We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A master class in hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Metairie Montplaisir
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“A master class in hospitality”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

As soon as we arrived at the Métaire Montplaisir we knew that we had made a mistake. We had only booked for one night and, as Amelie showed us around her charming property, we knew that we wanted to stay longer.

As other reviewers have noted, everything about this place is of a high standard. The house, the rooms, the great food and wine. Indeed, his probably the best guest accommodation that we have stayed in. It is also remarkably good value. However what really makes it is the welcome provided by Amelie and her parents. They should give master classes on hospitality to anyone wanting to run a bed and breakfast business.

For those of you thinking about a stay here, I have the following tips:

Avoid the hotels in Carcassonne, this is a far nicer place to stay.

Make sure you bring your swimming costume - the pool is sublime.

Book early, particularly for the summer weeks.

Plan on a stay of at least three nights.


Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank UKJohnN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
54
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Amelie what can you say good food great place not far from carcassone 3 days of what anyone would want. She will get or proved for any of your needs, great pool let english man go in at 8pm in the morning before breakfast.

Poached eggs now on the menu !!!!

Will return

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank markprance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The term B & B does not adequately describe the Metairie Montplaisir. There can be no dispute it provides a B & B type accommodation but with a flourish and flair that many top grade hotels would envy.
Rooms are large and airy, nicely proportioned, elegantly decorated and delightfully furnished.
Tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryer and all other supplements normally provided in hotels are also included.
The house is comfortable, large and old. It stands back from the road on the edge of the village and the river Orbiel runs through the edge of the grounds. We found the location quiet and peaceful.
Grounds are of sufficient size for quiet strolls. For those who want more the village is a short walk away. The village was quiet and largely shuttered during our brief visit.
There is a good sized swimming pool within the grounds of Metairie Montplaisir where drinks can be served.
The location is quiet and peaceful.
Breakfast is large and offers an excellent choice. We were asked if there was anything else we would like at breakfast, reinforcing our view that Amelie objective is to provide excellent service. Dinner was also of a high standard being prepared from locally resourced fresh produce. In terms of quality the food is comparable to any good restaurant.
Excellent service and friendly atmosphere is at the core of this family run establishment. Amelie is an excellent hostess and is well supported by Francoise and Phillippe.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anotherUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

From the moment you arrive you are made to feel so welcome by Amélie and her family. Along with beautifully cooked French cuisine, they go the extra mile to ensure your stay is everything you want it to be. We stayed in the Atelier which was perfect for the three of us, very spacious. The house, gardens and pool are beautifully kept and the location is close enough to enjoy Carcassonne. We particularly recommend hiring bikes and riding alongside the Canal du Midi. We thoroughly recommend Metairie Montplaisir as a place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenFamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

First, location: Metaire Montplaisir is beautifully located just next to the river Orbiel, with beautiful grounds and just minutes away from the centre of Carcassonne.
Style: the house and grounds have been beautifully restored and decorated by Amélie, the owner who has impeccable taste and yet has created something uniquely daring in terms of colours and contemporary touches.
Comfort: perfect
Food: we weren't able to enjoy the evening meal as it was a Sunday, but if the breakfast is anything to go by, we really missed something special. Breakfast here is a real meal, with all sorts of home made delights.
The hostess: Amélie is the cherry on the cake - friendly and warm with both adults and children (ours is 4). We had a real feeling that she was sharing her home with us. Lots of tips on where to go and what to do, she even booked a child-friendly restaurant for us and got it just right.
If you want somewhere special to stay around Carcassonne, don't miss out on this one!

Room Tip: Our room, Ségur, was just beautiful, but I think they are all pretty special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We have been lucky enough to stay at Métairie Montplaisir twice this year: for 9 nights in total. We stayed in the main building and also in the Atelier, which has its own kitchen and lounge. (Both wonderful.) I have two small children so we were keen not to stay at an impersonal hotel but also wanted to avoid the endless supermarket shops and cleaning up needed for a self catering holiday.
On arrival the gates open to reveal the most wonderfully luxurious and stylish setting. A large pool, an elegant building, restored with charm and character, and the most wonderful garden surrounded by a beautiful bank of large trees. The next thing you will notice is the wonderful smell from the kitchen which, throughout our stay, seemed to constantly waft out of the doors. You soon realise that this place is a slice of heaven.
But - rather than continue to rave... I thought it more helpful to other travelers if I make some points that may help the endless decision making that seems to accompany holiday bookings:

1) The house and gardens are very impressive. Every room has a spectacular decor and with particular attention to luxurious bathrooms, space, light and comfy beds. The salt water pool is also really well done. You can see the family have invested in the restoration of this house as everything is done to a very high standard. It emits style, sophistication and relaxation. For a couple of days during our holiday we did not even leave the grounds. Having said that I strongly recommend the area – lots to do and some fantastic scenery. Albi and Carcassonne are well well worth seeing but the surrounding villages are also very special places to visit.
2) Atmosphere – as they only have 5 rooms in the whole building the atmosphere is always extremely relaxed and never feels crowded (we went at peak time so all the rooms were full yet we still were the only ones at the pool for most of our stay). The calm way that Amelie (the owner) and her family and team run Métairie Montplaisir really contributes to its charm. Nothing is too much trouble, they never seem stressed and along with the youngest member of their family - little Carlota (aged 3) they emit an infectious sense of wellbeing and happiness. To add to the sense of luxury and switching off the cleaners had a knack of quietly tiding up around us.... without us even noticing.
3) The food and wine at Métairie Montplaisir is really exceptional. Amelie’s Mum, Françoise was awarded a Michelin fork in her previous restaurant and it’s not hard to see why. What is more, both her and Amelie will serve you breakfast (fresh, homemade and seasonal) when you get up (as long as it’s after 9am) so we often enjoyed long lazy brunches with the kids. Françoise also cooked fantastic food for our small children for lunch and during the evenings.
I really could go on – staying at Métairie Montplaisir was the best decision we made this year and the first time since I have had the children that I have felt totally relaxed and pampered for 9 whole blissful days. We will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are great - very hard to choose between them as all have a very individual style - and ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzie123616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I love this chambre d'hote! The food is fantastic, the rooms so stylish and the welcome so warm. Amelie and her lovely family make this a very special holiday. My husband, son and I stayed in 3 of the 5 rooms and still can't decide which we loved the most. We slept every night listening to the river it was heavenly. Every night the meal was amazing, I still dream of the Panna cotta! Looking forward to returning very soon!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ballroad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conques-sur-Orbiel
6.6 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#5 of 39 in Carcassonne
331 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
438 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
3.3 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
301 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metairie Montplaisir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metairie Montplaisir

Property: Metairie Montplaisir
Address: 2 avenue Rene Cassin, 11600, Conques-sur-Orbiel, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Conques-sur-Orbiel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Conques-sur-Orbiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Conques sur Orbiel, 9kms from Carcassonne, La Metairie Montplaisir is a luxury escape away from crowd and noise, where you will enjoy a fine and home cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Metairie Montplaisir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing