahili specialites as well italian dishes. The restaurant serve only seafood. Great snorkeling just in front of the lodge (equipment available inside the lodge for the guests) and boat excursions on the outer reef are possible. Excursions to the UNESCO world heritage site of Kilwa Kisiwani are easily organized, as well as excursions to the archeological site of Songo Mnara and excursions to see hippos. The Lodge has been conceived to offer relaxation, leisure and culture in a peacefull and romantic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kimbilio Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimbilio Lodge Tanzania/Kilwa Masoko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing