We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First class accommodation”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Portknockie, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gordon M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“First class accommodation”
Reviewed 28 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Spent a great week at this property and although the weather wasn't great our teenage boys were fully entertained with the technology available in the cottage. Everything was finished to a high standard. Kitchen has everything you could need and more including a fantastic coffee machine which we wish we had at home. There is plenty to do in the surrounding area and the scenery is nothing short of spectacular. We would hope to return someday and would have no hesitation in recommending 'Failte' to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash_Gallo...
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful coastal cottage”
Reviewed 29 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Our group of 5 adults and 1 infant spent a week at this beautiful cottage. We felt comfortably housed with more than enough sleeping, dining and living space to accommodate us all.
The cottage has been well cared for and has all the amenities you would expect in your own home and then some. These amenities and the owners attention to detail make this a 6 star rental in my eyes! It has a light and airy feel you come to long for at a coastal location.
For travelers with children this is the place for you. Upon request there is a cot(aka playpen/pack and play) for your babe to sleep in. They have a pram(stroller) with a cozy "sleeping bag" insert, high chair and even enough bikes with baby seat for the whole family to go for a family outing.
If a member of your party has a disability that restricts their access the cottage could still be the place for you. There is a master suite and bath on the main floor, as well as the living room. There are a few steps up into the kitchen which would restrict access.
Its a short walk to the harbor. Make sure to stop by Bow fiddle rock and if you feel like a nice coastal walk then just keep walking to Cullen! You may even see some bottle nosed dolphins playing off shore, we did! The beach is long and lovely and the town of Cullen is a nice place to visit. If you keep to the coastal walk after Cullen you will come to some stone stairs and eventually to a little known ruined castle on the cliff side. Well worth the walk!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The king sized bed!
Liked least: Ummm... nothing?
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaBank...
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were the first guests to Failte in July/August 2015 and loved EVERYTHING about this property. It really is first class accommodation with "no stone left unturned!" The owners have thought of everything you could possibly need for a fantastic holiday in the idyllic village of Portknockie, and so, so much more. My personal favourite as a self-confessed coffee snob is the fab Nespresso machine (which saves me taking my own on tour!), but most importantly the layout of the property, together with the decor and interior fittings of every room, were second to none with regard to quality and comfort. Our boys loved using the variety of bikes available at the property, and hooray for the fab free wifi too!

Failte is only a few steps walk from one of the vantage points of Portknockie overlooking the beautiful harbour - a lovely spot to relax and enjoy the spectacular views of the Moray Firth!

We'll be back, of course, and have already booked this property for two holidays in 2016, and are counting the hours until our next visit.

You won't be disappointed, no way!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too hard to choose!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zorro151
Arbroath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“excellent”
Reviewed 23 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed for couple of weeks after bad storms in north east working for BT.Wullie could not do enough for us we were well looked after all the mod cons were great to many to mention but bikes were great addition we had bike run to buckie and back could not fault one thing about moray view.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all mod cons
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry H
Fife
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Attention to detail in luxury cottage.”
Reviewed 25 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage was a real find and doesn't fail to impress with luxury furnishings and fittings and incredible attention to detail to make this a 5-star holiday. Wullie and Alison used special little touches and technological advances to turn this cottage holiday into a real treat ... especially for teenagers and those who like to keep up with modern technology with regards to music, tv, internet, playstation, coffee etc. There are also bikes to explore the local area and keep fit at the same time. We were impressed by the welcome pack and the fact that the owners are obviously proud of their cottage and do all they can to make visitors feel very welcome indeed. On a more basic level it was very clean, warm and inviting. Definitely one to recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of furnishings
Liked least: Cant find anything that I disliked.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2015
Wow! it is amazing that you had such a great holiday! Thank you ever so much for sharing your feedback with us. To hear that you had a "5 star holiday" is incredible and what we always hope our guests experience whilst away - we couldn't be happier you were so impressed! We hope that you come back and visit us again soon, we'd love to have you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;