We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best Chinese takeaways I've had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rose & Thistle

The Rose & Thistle
Ranked #6 of 12 Restaurants in Haddenham
Price range: US$13 - US$19
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
West sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best Chinese takeaways I've had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Having been a regular visitor to this dog friendly pub over the past few years its fabulous now they have started to serve Chinese food. Have only had a takeaway, but I can honestly say it's one of the best I've tasted - so authentic. We will definitely be sampling the restaurant menu! And how nice to be able to have a couple of beers whilst waiting for your Chinese to cook. Thanks Spas.
See you soon.
Nicki, Darren & Poppy the dog! (Please can I have some dog treats on the bar!!!!)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    19
    1
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New Chinese Menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

As always a warm welcome given by the landlord Spas who is very customer orientated.
This was our first visit to sample the new menu and we were not disappointed. Sizzling hot and well presented dishes chosen from the good choice on the a la carte menu. Very reasonably priced too! The take away menu is very extensive and appears popular - all in all just what the village needs! Spas and Candice deserve to succeed! We will definitely return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GrannyB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The New Chinese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Now had 2 take away meals from the recently opened Rose & Thistle Chinese restaurant.
It is great to have a place where you can get a decent beer (or two) whilst waiting for the takeaway. The food was delicious and great value.
A real asset to the village we will be visiting Spas, Candice and the team on many occasions in the future.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Smurf747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Local Pub service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Welcomed and good service for food and drinks
Excellent food menu with good selection options pleasant outdoor area and a village aura with comfortable decor and surroundings
Always received and welcomed with good beer and a wide range of wines and soft drinks

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Stonewall_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“30th birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I booked a very short notice 30th birthday party at the rose and thistle and spas the landlord was brilliant , nothing was to much trouble . we had the hot buffet and the food was lovely , everyone was so pleased and especially loved the mini fish and chips . the kids loved the play area and it was great we could play our own music in the function room. we all had a lovely time and my partner had a great party with all his friends and family around. Thank you so much for putting up with us all !

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ROBYN m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rose & Thistle also viewed

Haddenham, Aylesbury Vale
 
Haddenham, Aylesbury Vale
Thame, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Rose & Thistle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing