We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely!”
other travellers have booked this property
L'Orangerie
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
L'Orangerie
view looking down garden from mid way down Living room (80+sq metres & ample seating and space)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
L'Orangerie
view looking down garden from mid way down
Living room (80+sq metres & ample seating and space)
Living room - fireplace view - cosy in winter around log burner
kitchen between dining room and main sitting room
Dining Room next to kitchen - partial picture only - seats 18
Second sitting room - has bookcase, games, & 2nd DVD player
Upstairs triple single bedroom (about 50% of very cute room)
upstairs end en suite bedroom from window
upstairs end en suite bedroom towards window
Upstairs example of beamed double bedroom (about 50% of room wardrobes etc. in other 50%)
Example of spacious upstairs en-suite shower rooms
Downstairs Double En suite Bedroom - Walnut Art Deco furniture
Complimentary bikes for use by guests
Plenty of room to relax and enjoy the gardens
Inside our 300 year old 'Wendy House'
Andrew at the helm with large BBQ steaks
Colourful blooms in the gardens - all year round
Kayaking in river Orne nearby at Pont d'Ouilly
Up close to the 'Mulberry Harbour' at sandy Arromanches beach
Garden view - 'gin & tonic' snicket
Another quiet corner - nice and private
Sunset view looking down the valley from the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
La Foret-Auvray, Orne, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The meals provided were amazing
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and cleanliness of the gite and grounds
Liked least: The size of the wine glasses!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
777Texas
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful property; exceeded our (very high) expectations!”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We rented L'Orangerie the last days of June and up to July 13th, 2013. During a one week period, 2 of our sons and their families joined us, for a total of 14 persons, including 2 teenagers and 5 children. There was something for everyone to do; not one "Im bored" comment from kids or teens. They spent their days walking to the village, hiking the hills, playing in the gardens- including the darling playhouse- or in animated soccer games in the field. Adults gravitated to the different sitting areas within the gardens, enjoying what one of our sons described as a true garden of Eden. One evening a bonfire was lit in the field with Andrew's help and kids and adults enjoyed smores and roasted marshmellows. We somehow managed to pry ourselves from the grounds for visits to Mont St. Michel, to Honfleur and to the beaches, all within easy driving distance..
The house itself was very comfortable, spacious enough to accomodate our large group with room to spare. Dinner each night was a wonderful experience. The kitchen was well equiped and we could all sit together at the large dining room table. On two occassions we had delicious meals catered by Jeanette and Andrew.
J and A are very responsive and caring landlords; one example: just prior to leaving for a daytrip we informed Andrew that the clothes washer had stopped working. When we got home late afternoon, a brand new washer had been installed!
In summary, we would return to L'Orangerie in a heartbeat. In fact, we're juggling our 2014 vacation schedule to see if we can do just that.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location and the house itself. The owners are wonderful, anticipating every need.
Liked least: Cool weather the first few days of our stay, but weather improved quickly.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2013
Wow - how gratifying it is as a property owner to read such a complimentary review. We work hard to get it right, and reading how much this is appreciated, makes it all worthwhile.

We thoroughly enjoyed meeting this truly lovely professional American couple and their equally great family. To use their own words, we would welcome them back 'in a heartbeat' and we very much hope to see them again in 2014. This review has made our day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S
Great Eccleston, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"paradise"”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

a most wonderful place to stay. the accommodation is fantastic luxuriously comfortable and spotlessly clean. The hosts Jeanette and Andrew are the most welcoming people. We are six gentlemen who go trout fishing to france every year and we like quality comfort and to say L'Orangerie has got it is an understatement. we shall definitely be returning there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 May 2013 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great, self-contained property for large group - with enough space for all
Liked least: you do need a car to get anywhere - but then that may be what you are after...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$401
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing