We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous cottage!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Portknockie, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Kirstyhea...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cottage!”
Reviewed 27 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic week away at Slater's cottage. We enjoyed exploring the area and the weather was very good to us. The cottage was the best we've ever stayed in. It had absolutely everything we needed. The extra benefits of a log burner, coffee machine and extra toys for the boys to amuse themselves with was incredible, including a Playstation and games. The cottage was cosy, beds were very comfy and there was loads of hot water for showers. The boys loved counting the lovehearts in the house. It's the wee things that matter most. The chippy is genuinely the best we've ever had. It was hard work tearing ourselves away from the cosy and comfy cottage of a morning but Moray and Aberdeenshire are worth exploring. Amazing beaches and lovely villages to explore. Plenty of ice-cream shops too. We'd love to visit again soon. We thoroughly enjoyed our break. Many thanks to the owner, Mark who couldn't have been more accommodating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable well equipped accommodation”
Reviewed 22 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is extremely well equipped and tastefully decorated. It is warm and welcoming - with an extremely generous welcome pack - situated in a central location in the village, handy for the pub, chip shop, and shop/PO. I stayed for a week with my sons and our elderly springer spaniel. We would definitely come back to Slaters as it is one of the best self catering cottages we have stayed in, in this area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Welcome pack
Liked least: Wifi signal was intermittent - and no phone signal
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jagnew393
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fabulous cottage and we felt at home.”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Slaters Cottage for the last week in September and was maid to feel really welcome.We were met by Mark the owner who showed us around and had even organised a welcome pack for us which we thought was a nice touch.The cottage was superb with everything you need.Very cosy and warm every detail had been covered.We would certainly recommend this property to anyone who likes their home comforts.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Slater's, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. It is wonderful to hear everything you needed was available for you there, plus the welcome pack certainly sounds like an extra treat! We will be sure to pass your comments along to the owner and hope you return again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
princess...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite Coastal Retreat”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Slater's is a beautiful and immaculately presented cottage that I am delighted to recommend to anyone. The cottage itself is beautifully decorated. The bedrooms are all great sizes and the beds are extremely comfy! The owner, goes above and beyond to make the experience great, from the generous welcome pack on arrival to providing information on local attractions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Nothing,
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabitathe...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely house and location for me and my 2 grown up daughters. Beautifully presented and spacious - the house was perfect for the 3 of us and would easily cope with more people. The wood burning stove was a delight and the kitchen was easy to use (great coffee machine!). Mark was fantastic - lovely, unexpected welcome pack of breakfast items and goodies on arrival and he even re-confirmed our boat trip as there was patchy mobile signal in the village. A charming, friendly owner. The location is outstanding .... beautiful beach walks, and the boat trip on Gemini Explorer from nearby Buckie is highly recommended. The pod of dolphins we saw was beautiful :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy beds & woodburning fire
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lightfoot...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An extremely nice place to relax after a long day exploring.”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The house is beautifully finished , spacious and situated a minutes walk from the coast. The children loved the choice of bedrooms and the layout of the cottage. We had everything we required for the week, including the owner's help when required. Very friendly and approachable. The coastline is stunning and Portknockie is a good base for access to other beautiful places, Cullen,situated a mile up the coast (it's better to walk along the coast from Portknockie than drive),and Lossiemouth,which had one of the nicest beaches I have visited.
It is quiet in Portknockie,but there is plenty to see and do. Everyone is very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The local chip shop is as good as it gets.
This was our first trip to Scotland,but won't be our last.
Overall,Slaters cottage and the entire holiday exceeded our expectations. We shall definitely be returning and the kids loved it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarnzy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic location for a peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Having recently spent a lovely week staying in this charming cottage which is full of character, I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a cosy, relaxed atmosphere. Ample space and good sized rooms. The owners have ensured that it is welcoming and have gone the extra mile when it comes to attention to detail.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay at Slater's, we are so pleased you had a lovely relaxing break there. We will be sure to pass your compliments along to the owner and hope you return to enjoy the place all over again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing