We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderfull place, out of the world, for a rest, and cherish yourself”
Review of Huntingdon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Huntingdon House
Ranked #1 of 2 Thyolo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“a wonderfull place, out of the world, for a rest, and cherish yourself”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

went there for a day's out with my work colleagues and their families... we loved it,
food way delicious
the table was absolutely amazing... when arriving, we thought a wedding was being organized, before realizing the huge white table under the trees actually was for our "light lunch"

... I will definitively come back with my wife one of these days

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    24
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
50
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Huntingdon House is one of two things. It is either a magnificent old colonial tea house that takes guests back to the good old days; or it is a place that needs more investment and feels a bit tired and dated. There is no doubting the calm almost monastic tranquility; the superb food; manicured lawns and friendly service. We stayed in the huge chapel room which was wonderful - apparently it doubles as a honeymoon suite - and a candlelit dinner on the terrace outside seemed appropriate. We visited the tea factory for a tasting; and enjoyed a guided birdwalk from one of the Huntingdon House staff but couldn't help thinking that the link with the tea estate wasn't really joined up. Maybe that is what they want. The highlight of our visit was meeting Chips McKay Kay, the 84-year-old owner of Satemwa - who regailed some wonderful stories to us for half an hour. Huntingdon House is a lovely change of pace during a trip through Malawi and I enjoyed our stay very much - but not sure it will be to everyones taste....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Media1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingdonHouse000, Manager at Huntingdon House, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Hi Media1994,

Thank you for your review of Huntingdon House, we appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed a taste of the colonial lifestyle and had the opportunity to meet Mr Kay!

We look forward to your return one day.

Kindest Regards,

Huntingdon House Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed three nights and loved the place. We were lucky enough to stay in the Chapel, but were reliably informed that all rooms are good.

I am a long-established drinker of Malawian premium teas, especially the white teas, through Nothing But Tea. Still, I didn't realise when we booked here that we were staying at the very tea estate that produces the tea I have been drinking for years; Satemwa. If you are unable to visit the estate, I strongly recommend that you at least buy and try some of the Satemwa premium tea.

The walks around the gardens and the estate are magnificent. We also enjoyed the tea tasting (naturally). The coffee here (Satemwa also produce some of that) is also very good. Huntingdon is a great place from which to explore Mulanje mountain - we enjoyed a very special day exploring town and mountain. Real trekkers can spend a few days up the mountain.

The staff are delightful, stewarded by the slightly eccentric but delightful Anette, a former trans-African biker-chick (I kid you not), now married into the estate's Kay family, although husband Alex hid away at the tea factory. Indeed, eccentricity is part of the deal here and you are likely to meet the family patriarch, Chip, who is a cross between unreconstructed colonial relic and enlightened self-interest guru. This tea estate was the first in Africa to achieve Fairtrade certification and with good reason when you learn of all their community programmes and good employment practices.

The food at Huntingdon was mostly excellent and always very good.

Overall, lasting impression is of a truly rare and beautiful place, managed with care and love - a delightful few days which we recommend highly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanLHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingdonHouse000, Manager at Huntingdon House, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Hi IanLHarris,

Thank you for your most wonderful review which was a highly enjoyable read! The family will be most delighted for the mention. It is great to hear that you know your tea, could enjoy the Satemwa tea gardens firsthand and had a visit to the Tea Factory – hopefully you found new speciality and rare teas to enjoy back home with your friends and family. We wish you a speedy return.

Kindest Regards,

Huntingdon House Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberec, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We came to stay in Huntingdon House for my birthday..the place really is magical, the rooms are huge, beautifully furnished, with massive beds, amazing bathroom and spotless. Every girls dream come true. The staff goes out of their way to make your stay special, give you all the privacy as well as excellent service. The only down side of the place is its management. We were given no information on our arrival about the way things worked there. We found it pretty hard to understand what is for lunch / dinner, if there is a choice or what in general can we eat / drink. To see the cocktail menu took about 3 hours since we first asked for it...the dinner menu we never found out until the food was served to us. The manager was never there to help and the stuff was a little confused..clearly the communication between the management and its stuff is very limited if any...In the end there were things on our bill charged to us which we didnt have (which is OK and can happen) but the way we were treated when pointed this out was just extremely unpleasant and rude. Our stay was very special but only thanks to the fact that Huntingdon House itself is a very beautiful place to be. It could have been better if the managers were more pleasant to deal with and if we were explained how thing work on our arrival.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ostrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingdonHouse000, Manager at Huntingdon House, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Hi ostrak,

Many thanks for your review of Huntingdon House, we appreciate all feedback and use it to for improvement.

When you made the telephonic booking, I clarified that you were currently resident in Africa and qualified for the African Residents Rate for your overnight stay. I met you upon arrival and after wishing you a happy birthday and providing a tour of the house, I discussed inclusions in the accommodation package you were booked on. If there was miscommunication at this point I do apologise. I also explained at that point that we do not have a choice of Menu, we offer a Set Menu and I clarified whether you had any dietary requirements we were to be aware of. I then personally made you cocktails whilst you waited for lunch, served approximately 45mins later. We apologise profusely for these two cocktails appearing twice on your bill, as I as away at the time the Assistant Manager phoned me and I quickly resolved the issue with her. We take your comments that Management was “extremely unpleasant and rude” very seriously and this will be dealt with as such.

We thank you for choosing Huntingdon House as the venue for your birthday and we do hope you will return so that we may improve your guest experience.

With Kindest Regards,


Huntingdon House Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilongwe, Malawi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

As we are a family of four, we decided to stay in the Chawami bungalow as the House itself doesn't have family rooms.

The bungalow is situated inmidst a beautiful garden and you feel as you're travelling back in time as all furniture and equipment ist 50s style. Yes, at some places the wall color peels and the furniture show a sign of usage, but nevertheless, it is a stunning setting and we enjoyed our stay very much.

We also enjoyed a fabulous lunch and amazing afternoon tea at the Huntingdon House itself which is also a fantastic place. The plantations are beautiful and strolling around the paths is a nice way to spend a nice afternoon with the family.

At all, I can highly recommend the estate if you really want a time out of your usual daily business.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eilan2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We had a very relaxing 2 days here mid safari. It is in such a beautiful setting and the house is amazing. We had the Chapel room which was vast! All the rooms looked lovely,the gardens and tea plantation are very lush and pretty, we enjoyed walking, the tea tasting, the birds and just sitting reading under a shady tree.
The staff are very sweet and really look after you, the food is quite delicious and we felt very spoilt. Could happily have stayed longer!

Room Tip: All lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilacrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Had a lovely stay at Huntingdon House - the rooms are exquisite and exclusively decorated. The large dining rooms and fireplace have a wonderful and warm feeling. The kids loved the open spaces and discovering the large garden. The view from the picnic site up the hill were amazing. the whole feel of the place was great.
The Thyolo flies were a bit annoying and very itchy if they bite, so would have liked to have been better prepared beforehand - repellant spray was provided to ward off them.

The meals were lovely for adults, but felt that more attention was required to cater for children's meals.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatenda46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thyolo
0.0 mi away
Sunbird Ku Chawe
Sunbird Ku Chawe
#1 of 2 in Zomba
146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thumbi View Lodge
Thumbi View Lodge
#1 of 19 in Cape Maclear
141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Game Haven Lodge
Game Haven Lodge
#1 of 34 in Blantyre
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntingdon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingdon House

Property: Huntingdon House
Address: Satemwa Tea Estate | PO Box 6, Thyolo, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Southern Region > Thyolo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thyolo
Hotel Class:5 star — Huntingdon House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arguably the most scenically beautiful region of Malawi, The Thyolo district forms the heart of Malawi's tea producing region with rolling hills of immaculately cultivated, emerald green plantations and some of the oldest estates in the country. With magnificent views of Mount Mulanje and the Lower Shire valley to the west, Satemwa enjoys a temperate climate of the Shire Highlands and relaxed ambiance of a by-gone era. Visitors to this corner of Malawi cannot but help to be caught up in the colonial magic of the area and diverse scenery which ranges from tropical evergreen forests to riverine thickets and rolling hills. Huntingdon House was built in the 1920's and the estate has been in the Cathcart Kay family for generations with members of the family still running the tea and coffee production of the estate. The grand old colonial style house has been tastefully restored as a joint venture between the Satemwa Tea Estate and the Ulendo Travel Group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Huntingdon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntingdon House Malawi/Thyolo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing