We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wondeful.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau de la Pommeraye
Ranked #1 of 2 La Pommeraye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights on our way back from a week in the wine regions and wished we had stayed longer. Fantastically beautiful I can't imagine finding a better place to unwind. The owner Alexander could not have been more hospitable and has updated this old château into something magical. We were recommended a local restaurant/hotel for dinner in the local town of Clecy which was one of the best meals I have ever had. We will be sure to return on our next trip to France and this time will try Alexander cuisine.

Stunning, highly recommended!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
There are newer reviews for Chateau de la Pommeraye
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful Normandy chateau during the DDay 70th Anniversary remembrance celebrations and able to experience 3 different suites. What I can share is that Alexandre and Karine have lovingly restored this stunning property with the utmost care and detail. All suites and rooms are unique in decor, have ample space and are spotlessly clean. Furnishings are of first class quality and years of careful thought and planning are very evident. The property itself is surrounded by beautiful Norman countryside and the tranquility is indescribable. Delicious local organic jams, honey and butter enjoyed with locally baked breads and croissants. I have no hesitation in recommending Chateau de la Pommeraye as it excels in providing comfort and attention to detail in absolutely exquisite surroundings. Alexandre and Karine are terrific hosts and provide a 7 star experience!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark_mc888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We live in Australia but recently got married near Falaise, about 30 minutes away from Chateau de la Pommeraye. My husband and I stayed at the Chateau on the night after the wedding as we wanted to have some quiet quality time together. It was magical, the hosts were very welcoming, the room was incredibly beautiful and everything was perfect. We loved the amazing breakfast with freshly baked bread and patisseries near the fireplace the next morning. Plus, the hosts are environmentally conscious and aim for organic and local products whenever possible.
Thank you so much for welcoming us into your home, we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My wife and I stayed with some friends in early May for four nights. We all absolutely loved sharing this magical place with Alexandre and Katrine. Our hosts were lovely - hospitable, warm and friendly and very hard working. Here you are made to feel not a guest, but part of the family and privileged to be part of this beautiful Chateau. This is a very special place indeed. The guest accommodations are first class - large bedrooms with sumptuous beds, stylish bathrooms and a dining area fit for royalty. All exceptionally clean, very tastefully decorated and furnished with artistic flair and a keen eye for detail. The food is outstanding - the best table d'hote we have experienced, all prepared with love and skill from the freshest organic ingredients. This is the place to come to enjoy the serenity of the 'deep country' in Suisse Normande, but be within easy reach of Bayeux, Caen and the Normandy beaches. You simply must come and visit ! You will not be disappointed and will not want to leave. Will we be back? You could not keep us away - we miss Alexandre and Katrine!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in April. We had every intention of doing some sightseeing in the Normandy area, but we ended up spending all of our time relaxing at the chateau, mostly near the fireplace in the lounge. It is so special, magical, and lovely that we didn't want to leave. The hosts were very accommodating and the dinners were SO delicious. Better than the nearby restaurants FOR SURE. Breakfast is simple, traditional French style with fresh, homemade pastries. Everything is done with love and care. The rooms (there are just 5 so you're guaranteed it won't ever be too crowded) are enormous, clean, with big, comfy beds and big bathtubs. The grounds are beautiful for small walks. It was rainy while we were there, otherwise we would have gone on bigger walks in the area.

There is a neighbouring spa, but that is the one thing I wouldn't necessarily recommend. It is expensive…and we tried 4 different therapists, all of whom were only average.

It is family / children-friendly, so we plan on returning with our extended family in the near future.

Can't recommend enough for a quiet, relaxing holiday in a truly special chateau that has been restored out of love.

Room Tip: I personally like the first floor rooms best because of the high ceilings and big windows. The 2nd f...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leahsoojin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed there one night only and it was so nice! We wished we had more time there. Alexander and his team were so welcoming and accommodating with us and our toddler. Alexander is a great cook also, best duck I've ever had! Highly recommended :)

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Bla234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a night during our Honeymoon in October (2013) and absolutely loved it. We wished we could have stayed longer, but our itinerary did not allow for it. Alexandre was the perfect host; he really went out of his way to answer all of our questions (e.g. where to eat, what to see, where to get a certain wine, etc.). The grounds and the chateau were beautiful. Great place to go to relax.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Pommeraye
3.1 mi away
Au Site Normand Hotel-Restaurant
22.1 mi away
Le Chateau d'Audrieu
Le Chateau d'Audrieu
#1 of 1 in Audrieu
87 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel du Golf de Clecy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Manoir de la Riviere
Manoir de la Riviere
#1 of 1 in Saint-Louet-sur-Seulles
149 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre
9.6 mi away
Ibis Falaise Coeur de Normandie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Pommeraye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Pommeraye

Address: Lieu Dit le Chateau, 14690 La Pommeraye, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > La Pommeraye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in La Pommeraye
Price Range: £154 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning newly renovated Château de la Pommeraye, a luxury “Chambres d’hôtes au château” is open since April 2012. The Chateau is nestled in a valley between the remains of the historic 10th century Chateau Ganne and the picturesque village of la Pommeraye. Set in 24 hectares with plentiful wildlife among many 300 year old trees and water features, the Chateau is the historic seat of the Knights of La Pommeraye.There are five magnificent rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chateau de la Pommeraye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing