We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An excellent stay in a lovely property”

Review of Wychert Cottage

Wychert Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wychert Cottage
The lounge with Stressless furniture The dining alcove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Wychert Cottage
The lounge with Stressless furniture
The dining alcove
Kitchen
Main bedroom
Small bedroom
Bathroom
Private Patio
Front Door
The village of Haddenham
View of the village church
Wychert in winter
Red kite
View of Haddenham from the Chilterns
Wychert Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Haddenham, Aylesbury, Aylesbury Vale, Buckinghamshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
stevo750
South Yorkshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“An excellent stay in a lovely property”
Reviewed 22 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We booked this property wishing to connect with a friend working nearby, who only returns to the UK from time to time. In addition, the village's connections with the Midsomer Murders TV series was a plus point, as my wife is a long-time fan. We had visited this area on one previous occasion, but it was our first visit to the village of Haddenham.

The property is outstanding, and has everything one needs. We appreciated the comfort of the cottage, and also enjoyed sitting on the patio, as the weather was warm enough to do so on several days during our stay. It is easy to see how the village was chosen for the filming of several scenes in Midsomer Murders, as many properties in the village are picture-postcard material. The area around the church, complete with duck-pond and lych gate, would delight any foreign visitor as much as they delighted us. We attended the service at St Mary's on the Sunday, and were warmly received by the worshipping community, who recommended places we might visit.

We visited a family friend studying in Oxford, and were pleased to find the regular bus service into the city was no more than 50 yards from the cottage, thus meaning that, on this occasion, we did not even have to use the Park and Ride service.

We had a great meal at the House of Spice (Indian) which is a few minutes' walk of the cottage. For a snack meal shortly after our arrival we were served an excellent lunch in stylish surroundings at the Little Italy coffee bar, again just a short walk from the property. There is a good bakery serving a wide range of cakes and pastries very near to the cottage.

We found the people in the village very friendly, and my son was impressed that the recreation ground also had a cricket net, which he was pleased to make full use of! Towns such as Henley-on-Thames, Thame and Wallingford are within easy reach, as are many other villages used as locations in the Midsomer Murder series, e.g. Long Crendon.

We had a very pleasant, relaxing week at this cottage, and hope to return in the future. The owners, John and Ailsa, who live in an adjacent property, were unobtrusive, but friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and the location in this lovely village
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joutet
South Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic find, we will go back”
Reviewed 2 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This cottage is perfect, probably one of the best we have ever stayed in. It is very comfortable and well appointed, everything you need is there. There is a recreation area/ park just around the corner. The village is beautiful, (you can picture Barnaby and his Midsomer colleagues around every corner in the old village). The green and church are picturesque. There is a coffe shop (little Italy) just over the road from the cottage, plus an excellent bakery, right next to the cottage for freshly baked bread, cakes etc (just like being in France). The Indian also round the corner from the cottage was also excellent. The village also has its own little museum which was free entry and worth a look at, although it is only open on Sundays 2-4 and Tuesdays 10 -12. The people in the village were very friendly, we attended the service at the Church of England on the green on Sunday Morning which was excellent and the people were very welcoming and friendly and suggested places we could visit. The Cottage and village are on our listed of places to return to. Highly recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it, the comfortable well appointed cottage and the beautiful village and friendly people
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susannah8
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful cottage”
Reviewed 2 April 2013 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We adored our stay here. The cottage is very comfortable and set in a beautiful village with many thatched cottages, other interesting buildings, village ponds and adjacent to countryside. Bus stops to Oxford and Aylesbury are very nearby and the train to London and Stratford-upon-Avon is walking distance. The hosts are delightful and helpful. We cannot wait to return and just hope this beautiful cottage is vacant then. Thanks so much for a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The excellent location and very comfortable accommodation
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denc
Kinlough, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Mind your head”
Reviewed 4 February 2012 for a stay in November 2011

This is a nice enough place for a couple of days. It is comfortable and has two bedrooms. the bathroom could do with a decent shower and the main bedroom has a huge beam which you could easily walk into if not careful and hurt yourself. the owner was helpful, but the welcome pack was very mean, a small bottle of local beer, and a couple of tea and coffee bags. the kitchen was well equipped, for a small amount of cooking. The lounge was comfortable with ample seating. It did lack athmosphere though, and pets had left their mark.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: The beam
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2012
This is a very disappointing and puzzling review from a couple who were positive about their stay with us back in November 2011. The charm of a genuine cruck frame structure is another person's lack of atmosphere. We have never allowed pets in the cottage and are bewildered by that comment. The bathroom shower is a power shower that will provide limitless hot water.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizziechi...
Flintshire
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage, a real home from home”
Reviewed 27 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012

We have just arrived back from a really lovely week in this beautiful cottage. Loved it from the minute we arrived. Friendly hosts but not intrusive. We went to Haddenham as it was half way between my son and his family and my sister, both of whom we had gone to visit. Lovely to find that it was ideal for rail links to London, (retail therapy in Harrods) and Oxford ( Natural History museum) Gave my husband 2 days off from driving. The village was lovely, the bakery too close and tempting lol. Fabulous bread, you must try their Cranberry and rosemary!!! The Rising Sun was just across the road ( great beer and cider) The House of Spice on the othwer side of the road serves the nicest Indian food we have had in a while. All in all it was a wonderful week. Thank you John and Ailsa. We hope to be back soon to your beautiful cottage. Would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and cleanliness of the property and the location
Liked least: Absolutely nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReviewMom
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in lovely village”
Reviewed 11 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011

Wychert Cottage is an up-to-date cottage in Haddenham, Bucks. The cottage itself has a kitchen and living area downstairs, and 2 bedrooms and 1 bath upstairs. The bedrooms are small but efficient, with nice wood beams. The kitchen was well furnished with all the basics. Plenty of hot water in the shower. The owners have definitely put time and thought into making the cottage feel warm (with nice touches such as chocolates and tea in the kitchen, and DVDs and books in the living room). They installed a gate at the top of the stairs for safety, which is a plus when traveling with kids.

The village of Haddenham is quaint, with a beautiful old church and a duck pond a short walk away. Peking Rendevous is just down the road for some very good Chinese food, and a bakery is practically next door (although it was closed for the holidays when we were there). Local bus service to Aylesbury and Oxford is steps away. So the cottage is well located for exploring the area.

The only knock was that the clothes dryer did not work. We stayed at the cottage for 10 days. With 2 children for that period of time, the lack of a working dryer was an inconvenience, causing returns trips to the cottage during the day to deal with laundry. For extended stays, I would recommend checking with the owner about it. It's the only thing that prevents an overall 5-star review for our stay.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: coziness
Liked least: lack of working dryer
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2012
We understand the disappointment caused by the dryer not working. We were aware of its failure and the family did have this explained during their introduction to the cottage. The following week we purchased a brand new washer/dryer which is now installed and working well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claribell...
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Warm & cozy cottage with lots of character”
Reviewed 23 December 2011 for a stay in December 2011

We have moved away from stays in hotels and b&b's because cottages like this one are so much nicer! We loved our week in Wychert Cottage. It's a small, very comfortable, well equipped house with quirky character. Ornaments, books, dvd's, pictures and so on made it special, it felt more like a home than a holiday cottage.

Ideally situated in a pretty village in rural Bucks, it's well placed for local shops, trips into London (10 mins walk to the station, then 50 mins into Marylebone), buses into Oxford and easy access to several National Trust properties, Bletchley Park, etc. I loved seeing all the red kites - even watched some from our bedroom window! Wi-fi was a bonus. We hope to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cozy, snug feel of the cottage - like using a friend's house.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing