We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If Failte means Welcome, we want to be welcomed...”
other travellers have booked this property
plenty parking right at the door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
plenty parking right at the door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
plenty parking right at the door
a 4 star VisitScotland property
a warm welcome awaits
a large comfy corner sofa
be sure to read previous guests comments and leave your own tips for future guests too
all fuel supplied, perfect for a cosy winter break
light airy hallway, with lounge, main bathroom and master bedroom
quality DENBY tableware
great welcome hamper so you needn't worry about food for your first night and breakfast the next day
great welcome hamper included, tailored to every guest
fully fitted dining kitchen with quality kitchenware by DENBY and your very own NESSPRESSO machine
fncy a coffee?
your very own NESPRESSO machine with a great variety to choose from
family bathroom with separate shower, separate bath, underfloor heating
DUCK ISLAND toiletries throughout
waterfall head and flexible hose in shower
super-king master bedroom with feature stone wall, Egyptian cotton sheets
super comfy super king sized, with Egyptian cotton bedding
ensuite with large walk in shower
oak finishing's throughout
upstairs hallway
snug with sofa bed
full sized single beds x 2
relax in our lovely 6 seat, 1 lounger hot tub
picnic table or bench depending on what your doing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Portknockie, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
esingnrai...
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If Failte means Welcome, we want to be welcomed again!”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

At first I was concerned that being an attached property, in a town, and having neighbors overlooking, we might not feel as if we were away. That was dispelled the first day, when we didn't hear a car pass, and everything was so lovely and quiet inside and out. The town is perfectly situated for walking and exploring caves, cliffs and beaches. We love rock pools, and there was ample opportunity for that. The kids adopted the TV room, which they called their "Chill out" room. There were plenty of movie and TV choices, as well as comfy beds and lovely decor. Little niceties like a super king en suite, rain showers, heated tile floors in bathrooms, toiletries in the bathrooms, LG smart TVs, Denby dishes, and nespresso machine with beautiful gas hob made our week more of a treat. We chose this property because of the hot tub, and we were not disappointed! Everything was beautifully clean and well looked after. We had a few sunny days, and on the days that weren't, we were happy to stay in. We always have to stay somewhere that is NOT pet-friendly, as our daughter has allergies to animals. This was perfect. They even catered for our gluten free/dairy free children in the welcome basket!
There were 4 bikes and helmets to use, but we didn't need to, as ours were happy walking. Wullie was so friendly and helpful, we weren't lacking in anything! We hope we can come back in the future and would recommend this to anyone wanting a quiet place, but well within range of gorgeous Scottish scenery.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Thanks for the lovely review, we're so glad you had a great time and enjoyed all the cottage and area has to offer, it would be great to see you all again, thanks so much
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen M
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful and Perfect”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

After arriving from a long drive we opened the door and were truly wowed by this beautiful and greatly equipped cottage. The super king sized bed in the master bedroom was perfect as was the en suite. The children loved their bedrooms and the snug where they could watch tv on their own. The hot tub was a high light too, to relax after a day of activities. Bath towels provided were a great help too. The kitchen is super equipped with beautiful crockery and plenty of extras when we had visitors. The coffee machine was wonderful.
The walks around portknockie are suitable for all ages, the bikes are a great idea ( we didn't use them) but we will next time!!
The welcome pack of food and goodies was wonderful, it meant we didn't need to rush out to buy essentials. We'll definitely be booking again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing!!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
Thanks for a lovely review, we're really pleased you all enjoyed so many aspects of our cottage, it would be great to see you return, maybe in winter next time when you can enjoy the log burner, thanks again, Wullie & Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M
2 reviews
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Such a terrific place. Fantastic cottage in lovely part of Scotland. Amazing cottage. So well presented. Excellent amenities. Couldn't rate it highly enough! We will be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2016
thanks for the great review Andy, so glad you all enjoyed your stay and all the cottage and area has to offer, be great to see you return sometime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangstad
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent - we loved the place!”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our 3- generation family from Norway had a lovely stay at Fáilte. We were 8 persons together: 7 adults and 1 child of 2 years old. The house was excellent and Wullie and Alison did their best to make us feel welcome. We really enjoyed our stay at Fáilte: the Nespresso machine, the bathrobes, the hot tub, the welcomming basket, the bicycles and childseat, the well equipped kitchen, the comfortable couches, etc. - we loved it all. Our family has stayed in many very nice self-catering cottages in England, Scotland, France, Italy, Greece and Denmark through the last 15 years, and this is definitely the best place we have stayed in ever! We highly recommend it!

There is a lot to explore in the area by foot, bicycle and by car: the Bow Fiddle Rock, the lovely lokal fish & chips-shop, the best ice-cream ever is homemade in the neighborvillage Cullen, Nessie in Loch Ness (sadly she was hiding when we were visiting), etc. We like to walk, and the coastal paths were good with a breathtaking view. Some very nice beaches in the neighborhood. Lot of birds - and some of us even observed dolphins.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2016
thanks for your lovely review and recommendation, it was great to meet all your family and we are really glad you enjoyed all the cottage and our local area had to offer, it was great to welcome you all and would be great to see you all return again someday, lovely that some of you saw the dolphins which are very famous along the coastline, thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macjanice
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top Notch.”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Spent a great week away with friends and family in this beautiful spacious Holiday home. It had Everything we needed and more for a party size of eight.
The owners, Willie and Allison have thought of every little comfort that is needed to make a holiday feel luxurious and special, if I give away to much it will ruin the little surprises that awaits you.. 10 out of 10. Trust me you won't be disappointed.
Portknockie itself is a lovely little village and the people are so friendly and welcoming.
The local Inn is worth a visit too with its lovely owner Alan, family and friends.
Great tasting fish and chip shop so leave your diet at home. Lol.
All in all, it feels very safe and child friendly as there are plenty of paths for cycling and walking nearby and a great place to return home to at the end of your day out and about to rest and relax. Thanks again Wullie and Allison for having great sensitivity to people's needs on holiday. Hope to return to your 'Failte' sometime soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2016
Thanks for the great review, we're delighted you enjoyed the cottage so much and all that is available in the area, really appreciate your kind feedback, hopefully won't be long and you'll be back at Failte
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“First class accommodation”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Spent a great week at this property and although the weather wasn't great our teenage boys were fully entertained with the technology available in the cottage. Everything was finished to a high standard. Kitchen has everything you could need and more including a fantastic coffee machine which we wish we had at home. There is plenty to do in the surrounding area and the scenery is nothing short of spectacular. We would hope to return someday and would have no hesitation in recommending 'Failte' to anyone.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2016
thanks for the lovely review, glad you enjoyed all the cottage had to offer in spite of the weather, be great to see you all back again and we appreciate your recommendation
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatalieWi...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay.”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The cottage has been done to a high standard and everything has been thought of. The owners go above and beyond without being obtrusive. Really couldn't ask for a better holiday let. Will definitely be booking again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2016
thanks for your lovely feedback, we aim to please and it would be great to see you all again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing