We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something special!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stampriet Historical Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Stampriet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Something special!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

brilliant food, a individual guided tour through the house and it´s picturesque collection of old furniture, radios, tools and even 1920s original medicine... couldn´t be any better, even the rooms are in style. Some with more and some with less decoration, but all roomy and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gastehuis, General Manager at Stampriet Historical Guesthouse, responded to this review, 22 January 2015
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it.

Happy 2015 to you and hope to see you again sometime in the near future.

Greetings from the Stampriet Historical Guesthouse Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    26
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
39
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Great Brak River, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

Our fist trip into Africa, and after a 6000km drive we ended up in Stampriet. Just the sound of the name made us want to go and have a look. Its so great when you have an idea of a place, and when you get there, its even more than what you had in mind. Our hosts were absolutely fantastic. I have no choice but to agree with MaxZell. Nothing was too much for them. We had a wonderfull braai and tasted the best Springbok wors that exists on earth, made by Petro herself! The rooms are decorated beautifully, just so to soot the name. Everthing is neat and clean, with much attention to detail. The swimming pool was perfect to cool off in. We could download all our e-mails and start the rest of our trip fresh the next day.
We carry very dear memories of our stay there, and will definately be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeaJurgens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gastehuis, General Manager at Stampriet Historical Guesthouse, responded to this review, 22 January 2015
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it.

Happy 2015 to you and hope to see you again sometime in the near future.

Greetings from the Stampriet Historical Guesthouse Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strand, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Thank you so much ! What a wonderful stay. The food was amazing! The people friendly and accommodating. The rooms are perfect! The place is is perfect for weddings! Enjoyed our stay wish we could stay longer.It really feels like a home away from home ;)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarynaMicklem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gastehuis, General Manager at Stampriet Historical Guesthouse, responded to this review, 22 January 2015
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it.

Happy 2015 to you and hope to see you again sometime in the near future.

Greetings from the Stampriet Historical Guesthouse Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capetown
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

As driving in to Stampriet, It seems we made a mistake to stay over until, you drive up the driveway of the Historical Guesthouse, its like driving into a Oasis in a desert, green everywhere, ponds and huge trees . WOW its beautiful, with a warm Welcome from Kobus and Petro.A large lapa and 3 braai facilities, fully stock bar and food to die for. I will definitely recommend this Oasis to anybody, On our way back down to Cape Town we stop there for an extra night, just to relax abit before back to reality.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gastehuis, General Manager at Stampriet Historical Guesthouse, responded to this review, 22 January 2015
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it.

Happy 2015 to you and hope to see you again sometime in the near future.

Greetings from the Stampriet Historical Guesthouse Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

I had visited Namibia for the very first time and was delightfully suprised when we stopped over at this historical guest house. Immersed in lush vegetation,flowing ponds and shaded by towering green trees the guest house is situated on a hill with breath-taking views. The facilities provided were a sparkling blue pool, large fully-equiped bar, fantastic braai facilities, secure parking, pool table, a complimentary coffee and biscut table, a magnificant thatched lapa and endless green lawns. The remarkable stone buildings including our room, was wrapped in a timeless ambience, each beautifully decorated with historical artifacts. The main building provided an amazing experience, history hung on every wall and a interesting souviner table was on display where I could purchase items of my choice. I was taken aback by the very friendly hosts and hospitality, nothing was to much for them. Not to mention the mouth watering breakfast, lunch and dinner(on request) we were served. The food was some of the best I had ever eaten!! An aroma of freshly baked goodies lingered in the air as you enter the lobby. It was a royal treat to discover this establishment, a gem in Namibia! :) Thank you very much to our hosts, we will be back! Max

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxZell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gastehuis, General Manager at Stampriet Historical Guesthouse, responded to this review, 22 January 2015
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it.

Happy 2015 to you and hope to see you again sometime in the near future.

Greetings from the Stampriet Historical Guesthouse Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballito, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We had the pleasure of staying there on our way from Kgalagardi to Etosha on the 2-3/6/2012, with the main reason for my chosing this place, was that I could not beleive that anyone in hositality industry could be as rude as mentiolned in earlier comments, and I wanted to meet them . What a supprise instead we met Kobus & Petro Hayman the new young owners, who took over the place in Dec 2011 and are presently trying to repair the damage done by the previous owners and mangement. Rooms very comfortable, hospitality and fare very good. Anyway Historical Guest House Stamprit is now worth stopping at, and everyone is welcomed.

Room Tip: We did not see all rooms but beleive they were all the same and siutated in same area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gastehuis, General Manager at Stampriet Historical Guesthouse, responded to this review, 22 January 2015
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it.

Happy 2015 to you and hope to see you again sometime in the near future.

Greetings from the Stampriet Historical Guesthouse Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umina Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We were on an accommodated safari from Cape Town and we were staying at Stampriet Historical Guesthouse overnight.
I think these 2 people have a problem with some "types" of people and arriving on a safari truck (a very comfortable one) I assumed put us in a 3rd class catagory. We were a group 8 educated people, 4 around 40 and 4 over 60 so definitely not young ones who were going to party.
I had a query (not a complaint) and was spoken to so rudely and then he turned on his heels and walked off leaving me just astounded. I was not the only one who had a problem with him and so our guide spoke to him but nothing was resolved.
At breakfast he did not speak and avoided our eye contact.
This man certainly should not be in the hospitality business.
I have no complain about the rooms and they were clean. Beward THERE IS NO AIR CONDITIONING unless its kept for different clientele.
In magazine I have read that it is good to watch the interaction between staff and management and vote with your dollars. Oh do watch the interaction at this place.........

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianne004500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gastehuis, General Manager at Stampriet Historical Guesthouse, responded to this review, 22 January 2015
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it.

Happy 2015 to you and hope to see you again sometime in the near future.

Greetings from the Stampriet Historical Guesthouse Management

''We are new Owners at Stampriet guesthouse From 2012"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stampriet
19.8 mi away
Kalahari Anib Lodge
Kalahari Anib Lodge
#1 of 8 in Mariental
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
23.4 mi away
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
0.5 mi away
Kalahari Farmhouse
Kalahari Farmhouse
#1 of 1 in Stampriet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
#3 of 8 in Sesriem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
210.2 mi away
Savanna Guest Farm
Savanna Guest Farm
#4 of 5 in Grunau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alte Kalkofen Lodge
Alte Kalkofen Lodge
#1 of 12 in Keetmanshoop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stampriet Historical Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stampriet Historical Guesthouse

Property: Stampriet Historical Guesthouse
Address: Hardap Region, 60km from Mariental, Stampriet, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Hardap Region > Stampriet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stampriet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in lush vegetation, flowing ponds and shaded by towering green trees the guest house is situated on a hill with breath-taking views. The facilities we provide is a sparkling blue pool, large fully- equipet bar, fantastic braai facilities, secure parking, pool table, a complimentary coffee table, Wi-Fi, jungle gym for kids, a magnificent thatched lapa and endless green lawns.The remarkable stone buildings including the rooms, is wrapped in a timeless ambience, each beautifully decorated with historical artifacts. The main building provide an amazing experience, history hung on every wall and an interesting souvenir table is on display where you can purchase items of your choice. You will be taken aback by the very friendly hosts and hospitality, nothing is to much for us. Not to mention the mouth watering breakfast, lunch, cakes and dinner(on request) you will be served. The food is the best! An aroma of freshly baked goodies lingered in the air as you enter the lobby. It is a royal treat to discover our establishment, a gem in Namibia! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Stampriet Historical Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing