We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small island with beautiful Corals”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Modessa Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Roxas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I have visited the place when it was name Coco Loco Resort in 2001. The travel from Puerto Princesa is a little bit long. We were greeted by a private driver and we hired him to bring us to Roxas town which is about 4 hours away from Puerto Princesa. Then a boat will bring you to this small island (about 7 hectares) where you could walk around in just few minutes. There are 3 type Bungalow to sleep with, my favorite are the one close to the beach with nipa roof. The other bungalows are located inside the island and their architecture blended with the surrounding nature. The beach is very nice and you can see beautiful corals next to your bungalow, and lots of fishes around the corals. The place is very quite and perfect for a person who wants to get away from it all. The service may not be great since it is so remove, they did not hire professional people to do what 5 star hotel does. I have been to Palawan 3 times and this is the island that I have visited the first time, and I can make comparison to other places I have visited, such as El Nido and Coron. El Nido and Coron have so much varieties than this small island. I recommend to stay here for just 3 days, then visit El Nido and Coron. At that time in 2001, I thought the place is so inexpensive to stay with if you compare with Dos Palmas resort in Honda Bay area. Again it is worth trying even just for a few days. It's a beautiful island.

Room Tip: Go for the room that is close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JSabado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

(1) Transportation : You need to take a van or bus to a restaurant called "Bottega" in Roxas. It takes about 2.5 hrs from the San Jose New Market Bus Terminal near Puerto Princesa, depends on the driver and vehicle condition. From Bottega Restaurant, someone from the resort will pick you up, taking you to the Roxas Wharf to take their scheduled boat at 2 PM (only 1 scheduled boat a day, so make sure you get on the boat on time. We were lucky to get to the island earlier since we were the only 2 guests going to the island that day).

(2) Beachfront Bunglow : Make sure you can tolerate the heat during the windless afternoon without electricity to turn on the fan. The power supply only serves from 6PM-8AM. Also, make sure you can enjoy the wild animals around you or beneath you, and having their symphony to sleep (you can actually see some crabs crawling beneath you bamboo floor). However, they do offer mosquito-netting covering the whole bed which is a good thing, but outside the net, you are handing yourself to the God and, of course, flies and mosquitoes. BTW, be aware of the nails they stuck to fix the bamboo floor, you may accidentaly get hurt by them.

(3) Beach and Food : Save the best to the last. The beach is definitely overwhelming and paradise-like. The best time for watering on the beach will be in the morning. The tide starts going out from the noon, after that it nearly impossible to swim or play in the water. So make sure you make great use of the morning hours. Also, the room rate is full-board. The staff in restaurant are really helpful and friendly. They serve great variety of cuisines,taste well but a bit too heavy.

(4) Overall : If they can improve the comfort of the bungalow, I don't really mind pay more, because the beach and sunset is definitely worth revisiting.

Room Tip: Near the restaurant as close as possible. You can get more wind to cool down the heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jyrpa16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

So far the most relaxing, charming and unique island hideaway I’ve ever been. We enjoyed our stay in a nice tropical somewhat tiki hut nested in the sand dunes, perfect for watching the sunset with a glass of chilled coconut juice. Highly recommended for vacationers who wants peace and serenity that those crowded islands cannot offer.
We think our stay at Modessa Island Resort is one of the most relaxing and enjoyable holidays ever.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zbigandsmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This charming little island is carved deeply in to our memories for its beauty, remoteness and extreme friendly service. There are coral reefs right next to the shore for those who like to dive/snorkel. Would like to go there again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ninule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

very impressive location. nice beach with shade. good snorkelling. 2 good dive sites. Crab is the best in the menu. massage on the beach 600p. Special boat 1500p. They can book flights for you, the price was similar online.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sam12com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

from 1h of free boat from roxas.
the island looks beautiful but u can swim with children only on one beach which is overbooked of the resort`s boat ans full of construction stone.
the others parts are overcrowed of dead reef or green algaes.

If the welcome looks nice, the first question is ``can you pay at once the rent?`` as if you will go from this island without to pay! so impolite!

After the bungalows ans the bathroom are ok, even if it looks old.
they didn`t do any works since coco loco island resort.

If you know the filipino foods, the restaurant will be a nightmare for you!
it is the worst food ever in Philippines: they just don`t know to cook!
they ask you one meal before your food and just re-eat it when you will be at your table.
the table looks like picnic table in plastic with caca of gecko every where.

The divemaster is very good and i advice you the night dive.

every other sport accommodations are destroy. nothing to do except the landscape, snorkeling (nice but not wonderful) and peacefulness.
but for this price, some resort in Philippines are much better!

very too much expensive!

Room Tip: off the wind!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank julien026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We really enjoyed the remote and beautiful place that you can reach only by boat. Be aware that the hotel organize only one trip per day and you have to pay for extra boat trip.
Accommodation are simple but good. Just fan to cool air. Cottage have shower with "Salty fresh water. Electricity is provided only night time by a generator that you can hear but did not find really bothering.
Food has nothing exceptional and do not expect anything great, just fare.
The 7 hectare island is quiet and beach cleaned regularly. There is a nice coral reef very close with plenty nice fish that can be explored simply snorkeling. In the night go walk on the beach and hunt the funny crabs.

Room Tip: To reach the island you must not hesitate to use public Van which are much cheaper than private van.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gi151175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roxas
27.5 mi away
Secret Paradise Resort & Turtle Sanctuary
38.2 mi away
Sheridan Beach Resort and Spa
46.7 mi away
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
Dos Palmas Island Resort & Spa
#8 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.0 mi away
Daluyon Beach and Mountain Resort
57.4 mi away
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princesa
Microtel by Wyndham Puerto Princ...
#6 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
758 reviews
38.9 mi away
Astoria Palawan
Astoria Palawan
#11 of 50 in Puerto Princesa
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Modessa Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Modessa Island Resort

Address: 144 Kms. north of Puerto Princesa City, Roxas, Palawan Island, Philippines (Formerly Coco Loco Island Resort)
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Roxas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Roxas
Price Range: £59 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Modessa Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Modessa Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Loco Island Hotel Roxas
Modessa Island Resort Palawan Island/Roxas, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing