We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent property and location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ballycurrin Lodge

Ballycurrin Lodge over looking Lough Corrib
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ballycurrin Lodge over looking Lough Corrib
Aerial View Your Own Boat (May to Oct)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Ballycurrin Lodge over looking Lough Corrib
Aerial View
Your Own Boat (May to Oct)
Front View
Slate Bed Pool/Snooker Table
Sun Room
Living / TV room & Kitchen
View fro Kitchen
Front Garden
Bedroom 1 (KIng)
Bedroom 2 (King)
Bedroom 3 (King)
Bedroom 4 (Twin)
Main Bathroom
KItchen
Horse Riding in Spiddal, Connemara
Ballycurrin Lighthouse (in winter)
Belclare 'Point-to-Point' Racing
Killary Harbour/Fjord Famine Walk
Catch of the Day!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Headford, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
jsneddon
Hamilton, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent property and location”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week in July - two families. The house is fabulous. Large lounge and open plan kitchen with dining area and a separate lounge area with pool table. The kitchen is new and not yet updated on the pictures but well stocked with everything you'll need. The sofas were super comfy in both reception areas.
The view from both reception rooms is spectacular looking straight onto Lough Corrib.
The beds and bedding were really comfy and there are two huge bedrooms with two further good size doubles, one with twin beds.
Storage is available in all the bedrooms. Two bathrooms were ideal when there is a large party and these both have been recently refurbished.
Lots of indoor games and binoculars available for wet days. And a guitar which was very handy for the musical people in the party.
The garden is huge with bikes and toys available for the kids and a secure gate so they can run around safely. There is a shed full of bikes and fishing rods which we made use of. The BBQ was used every day and charcoal is easily purchased from Joyces supermarket in Headford.
Satellite wifi is available and you can upgrade for €20 which lasted us partway through the week due to us being indoors with some rainy weather. However, it is fast and once you've used up your allowance you still have BB albeit at a slow speed.
The boat and dock were just outside the main gate which we used for fishing daily. The older kids (and adults) even went into the crystal clear water for a swim even though the weather wasn't great. But if it was hot, we would've been in with the kids every day.
The house is a few minutes from Headford which has all the amenities you will need. People are super friendly and we found a great taxi driver for a trip into Galway one of the nights (€40) who collected us from the house and dropped us off and collected us from the property. The walk to Ballycurrin lighthouse is lovely and the kids loved scrambling over the rocks to get a closer look. We went walking a few times and met some lovely locals along the way.
Utilities are very reasonable and we were charged €7.50 per bag for rubbish removal. We did recycle what we could but there didn't seem to be anywhere to take general waste. Happy to pay the charge.
Overall the house was fantastic for our needs and Dave couldn't have been more helpful and available when we needed him. He sent lots of information before our visit too. Great service, lovely property and brilliant location. I'd definitely return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConorB46
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely house in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed here with three of my friends to celebrate a 40th birthday and we were not disappointed. The house was clean, spacious and comfortable with a modern kitchen and, of critical importance for our stay, a games room equipped with pool table! There was also a HiFi system with line-in for our choice of music, along with a WiFi connection.
The owner (Dave) was very helpful and provided comprehensive visitor information, both in terms of directions and facilities available to us at the house. The location is idyllic with magnificent views of Lough Corrib, assuming the weather plays its part! The house is also within a short (~10 min) drive of Headford, where there is a very large supermarket (Joyce's). It is also less than 30 mins from Ballinrobe.
All in all, the stay was comfortable and extremely enjoyable and I hope to find another excuse to visit in the near future!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super Holiday”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Weather not great but made little difference to a superb holiday.View from the sun room was stunning. On the days which were better we used the bikes and the boat provided for picnics. Flannerys of Ballinrobe excellent food.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location right on the lake
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C
Herent, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect holiday”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Ballycurrin Lodge for one week in August with our 3 kids. It was absolutely fantastic and feels like you've been invited to someone's home.
The location is superb, right on the lake with great views from the house. We used the rowing boat and fishing rods every day - didn't catch more than a couple of perch, but the experience was increadibly relaxing.
The house is very well equiped, We loved the snooker/pool table and the open fire in the evenings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly P
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Severe Disappointment”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
5
people found this review helpful

The only positive thing we can say about this property is that it has a very nice view, there the positive ends. The fact that the property was built in the 1970's should have given us a clue. The property is in serious need of an update. The house has an overwhelming odor problem, it is so bad that we had a hard time dealing with it. The furniture is worn, carpet is old, dirty ,lots of spiders, they need to spray.... I'm not sure why people have given this property such a good review, it was the worst place we have ever stayed in. We booked this property for 3 nights but decided we could not stand it any longer and left after the 2nd night. We were really looking forward to spending time here...all we can say is Beware!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The condition of property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenD43
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing holiday in stunning location”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Ballycurrin Lodge 24-29 May 2015 . The accommodation is set on the edge of Lough Corrib - views are stunning . We are family of 5 with 3 children aged 14 ,11 ,9. It was great to have use of the rowing boat and fishing rods. The lodge is really well equipped - I love places where they keep condiments etc left over from other guests so you don't have to start shopping from scratch. The pool table and films were a great addition. My favourite room was the conservatory 'sun room ' - great place to sit and relax with fab view of the lough and mountains . The lodge is about 4 miles from Headford which has good supermarket and places to eat. We visited Galway , Salthills, Spiddael , Cong and Westport as well as spending a couple of days enjoying the accommodation and walking to Ballycurrin lighthouse. Definitely a place to recharge those batteries !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EimearDun...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning setting in a great house”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a fabelous break away staying in Ballycurrin. The house is so spacious with everything you could want and more! At night the open fire was so relaxing and during the day the views of the lake were lovely.

Cong is a short drive away so was great to walk around Ashford castle and Galway is only 25 mins in the car.
Can't wait for our next trip down :-))

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing