We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the extra mile to get there” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de la Pommeraye

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chateau de la Pommeraye
Ranked #1 of 2 La Pommeraye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the extra mile to get there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Just nearby a quiet, friendly village, the chateau has a peaceful, relaxed atmosphere. The hosts are attentive and warm and able to discern whether guests wanted to be left alone, given local information or simply pass the time of day; an unusual and welcome talent! Alexandre is interested in everything and knowledgeable too; from carp, wild-life, organic baking, architecture, honey, to art history and can back it all up with examples on site! Karine is a delight: warm and charming. Both speak good English, Alexandre is fluent. The bed was very comfortable and the linen beautifully laundered and of excellent quality. The rooms were spotlessly clean and all the fixtures and fitting first class. The coffee was the best we had in France, (and we'd just spent a week in Paris), their own produce, including honey and bread shouldn't be missed (the butter is wonderful!). We can seem laid-back, but we're actually very fussy about hotels; this is only the third five star we've given in over 40 hotels.

Room Tip: We loved our room, but didn't see the others. Ours was a suite with a large bedroom, sitting roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
124
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scotts Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This beautiful chateau in lovely rural France has been carefully and loving restored. With only five rooms at present it is intimate and spacious. We were in the Prestige Suite which included a large bedroom, separate sitting room, and bath. Organic breakfast foods, locally obtained or grown on the grounds greeted us every morning. The host/proprietor was gracious and charming. A lovely spa is located within five kilometers, restaurants close by, a pond and beautiful grounds make this a wonderful retreat. We stayed here at the end of our trip. It is a perfect place to relax after a hectic trip and before the long plane ride home.
Tucked away but not to far from Caen and the beaches of Normandy also makes this a central hotel for seeing this part of France.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suec8868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

17th century Chateau de la Pommeraye is a superb example of the architectural style of
Louis XIII, being a truly beautiful building situated in stunning pastoral surroundings.
It has genuine historic atmosphere throughout its exquisitely furnished reception rooms, and different choice of bedrooms and suites.
It boasts 24 hectares of varied Suisse Normande countryside ideal for leisurely walks, a small lake, woods with red squirrels, sweeping meadows with wild flowers at their edge and manicured lawns, visited by deer, badgers and a variety of interesting birdlife, all of which we were delighted to see during our four days' stay.
The sitting room, bedroom and bed in our enormous second floor suite were very comfortable and the bathroom luxurious. The views from our windows were breathtaking.
Alexandre and Karine were so generous with their time and local advice, when asked, and so naturally hospitable that we felt like family friends rather than guests.
Chateau de la Pommeraye is one of the most beguiling places we know and will remain fondly in our memories for many years to come.
We would love to return and cannot recommend Chateau de la Pommeraye too highly.

Room Tip: All the rooms and suites are believed to be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neville W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights on our way back from a week in the wine regions and wished we had stayed longer. Fantastically beautiful I can't imagine finding a better place to unwind. The owner Alexander could not have been more hospitable and has updated this old château into something magical. We were recommended a local restaurant/hotel for dinner in the local town of Clecy which was one of the best meals I have ever had. We will be sure to return on our next trip to France and this time will try Alexander cuisine.

Stunning, highly recommended!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful Normandy chateau during the DDay 70th Anniversary remembrance celebrations and able to experience 3 different suites. What I can share is that Alexandre and Karine have lovingly restored this stunning property with the utmost care and detail. All suites and rooms are unique in decor, have ample space and are spotlessly clean. Furnishings are of first class quality and years of careful thought and planning are very evident. The property itself is surrounded by beautiful Norman countryside and the tranquility is indescribable. Delicious local organic jams, honey and butter enjoyed with locally baked breads and croissants. I have no hesitation in recommending Chateau de la Pommeraye as it excels in providing comfort and attention to detail in absolutely exquisite surroundings. Alexandre and Karine are terrific hosts and provide a 7 star experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark_mc888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We live in Australia but recently got married near Falaise, about 30 minutes away from Chateau de la Pommeraye. My husband and I stayed at the Chateau on the night after the wedding as we wanted to have some quiet quality time together. It was magical, the hosts were very welcoming, the room was incredibly beautiful and everything was perfect. We loved the amazing breakfast with freshly baked bread and patisseries near the fireplace the next morning. Plus, the hosts are environmentally conscious and aim for organic and local products whenever possible.
Thank you so much for welcoming us into your home, we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

My wife and I stayed with some friends in early May for four nights. We all absolutely loved sharing this magical place with Alexandre and Katrine. Our hosts were lovely - hospitable, warm and friendly and very hard working. Here you are made to feel not a guest, but part of the family and privileged to be part of this beautiful Chateau. This is a very special place indeed. The guest accommodations are first class - large bedrooms with sumptuous beds, stylish bathrooms and a dining area fit for royalty. All exceptionally clean, very tastefully decorated and furnished with artistic flair and a keen eye for detail. The food is outstanding - the best table d'hote we have experienced, all prepared with love and skill from the freshest organic ingredients. This is the place to come to enjoy the serenity of the 'deep country' in Suisse Normande, but be within easy reach of Bayeux, Caen and the Normandy beaches. You simply must come and visit ! You will not be disappointed and will not want to leave. Will we be back? You could not keep us away - we miss Alexandre and Katrine!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Pommeraye
3.1 mi away
Au Site Normand Hotel-Restaurant
9.6 mi away
Ibis Falaise Coeur de Normandie
23.8 mi away
Le Manoir du Lys
Le Manoir du Lys
#1 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre
17.7 mi away
Manoir de la Riviere
Manoir de la Riviere
#1 of 1 in Saint-Louet-sur-Seulles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Domaine de la Pommeraye
Domaine de la Pommeraye
#1 of 1 in La Pommeraye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Pommeraye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Pommeraye

Property: Chateau de la Pommeraye
Address: Lieu Dit le Chateau, 14690 La Pommeraye, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > La Pommeraye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in La Pommeraye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning newly renovated Château de la Pommeraye, a luxury “Chambres d’hôtes au château” is open since April 2012. The Chateau is nestled in a valley between the remains of the historic 10th century Chateau Ganne and the picturesque village of la Pommeraye. Set in 24 hectares with plentiful wildlife among many 300 year old trees and water features, the Chateau is the historic seat of the Knights of La Pommeraye.There are five magnificent rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de la Pommeraye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing