We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine in a rather tired way” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hobson Motor Inn & Wings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hobson Motor Inn & Wings
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fine in a rather tired way”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

I was only staying one night and it was fine, nothing to write home about but nothing to complain about either.

The rooms were clean but a little shabby, the breakfast was ok but felt like a bit of a throw back (who gives you UHT milk rather than your choice of fresh any more?)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaNgaire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    12
    15
    9
    4
See reviews for
21
6
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed here in January 2013 for 2 nights with our 3 children, in a 2 bedroom unit. The rooms are a bit "dated" but they had a fresh coat of paint, new flooring, new couch and table (if not new was in excellent condition) and the beds were super comfy. The room was not super sized but spacious enough. I loved the way you could open up the front and back of the room with a ranch slider.The only thing that let it down was the housekeeping, beds straightened but not made properly, we had done the dishes and left them to dry and housekeeping did not put them away. Still, not a deal breaker for me but it is where they could lift their game. What we loved most was the outdoor space... plenty of room for the kids to run and kick a ball, the carpark is big and spacious so you did not worry about them being run over, there is a neat little playground for them, and the pool,... oh my, what an excellent feature that is!! It is close to a lot of amenities. We will definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to several others looking for accommodation in Auckland. For the price... you could not really ask for or expect much more overall.

Room Tip: If you have kids.... request a room close to the pool so you do not have to keep running up and down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZ_Denz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton New Zealand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

This motor inn might be dated in design, but the unit I recently stayed in for two nights was very clean, reasonably appointed and very quiet, plus it was serviced while we were out.

Extremely good value for money at NZ$135 per night for bedroom, lounge, shower, toilet and cooking facilities.

Room Tip: Plenty of room-types to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleychr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levin, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

I have used this Motor lodge several times over the years because of it's convienient location to the Air Force. I have just soent another short stay and notced the standards are not as good as they have been in the past.
I thought the standards of cleaniness were below below average when we discovered a dark head hair between the sheets in the bed. The lack of maintenance standards like the sink plug haveing a broken middle, so it could not be pulled out easily and the small oil heater that had a broken handle so it was difficult to move when warm and added the danger of burning ones self when attempting to move it. The unit was very cold. probably because this unit had a tile floor (when I enquired I was told that some are carpet and some are tiled.) The one little oil heater did not cut it. They did lend us a fan heater when I asked.
The service was nothing outstanding. Although I was supplied a key and a unit that was about it. The welcome was a friendly hello and then just a wave of the hand in the general direction of where I was staying and the same when I left. Maybe it was too cold to leave the warmth of the office.
The standards when I have stayed here over a year ago were much better and when I stayed in the early nineties some units had their own spa pools inside. The standards of the Hobson Motor Inn seem to have gone backwards which is a shame since there is no other accomodation in the immediate area and with access to the new motorway so close makes this a very convienient place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms with tiled floors are very cold in the winter ... they maybe the better option in the midd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hobsonville hotels

Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed one night - 7 people in one of the 3 bedroom units. Unit was very spacious, but many of the lights didn't work, (Bulbs need replacing). Window at back room didn't lock and was only tapped with masking tape which really is a cheap fix. Shower was broken and dirty so this should be addressed.
I advised the girl when we checked out of maintenance issues so im hoping they will be addressed as she was not overly concerned. Disappointing that the spa / games room hours are only till 8pm as this was one of the reasons we stayed. (so kids didn't get a spa or table tennis). Grounds were beautiful however and if maintenance was completed would have no complaints about the rooms. I travel very regularly and stay in Auckland, and book alot of conferences as part of work, which your venue is great for those sorts of things but as I was not thanked for staying at check out, I feel reluctant to stay again, (Infact the girl didn't seem interested in us at all) I was very disappointed. Also disappointing to see you have to pay for the spa. I would have thought this would be in the price. Overall though great for families (my kids liked the big open spaces) just some details need to be addressed. :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed a few nights in May whilst attending a wedding down the road (literally) at Brigham. The motel was OK although nothing special and we had to chase up a few things like replacement loo rolls. The location was great but overall we found it average.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LukaszZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porirua
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We were part of two big groups (total 50+ people) from Wellington staying 3 nights in the one, two and three bedroom units. Value for money - couldn't find 1+ bedroom units for that price, let alone 2+ ones! I stayed in a 2B-Family unit-4 of us, 4 beds-single bed spare. Spotless first day (apart from a closed-in smell when we arrived. Nothing that open doors and windows didn't fix) Housekeeping kept bathroom and kitchen spotless everyday we were there. Loved the mezzanine floor bedroom and the hot water cupboard for those little laundry bits. Beds were comfy, linen clean, more than enough pillows and blankets to go around. Seperate lounge area had nice cushy suite and dining table with chairs. Spacious grounds were always clean, kids loved the pool eventhough its not heated and the games room. Location was good with Westgate (shops galore) a few minutes drive away. Plenty of room for parking esp. buses.
My only gripe would be the office - not the staff, they were very friendly and patient. Office seems a bit small and understaffed, our group went there to ask things (maybe five people could fit in there at a time?) and ending up waiting a while as only one lady was manning the reception-bless her, she tried her best though. Overall, best motel I've stayed at as a big group! Highly recommended AA++.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmayizNMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hobsonville
4.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
#1 of 1 in Waitakere City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
6.0 mi away
Aristotles North Shore
Aristotles North Shore
#1 of 1 in North Shore City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
5.5 mi away
Albany Oak Motel
Albany Oak Motel
#1 of 3 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
8.6 mi away
Vineyard Cottages
Vineyard Cottages
#1 of 1 in Waimauku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sunset Lodge Motel
Sunset Lodge Motel
#1 of 4 in Henderson
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hobson Motor Inn & Wings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobson Motor Inn & Wings

Property: Hobson Motor Inn & Wings
Address: 327 Hobsonville Road | Auckland, Hobsonville 0618, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Hobsonville
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Hobsonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hobson Motor Inn & Wings 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hobson Motor Inn & Wings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing