We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Huntingdon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Huntingdon House
Ranked #1 of 2 Thyolo B&B and Inns
Berne
Level Contributor
323 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Most amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Huntingdon House is really a beautiful place - the setting - in the middle of the beautiful Satemwa Estate tea plantations - the house, the lovely staff, the wonderful food.

I stayed in the Chapel, wow - what a wonderful suite. The beautiful bathroom, the high ceiling, the lovely big patio. Just most beautiful.

The whole feeling of HH is very british colonial, but not stiff at all. Very very lovely staff, good food in great settings - on the patio for breakfast, in the courtyard for lunch and in the dining room with a chimney for dinner. Where Chip - the owner and a lovely gentleman - joined us.

Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank nathalieyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
48
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Huntingdon House in July 2011. The house is incredibly romantic and the grounds are beautiful and complete with monkeys running across the lawn. The staff are supurb, the food is delish and the views from the picnic spot are just stunning.
The house is a historic estate dating from the 1920's and surrounding by lush tea plantations. Chip the property owner is a delight to listen to over a glass of red wine in the evenings and the rooms are cosy and plush.
We stayed here in winter and, with the fires lit - it was just lovely. We also had the house to ourselves because of the fuel crisis in Malawi so got to play croquet on the lawn with G&Ts and live it up completely.
This is deservedly one of the best places to stay in Malawi if you're looking for a romantic treat and would be great fun if there was a large group of you. And if you're looking for a wedding location, this would be perfection!
Ahhh, writing this makes me want to go back ASAP!

Room Tip: The chapel room is BEAUTIFUL!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gummidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mondsee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed 3 nights in the lovely Huntigton House surrounded by tea plantage. Perfect location to get off - we enjoyed to walk in the tea and coffee plantages. The staff was very friendly and excellent hosts. Wonderful dinner with fire in the chimney.

Room Tip: Fathers room is just perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolfgang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

we are french and travelled about 3 weeks in Malawi
Our stop of 2 nights on july 8 and 9 in that lovely lodge was wonderful.
Beauty of landscape with tea plantation, comfort of the hotel and lovely rooms
fine and delicious cooking
kindness of hosts , with a particular mention to Gina and Veronika we did everything to help us as a luggage was missing at the airport....we thank them again a lot.
AND ALL STAFF IS WONDERFUL TOO
It was a great time in a wonderful place.
we recommand very much Huntington House .

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KARINECHRISTIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Huntingdon House and the Satemwa tea plantation are unique. We've stayed in dozens of places in Africa but to us Huntingdon house best captures the feel of old, colonial Africa. In the heart of Malawi you drive along a dirt track that cuts across stunning tea plantations and pull up to an unassuming house surrounded by well manicured lawns. The stuccoed exterior is ordinary but the interior is beautiful. Fireplaces, canopied beds, and writing desks open up to the traditional wraparound porch. Meals while simple are expertly cooked and served to each group of guests in a different part of the house preserved the feeling of intimacy and the feeling that you're a tea plantation owner living before the second world war. The managers, Marc and Gina, are professional and have trained the staff well ( and there are more staff than guests). We visited Satemwa while researching an upcoming travel book ( Tango in Tahiti) and while the property isn't as over the top luxurious as some we've visited it's beautiful, romantic and very well run. Don't miss a drive up to the hilltop picnic spot.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tangointahiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

We can't wait to come back! We had a wonderful stay! Upon arrival, we were warmly welcomed. We were with three young kids so we had two rooms (the nursery and the planter's room). The rooms are actually suites, so spacious, nicely decorated, including the beatiful bathtub.
They set up our dining in the nicely decorated dining room with lots of flower on the table (the staff really took his time to take of us! and made it special!). The dinner was delicious. We felt as if we were on honeymoon (with the kids)! For breakfast, I had the best pancake ever (with strawberry preserve).
The staff is really dedicated and we can't thank you more for making our stay so special!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kifarutwiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

My wife and I spent 2 wonderful days at Huntingdon House in February 2011. Gina and Marc were excellent hosts and the quality of service and food was very good. I have traveled in a number of African countries and this was one of the best places that I have stayed at. Had a most interesting visit to the tea factory on the estate. I will definitely try and return on my next visit to Malawi.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FuzzLoubser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thyolo
0.0 mi away
Kaya Mawa
Kaya Mawa
#1 of 1 in Likoma Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunbird Ku Chawe
Sunbird Ku Chawe
#1 of 2 in Zomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Blantyre Ryalls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa 33
Villa 33
#3 of 20 in Blantyre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Game Haven Lodge
Game Haven Lodge
#1 of 24 in Blantyre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kumbali Country Lodge
Kumbali Country Lodge
#1 of 46 in Lilongwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntingdon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingdon House

Property: Huntingdon House
Address: Satemwa Tea Estate | PO Box 6, Thyolo, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Southern Region > Thyolo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thyolo
Hotel Class:5 star — Huntingdon House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the most scenically beautiful region of Malawi, The Thyolo district forms the heart of Malawi's tea producing region with rolling hills of immaculately cultivated, emerald green plantations and some of the oldest estates in the country. With magnificent views of Mount Mulanje and the Lower Shire valley to the west, Satemwa enjoys a temperate climate of the Shire Highlands and relaxed ambiance of a by-gone era. Visitors to this corner of Malawi cannot but help to be caught up in the colonial magic of the area and diverse scenery which ranges from tropical evergreen forests to riverine thickets and rolling hills. Huntingdon House was built in the 1920's and the estate has been in the Cathcart Kay family for generations with members of the family still running the tea and coffee production of the estate. The grand old colonial style house has been tastefully restored as a joint venture between the Satemwa Tea Estate and the Ulendo Travel Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Huntingdon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntingdon House Malawi/Thyolo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing