We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home with tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Reef Hotel Zinkwazi
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home away from home with tranquility”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Beautiful, serene and Eco friendly setting with comfortable accommodation and good food at the in house restaurant. Family friendly and safe environment for younger kids. Close and safe access to a private beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    16
    11
    1
    4
See reviews for
17
7
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham Road, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Great location, well appointed apartments, spoiled slightly by lack of attention to detail. Toilets dirty on arrival, kitchen drawers that are sticky. Windows that are not cleaned regularly. Staff very friendly and helpful. Meals good, but service slow.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 12 to 14 July 2013. The rooms were well decorated and comfortable. The breakfasts were all precooked in broilers. Fried and scrambled in these things for sometime become rubbery and quite disgusting.

Room Tip: The rooms that are on the third floor have views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevinstone84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

My family and I have visited the Ocean Reef Hotel a few times.
We've experienced a wonderful Valentines dinners here as well.

It is only 45 minute drive from where we live and I can honestly say that it has been a wonderful experience each and every time we have visited.
Service, food, staff, accommodation and location make this a well worth experience.

Their restaurant is highly recommended to dine at. Presentation is really lovely and of course the food is of the highest standard, well worth the wait! Not at all a rush and eat type of restaurant, here you want to take your time and enjoy the whole afternoon or evening it's that lovely.
Don't miss out, this is one place you have to experience, staff never forget a face and make you feel so welcome.

Beverley Langkilde - SATSA-Tourism Tattler Trade Journal

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOURISMTATTLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We had a lunch at the Bamboo restaurant in January:

- food was OK but we waited a very long time for it to arrive
- tables were dirty and got wiped only after my request
- the place was almost empty and still the service was very slow.Not too friendly either ( they literally dropped our bill on the table)

Nice view from the patio though.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marbid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Stayed at the oceans reef hotel for our 2nd anniversary and it was a really pleasant experience. Very quiet clean and neat hotel. Had no problems at all. Our room was fantastic and had a great view of the ocean. The food from the hotel was really good too.

Most of the time we just chilled on the beach which is very private and secluded from the main beach and the crowds. overall would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room. The rooms on the top floor seem to be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Boutique Hotel experience, unique restaurant menu with friendly staff providing a personal touch, the venue provides great facilities for conferencing, secluded beach with the small town experience.

Room Tip: Sea View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zinkwazi Beach
22.6 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ballito
381 reviews
19.9 mi away
Chaka's Rock Chalets
Chaka's Rock Chalets
#1 of 1 in Shaka's Rock
75 reviews
0.8 mi away
Scent From Heaven Global
Scent From Heaven Global
#2 of 4 in Zinkwazi Beach
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Lodge at Prince's Grant
23.8 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
18.7 mi away
Canelands Beach Club and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Hotel Zinkwazi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Hotel Zinkwazi

Property: Ocean Reef Hotel Zinkwazi
Address: 17 Magai Drive, Zinkwazi Beach, Zinkwazi Beach, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zinkwazi Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Zinkwazi Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Reef Hotel Zinkwazi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing