We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning countryside setting with pool”
Les Hirondelles pool, patio and open hangar.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Les Hirondelles pool, patio and open hangar.
Pool with views to the left over fields and woodland. Patio and Pool.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Les Hirondelles pool, patio and open hangar.
Pool with views to the left over fields and woodland.
Patio and Pool.
Al fresco dining under the covered hanger.
Les Hirondelles from the lower garden.
Garden leading to hanger.
One of the views from the pool.
One of the views from the walking track.
Les Hirondelles in the distance from the opposite hill.
A drink with a view.
Lounge.
Lounge
Fully fitted dining kitchen.
Mater en-suite bedroom.
Large double bedroom
Large double bedroom
Spacious twin bedroom
En suite twin bedroom on ground floor
Large family bathroom with separate shower, bath, toilet and basin.
Stairs leading to landing.
Views from the top paddock overlooking the valley.
Our well and the views over the sunflower field beyond.
Candles under the open hanger on a still summers evening.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Montmoreau-Saint-Cybard, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nickygunn
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning countryside setting with pool”
Reviewed 29 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

A beautifully converted barn overlooking the glorious French countryside. The Gite is suitable for the whole family and has the benefit of its own pool, which was amazing to climb into after a busy day sight seeing. Close enough to town, we were able to pick up fresh bread and pastries in the morning for breakfast whilst sitting on the side terrace admiring the view. Evenings can be spent on the back deck watching the sun set with a chilled drink. A great location, gorgeous house and the owners were kind and helpful, we loved the welcome basket on arrival! Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2017
Hi there - many thanks for taking the time to review Les Hirondelles, it's very much appreciated. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and hope to welcome you back again in the future. Have a lovely summer.
Best wishes
Lesley & Toby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beth g
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Stop searching”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I was tasked with organising a family holiday for 10. I searched the internet for hours trying to find somewhere suitable and settled with Les Hirondelles. It turned out to be a fantastic choice! The gite is clean, comfortable and suitable for all ages. The kitchen is well equiped, the pool is a good size and gated/alarmed to ensure the kids were safe. The real highlight for us was the covered outside area. We barbequed most nights and ate outside taking in the stunning views while watching the sun go down. Lesley and Toby were so friendly, communicative and helpful. We were lucky to have some great weather too so had days out to Royan beach, La Jemaye lake and a few local towns. We really couldn't have asked for a better week and have made memories to last a lifetime. Stop searching, this is a real find!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
Dear Beth, many thanks for your lovely review, its very much appreciated. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and had such a lovely time as a family. We hope to welcome you back one day. Have a lovely summer.
Lesley & Toby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrQ8287MH
County Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Les Hirondelles is an amazing place to stay. Comfortable and well equipped. The view is spectacular either early in the morning or as the sun sets. We had a fantastic time baking with figs, plums and apples from the garden. There is plenty to see in the nearby villages, if you can tear yourself away from the house and pool.
Lesley and Toby are friendly, relaxed and very helpful.
We would definitely recommend Les Hirondelles.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2016
Hi, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, its very much appreciated. It was lovely to meet you all and we really hope you will make it back to see us again in the future.
Kind regards
Lesley & Toby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fentoneng...
England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional, relaxing, rejuvinating ....”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a real find. A great converted farm building down a quiet farm track outside a lovely French market town. What could be better! We were a group of six, including three children, although the property can accommodate 12. We therefore had oodles of space, both inside and out. The property is just so lovely, very clean and with all modern conveniences. The views across unspoilt countryside were breath-taking, and we all spent long evenings just looking out. Our hosts, Lesley and Toby were on hand, when needed, to offer advice on the local area. They couldn't have been more helpful. The local town has all necessary shops, including a good supermarket; but do try the local bakeries - just great. The pool was also great, and the kids just loved it. All very safe and with great views. All in all a great stay and one which we are looking forward to returning to. Thanks Lesley and Toby for a very relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility
Liked least: I wish I had book 2, rather than 1 week
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Hi Andy, many thanks for your lovely review. It was great to see you all enjoying the property so much. We really hope you will make it back to see us before too long. Have a great rest of summer.
Lesley & Toby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning gite providing everything for a large group”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week at Les Hirondelles - a party of ten (four adults, two teenagers, and four children aged 11-3) so quite a mix to satisfy.

The bedrooms offer a mix of set-ups (doubles/twins/bunk beds) which gave us great flexibility to suit sleeping arrangements, the kitchen/lounge area is big/open plan which allowed us to socilaise and cook freely, and the decking area and pool were both big enough for all ten of us to use at the same time with ease. At no point did we feel like we were on top of each other, which given the size of the group was really noticeable.


There are many great things about this gite but a stand out for me was the hangar at the back which means you can eat outside as a large group even if the weathers not great, overlooking beautiful French countryside for miles, as does the pool and decking area.

Les Hirondelles has been renovated and furnished to a really high standard, and has a great family bathroom, two en-suites and a downstairs toilet to cater for a big group comfortably.

Add to this two extremely helpful, warm hosts in Lesley and Toby and you've got an A* property if looking for a week or more to relax, socialise and soak up the sun. Excellent property and owners - many thanks for a wonderful week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
Dear Mike
Many, many thanks for taking the time to review our property. We are so pleased that you had such an enjoyable time with us and enjoyed Les Hirondelles to the full. It really was lovely meeting you all and we hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Many thanks again, Lesley & Toby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
383helen
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a great find for a holiday.”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A wonderful holiday with extended family ages from 8 to 77. Most relaxing holiday ever for me and others. Had all of our meals on the terrace watching the sun go down. Very good accommodation, excellent facilities and well equipped, good value for money. Lovely area of France to be in, plenty to do if you can tear yourself away from the pool and loungers. Good area for children to play in as well as the pool which was in constant use. Definitely recommend this particularly for families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet and relaxation with stunning views.
Liked least: Having to go home.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Dear Helen
Thank you so much for your lovely review, it really is very much appreciated. We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your holiday so much and that the gite matched your every expectation and hopefully more. We hope you will have some lovely memories and have a lovely summer.
Lesley & Toby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon A
1 review
“Fantastic gite for a family holiday!”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This was our first family holiday abroad and we couldn't have been happier with our choice - a beautiful gite full of character and charm in a lovely, peaceful location, yet only 5 mins from the local town with a big supermarket. The area is full of beautiful villages to explore, in particular Aubeterre which is only 10 mins away. We were lucky enough to get sunshine for the whole week and ate outside under the hanger every day. The decked area was a great place to relax, read a book and take in the views. We have 2 young kids and really appreciated the safety gate provided for the stairs and fenced off/alarmed swimming pool. Lesley and Toby were ideal hosts, friendly and helpful. We wouldn't hesitate to go back to this fantastic place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2016
Thanks so much for your lovely review, its very much appreciated. We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay here and you found the gite suitable for all three generations. We would love to welcome you all back some time in the future. Have a lovely summer.
Lesley & Toby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing