We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy Cottage, Great Location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bingham, Nottinghamshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dawn O
1 review
“Cozy Cottage, Great Location”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Rosehip Cottage was a wonderful choice for my first time in the UK. Bingham was a lovely town and the cottage location was great for walking to shops, restaurants, pubs, grocery stores and close to transportation. I frequently took the bus to Nottingham and this was far more convenient than driving. The modern kitchen had everything you could need and the red decor was very tasteful and pleasant. The renovated bathroom was great - the water was always hot for showering :) The rooms were small but cozy and storage was ample. I could definitely feel the sense of pride of ownership in this cottage! Correspondence with Jane was timely, informative and pleasant, and the information booklets provided in the cottage were truly appreciated! Lorraine was wonderful to deal with and accommodating when meeting up to provide the keys and information about Bingham and Rosehip Cottage. We very much enjoyed our time in what was our home away from home for 10 days...

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2016
Marvelous Dawn, thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with us. We are pleased you found all the information useful - we try to be as informative as we can . Yes, we are proud owners and love the time we spend there ourselves. The town and the neighbours are indeed wonderful - we love it too !!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisNanC...
1 review
“Excellent stay in a cosy and tidy cottage”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The Cottage is very cosy, kept very tidy by a nice housekeeper and extremely well located right in the heart of Bingham (but yet very quiet). We felt very welcome and almost "at home" at the cottage. The kitchen is superb from our point of view and the reception room small but incredibly characteristic and cosy. We had a very good time relaxing in Front of the TV or the open fireplace. The bedrooms are great, too. As explained in the description of the cottage, it is indeed rather small but if you know that beforehand and do not arrive with more than 4 people max., then you will have a great place to stay. Pubs and stores are all in walking distance (not more than 5 mins) and from Bingham other cities and villages are easy to reach (try Grantham - we loved the old cathedral).

To summarise, we give 5 out of 5 points for this cottage. Many thanks, Jane and Lorraine!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2015
Just what we like to hear. I shall pass your kind comments onto Lorraine who does a super job. We trust you might come and visit us again, indeed we look forward to it. All our very best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B
Munich, Germany
1 review
“Lovely cottage, great location”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This cottage has got everything you could possibly need and is very comfortable. Only minus for us is the furniture in the living room, a comfy sofa and one armchair would be much much better than the art deco stuff and the gong. The kitchen however is superb and provides basics like salt and dishwasher tablets and such, very thoughtful.We loved the cottage otherwise and will return in the near future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen and its appliances.
Liked least: The living room furniture, it should be changed
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review. The 'Art Deco Stuff' you mention are two very sought after, very expensive early 20th century club chairs and which we think are extremely comfortable. This is first and foremost my home and furnished to my liking. I hope any prospective guests reading this, who may wish to share and enjoy my home, will read the full description before they book and thus feel happy to leave a 5 star review for the care and love with which my little cottage has been appointed. I appreciate your re-iterating the importance of this. I am however delighted to hear that overall you enjoyed the ambiance and particularly the brand new kitchen. As of next year, there will also be a brand new and slightly larger bathroom as we are aware the current room is rather small. Thank you for booking Rosehip Cottage in 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tav007
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Ideal for Trent Bridege”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We rented the cottage as our base for attending the Test cricket at Trent Bridge. It was ideal. We enjoyed the property, the village, the amenities and the ease of getting to the cricket ground. We soon got the hang of the bus system and appreciated the 30 minute ride that dropped us right at Trent Bridge. And then we sorted the stops down the road that we needed in the evenings.

It's a property that's exactly as described - small, charming cottage that's well equipped and cosy. Great wifi, good kitchen, comfy beds, not so comfy chairs. Easy commute to Nottingham and plenty of other destinations nearby.

Pity about the cricket...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The result at the cricket!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2015
Yes, Pity about the cricket! Sounds like you made the best of the bus service though - its wonderful and runs till late at night come weekends.
The Antique chairs are part of our period furnishing and as such our home. As mentioned in the website, this is not a modern hotel room and - "Loungy sofas are not us"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anisa167
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home sweet home!”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The cottage is very beautiful and cozy! The village is lovely and quite, people are also very polite & friendly. We stayed for three nights. Would definitely recommend!! Ideal for those looking for somewhere private/peaceful/place to unwind. Approximately 35 minute drive away from (Nottingham) attractions such as Wollaton Park & Old market square.

Very easy to book, excellent service!

Would love to go back! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2015
Bingham is indeed a lovely quiet village and known for its array of shops, eating places and nice neighbours. It is good to know that you enjoyed every aspect of it, plus the cottage of course!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harribags
Redditch
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, great location”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed in Rosehip Cottage several times now and love it. It's a lovely cottage with everything you could possibly need.
It's very close to shops, chippys, cafes etc so you don't even need to use the car.
The neighbours are really friendly too.
Great place. I'm sure we will be there again next year xx

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2015
Smashing! Just what we want to hear. See you next year again then.
Cheers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oddbod200...
East midlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant, charming village cottage”
Reviewed 7 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Found this cottage whilst looking for accommodation for my sister and her husband traveling over from Hannover, Germany, for our mothers 90th birthday celebrations. I was bought up in Bingham and my mother still lives there alone although I am now resident in Lincoln. The cost of the cottage on a daily basis was no more than a reasonable hotel, most of which were further afield and had the advantage that my wife and I were also able to stay the night of the party. Smack in the middle of Bingham we were able to walk everywhere we wished to go. Wonderful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quaint nature
Liked least: draughts (old cottage) must cost a fortune to heat.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2015
Marvelous! I hope you family met our neighbours opposite who go to Germany every year as Bingham is twinned with Wallenfels in Germany.
Yes its sooo central. Its the reason I bought this property for my old age so I could walk to the main square and find absolutely everything I needed within 5 minutes walk, including the swimming pool. I do hope your family may come again for the next special occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing