We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
118
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wanted to stay longer r r local places to visit wonderful garden warm hospitality spent a week carcassonne area local area pool area fresh fruit hostess atelier region france wine sleeping terrace
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I love this chambre d'hote! The food is fantastic, the rooms so stylish and the welcome so warm. Amelie and her lovely family make this a very special holiday. My husband, son and I stayed in 3 of the 5 rooms and still can't decide which we loved the most. We slept every night listening to the river it was heavenly. Every night the meal was amazing, I still dream of the Panna cotta! Looking forward to returning very soon!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ballroad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I don't often review places online, but this place is one of those charming and wonderful places that deserves a shout out. For people looking for a quintessential French-Languedoc experience, with out-of-this-world food, look no further. Amelie (the wonderful proprietor and hostess) was a successful international marketing executive who, a few years ago, turned her energy to her passion, running a Bed and Breakfast. And her enthusiasm and "customer orientation" really makes the difference. This is why you choose a BnB over a standard corporate hotel. She renovated an old metairie into a charming BnB with spacious, modern rooms with individual bathrooms, lovely common areas, a beautiful terrasse where we ate all our meals and an inviting pool area. The place is quiet and peaceful, with a large stream running nearby providing this unbelievably idyllic background noise. ...and yet it is within 15 min of Carcassonne and close to many of Languedoc's attractions. And the food is absolutely fantastic. We had planned to explore a number of restaurants, but quickly realized we could not do better in quality of food or setting than what we could have at Metairie Montplaisir. We spent a week there and look forward to when we can return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are gorgeous and spacious with wonderful views. Each has their own bathroom. They've all been tastefully redone with modern design and appliances, but with a mix of old world French charm and some family antiques.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChilisPapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We spent a wonderful week at this idyllic place in July. The location is stunning, beside the river, with delightful gardens and the swimming pool to cool down in. Our room (we stayed in 'Rosalie' ) was superbly comfortable and peaceful, with a communal salon to relax in if desired. The wonderful breakfasts were served outside and were absolutely delicious . We'd initially only booked to have dinner the first two nights, but the food was so good, we ended up 'eating in' all but one night! A true foodie haven - both Amelie and Francoise willing to share tips on recipes, local wines etc. From the warm welcome we received on arrival, throughout our stay, Amelie and her family went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. A wonderful venue to use as a base to explore Carcassonne and the Cathar country. We definitely aim to return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Our family of five with three girls ages 11, 9 and 7 spent a wonderful week in Amelie's care in July, 2013. We stayed in Atelier very happily and ate on site almost every night. We saw no reason to eat elsewhere with Amelie and her mother feeding us and our children in such style. Breakfast is a fond memory already. Homemade yogurt!

The property and rooms are beautiful and clean, furnished with love and care by Amelie. She is exacting and generous in her expectations and you can see it everywhere.

Conques sur Orbiel was a great base to explore Carcassonne and Languedoc. Amelie helped us with restaurant and activity recommendations locally and even made our dinner reservations in Barcelona after we left her loving arms.

We hope to return someday soon though there is no way it can be soon enough.

Room Tip: All the rooms are big and beautiful. We had five of us in Atelier and it was cozy but fine because we were out all day or in the pool. The sound of the river was just the best!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed for three days in July and loved every minute. We were spoiled by the warm welcome from Amelie and her family and the delicious food in a delightful old house - beautifully restored and charming in every exquisite detail. The guest rooms (and there are only three) are in a separate wing of the house. There is also a self contained apartment in the grounds.

Breakfasts are all that you could wish for - homemade yoghurt and preserves, fresh fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice, pastries, eggs - and beautiful coffee. We were very impressed by our own Nespresso machine in our room which by the way was beautiful - full of light and colour. We also had dinner there each evening and Amelie's mum who cooks most of the food has a Michelin fork and ran a restaurant for 25 years before joining Amelie at the Metairie Montplaisir.

Amelie organised a wine tasting session for us with a local producer and we rented bikes from her and had a day on the Canal du Midi - there is so much to do in the region though we also enjoyed relaxing by the pool. We will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viv870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews