We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, very nice staff and good atmosphere”
Review of House of Spice

House of Spice
Ranked #7 of 11 Restaurants in Haddenham
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food, very nice staff and good atmosphere”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I have visited this Indian on and off for several years. Recently I had reason to visit again, and it has never let me down. The food is always fresh and has none of the 'cheaper' flavours you find in some. It can get very busy on a Friday night, so suggest booking in advance if eating in, or allowing a good 30 minutes for a takeaway!
I doubt you would be disappointed if you are a traditional curry fan.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Curryandy1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    22
    7
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We had the Sunday lunch buffet yesterday. We often come and it is always good quality and fantastic value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MargalitPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“House of spice Haddenham -excellent value”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We vent to house of spice Haddenham for Sunday lunch buffet, which was a three course, hot, eat as much as you want Buffett. It was excellent Value, delicious food, the restaurant was full which is always a good sign. Would recommend

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joutet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddenham, Bucks
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“popular place”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

there are a few House Of Spice resturants in the local area all serving great food. The Sunday lunchtime buffet is great or Sunday evening starter main side dish and naan for set price is good

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TATIMBER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, Bucks, UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Brilliant, amazing, outstanding? Hmmmm”
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Looking at other reviews for this curry house, the comments were certainly very positive. Words like ‘brilliant, amazing, outstanding’ appeared. For me at least, a restaurant has to be pretty special to be described like this. So, I anticipated an excellent evening ahead. So here goes, here are my thoughts about the House of Spice…

- It’s a beautiful old building in a very picturesque Chiltern village
- There’s a handy car park behind the restaurant
- Service is friendly
- Food is relatively inexpensive
- You will find all the usual curry favourites here
- Popular with locals
- Nice big bottles of Cobra beer

But, on the downside

- Service is haphazard. We were told the table was needed by 9:00 but we waited half an hour for our order to be taken.
- Food was dull. We had three different curries but they all looked identical – brown.
- All a bit disorganised but perhaps that was due to the Christmas rush
- Ambience inside is not great

This is not going to be my favourite curry house, but certainly not the worst. There’s not a huge number of restaurants to choose from in Haddenham which might explain its popularity. This is a very ‘standard’ curry house which makes me appreciate the more innovative curry houses much more. This is not a meal of life-time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed House of Spice also viewed

Thame, Oxfordshire
Haddenham, Aylesbury Vale
 

Been to House of Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing