We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well-appointed and comfortable cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tigh na Cala

'Tigh na Cala' 4 bedroom, 2 bathroom detached stone built cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Tigh na Cala' 4 bedroom, 2 bathroom detached stone built cottage.
Living room Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
'Tigh na Cala' 4 bedroom, 2 bathroom detached stone built cottage.
Living room
Living room
Spacious living room to comfortably seat seven.
Dining Kitchen with dining table.
Kitchen
kitchen
Dining kitchen
Utility room with washing machine, tumble dryer and drying rack.
Downstairs shower room with shower cubicle, toilet and wash handbasin.
Downstairs bathroom
Master bedroom upstairs with super king sized bed with cast iron fireplace.
Downstairs bedroom with king size bed.
Upstairs family bathroom with shower over bath.
Upstairs bathroom
Twin Bedroom with sea views.
Spacious twin room
Upstairs hallway.
A welcome pack awaits your arrival together with fresh flowers.
Detached cottage with off road parking and garage.
Secure walled garden for children and pets.
Garden with BBQ and outside table and chairs for sunny days. Dog and child safe.
Harbour in Portknockie.
From Portknockie, one of the coastal walks leading to the gold sandy beach at Cullen.
Cullen golf course looking towards Portknockie with walks along the coast.
Another walk from Portknockie to the next coastal village of Findochty.
Sunset over Portknockie looking towards the Caithness Coast.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Portknockie, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
RosieCFle...
Fleet
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well-appointed and comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is a lovely cottage which is well equipped and furnished with some extra touches that were appreciated. A convenient base for a variety of holidays in this area. Walking, cycling, beaches, golf, castles.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accommodates large family comfortably
Liked least: Sitting room design difficult for all to see TV at once, if desired. Parking area difficult for large car with neighbours cars close by.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aileencoo...
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

First class accommodation. Best we have stayed in.Everything was perfect. Two dogs enjoyed themselves

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie580...
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fabulous cottage”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Just home from a wonderful stay at Tigh na cala, Portknockie. The cottage is fantastic; comfy and cosy and plenty of space. We stayed as 4 adults, 1 child and a baby. The children were well catered for with a cot, highchair and stair gates. The cottage has every facility needed and the beds were so comfortable, I especially loved the superking bed!! The location was perfect with a local shop and excellent fish and chip shop nearby. We were visiting family that live in Buckie so only a few miles away which was perfect. Excellent communication from the owners Stuart and Sharon, I would highly reccommend. I can't wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
senga_gil...
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Didn't want to come home”
Reviewed 5 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We booked our break away for my birthday,we stay in Elgin but could have been miles away.
The owners kindly left me a birthday card and a bottle of wine of which was lovely thank you .
We all had a lovely week including the dog,lovely to open the door and 2secs you can see the sea.
Everything about this house was beautiful,the beds were so comfy and the pillows were too,every thing you could ask for warm and cosy.
We booked only a week in advance and the owner Sharon was most helpful with quick replies.
We would stay here again with out a doubt and highly recommend it .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Every thing.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetteFB
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at the cottage last week and had a lovely time. The harbour, excellent chip shop, local spar shop all less than 5 mins away. Lovely views to be had from the cliffs and some beautiful places to visit. The cottage was well appointed and suited our extended family. Lovely fresh decor in all of the rooms and such comfortable beds. We will certainly return and I would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: huge comfortable bed
Liked least: seats in lounge just a bit low for older members of group
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel E
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Tigh na Cala is in a beautiful location within a short walking distance of the harbour in Portknockie. The accommodation is exceptional - better equipped than any we have ever stayed in before. Immaculate throughout the whole property, it made a great base to explore this part of Scotland, although you don't need to travel far to see wonderful things, such as dolphins and seals, osprey and seagulls. We stayed in the cottage with my parents and there was more than enough room for all of us to enjoy being together but also for privacy. The dog was in her element! The beaches locally are the best we have seen in years - and we would recommend the forest / beach walks at Rose Isle, a short drive down the coast towards Burghead.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely fantastic cottage!!!”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This was our fourth stay and each time the cottage has been spotlessly clean and welcoming. The surrounding area is just a treasure chest, we find something new each visit and the local fish and chip shop is a must! Best I have been to! Stuart and Sharon do a wonderful job with this cottage, which even the local people say is the best. The local people are very friendly and welcoming. I would not hesitate to recommend Tigh na Cala, to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing