We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth The Stopover” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Piercebridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Worth The Stopover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Like many travellers, we passed The George many times over incalculable years, glad we stopped this time. Built beside a peaceful river bank it is also within a very historic Roman setting.
Room was spacious with two double beds, though en-suite a little tired.
Food excellent, recommend the `house` burger, without the unremarkable chips!
Breakfast cooked to order.
Do walk across the bridge to the lovely village and the village pub at the other end. Pub, The Carlbury Arms, is run by a welcoming young Irishman, has a large dining area.
After indulging, you may like to then see the Roman Latrines, (signposted), worth seeking out.
Many walkers and cyclists also stop off here, the countryside being truly beautiful.
From The George it is a mere 45min drive to Newcastle, and probably less to the market town of Darlington

Room Tip: Ask for the twin room with the double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 151Mike151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    150
    69
    36
    32
See reviews for
123
233
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
507 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for a night and used it as a base for a night out in Darlington. On reflection this was probably a bad idea as the taxi fare in total return cost 32.00 but in regards to the hotel - no complaints at all.
Situated in a beautiful spot on the Tees river with sloping lawns down to the river with tables and chairs.
Rooms were clean and comfy (maybe a little stuffy) but well worth the 39.00 paid.
We will defiantly be returning!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KTandPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in June. Given that it was not dear we were not disappointed by the little things that let the hotel down. At no time did we see any senior staff on duty. The hotel seemed to be run by waiting and bar staff, not a major problem but an interesting policy. The rooms were adequate but a little tired. Our hot water ran out in the morning as I was shaving. The food was good and the beer excellent. The staff were ok, perhaps a little stand offish but that could be worked on by better management. All in all we found the George was good value for money and perhaps if it was smaller and managed more efficiently it would be really good. Worth a stay if you are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CjMFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

It actually turns out we have visited The George many years ago, so were pleasantly surprised its was the same place! We had a pre dinner drink in the garden down by the river which was very nice.
Food was very tasty and well presented and came out promptly, the only down side, the starters were served on some nice looking slate plates, which looked lovely, but I couldn't stand the sound of the cutlery scratching against the slate!!
Nice selection of real ales and wine, keeping both Mr and Mrs happy!
The staff were friendly and attentive, however I did feel their appearance slightly scruffy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsbindurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

We had attended a wedding at The George Hotel last year and were attending a wedding this time at the near by Headlam Hall on the 14th June 2013. We booked the hotel room through the company web site and were pleased with the £35.10 price. We turned up at 12.30pm earlier than the booking in time of 2pm and the receptionist said this was fine. She gave us the key to our room and said that due to us been early it may not have been cleaned yet but we were more than welcome to leave our bags in there if we wanted to. We thanked her and took the bags up to the room which hadn't been cleaned but this was fine. My husband went back and told the receptionist that we had put the bags in the wardrobe and she said that she would inform housekeeping.
We arrived back from the wedding about 12.30am and I went to get the bag out of the wardrobe where we had left it and it was gone. My husband went down to the main reception and spoke to the night porter (Mick) whom he said was very helpful and also mortified that our bag was not in the room. After a search and unable to locate the bag he tried to ring the manager (Matt) but there was no answer so he went up to Matts room to wake him up. Matt was unwilling to come downstairs to speak to my husband and said that Mick would have to speak to housekeeping in th morning and if the bag did not turn up call the police. At no point did he come and speak to my husband in person!! Mick apologised about his manager. My husband as you can imagine was livid. We had a terrible nights sleep due to fretting about our missing belongings which included our cars keys and also my glasses. My husband went down to the main desk again at 7.25am to see if the bag had been located and again the manager was no where to be seen and the housekeeping staff were not in at that time. At 7.30am there was a knock at the door and Mick was stood there with the bag and a member of the housekeeping staff who had not got the message about the bag been in the wardrobe and put it in safe keeping. We were extremely grateful to Mick for his help with the matter. At 10am we went to check out. We still had not seen the manager and when we asked to speak to Matt the receptionist telepohned him and were told we woyuld have to wait 15-20mins to speak to him as he was up in his room. 25mins later Matt arrived. He explained that he was a stand in manager for a wedding that was been held that day and he had got there late Friday Night, he denied that anyone had spoken to him which I feel is total rubbish as I acan't imagione there benn 2 managers called Matt!! My husband again explained the incident and hewas very stand offish but did eventually apologised and admit it was a breek down in communication amongst the staff. We did not pay for the room and it was a terrible end to a lovely wedding day and would not return to that hotel again!
Very disappointed
However on a plus the room was lovely and spacious and very clean with a lovely large tele

Room Tip: keep your luggage with you at all times
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Steph A

Please accept my sincere apologies for the mix up regarding the storage of your luggage. We normally only permit guests who arrive prior to our check-in times to store their luggage with us at reception and then we deliver the luggage to the room once the housekeepers have serviced the room. Unfortunately, as you had been permitted to leave your luggage in the room prior to it being serviced, the housekeepers then assumed that it was ‘left luggage’ from the previous occupants and it was stored accordingly, hence the mix up.

Once again please accept our sincere apologies as I am truly sorry that the incident spoiled your stay and I hope that the full refund helps in some small way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

I wasn't expecting much really, given the £39 that I paid for a standard room. Whilst it wasn't the Ritz I was pleasantly surprised though.

The room was part if a separate block adjacent to the pub/hotel and whilst it was a little cramped, it was clean and well appointed with tea and coffee along with complimentary mineral water. The bathroom perhaps needed a bit if a revamp but on balance all was well!

The location is first class, ideally placed for Darlington and the A1. Sitting alongside the river the hotel has great garden areas which I enjoyed fully in the early summer sun.

In short, not a palace but faultless value for what I paid and I would have no hesitation in returning but will try a superior room in my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulm7067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for your kind review, I am glad to read we exceeded your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Beth Horton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

we stayed her on our way home to north wales after a week in northumberland,on our arrival a very quick checkin and shown to our room which was on the ground floor of the annex well laid out room with onsuite,ideal, as we where travelling with our westie molly we had our meal in the bar which was very nice indeed,the beers where very good ,the best I thought was the local cask ale top rate. The room was very comfortable indeed with everything laid on,In the morning had the full english breakfast but there was a very good chioce, top class even though there was a wedding being prepared nothing was to much trouble for all the staff molly really enjoyed her stay. Would I stay again you bet,would I recommend to friends sure would a very nice hotel and set in a very nice spot right on the rivers edge. When looking around the hotel there where items found in the River Tees dating back when there was a roman settelment here very interesting.The only thing that I would mention was the heat in the corridor for june was a bit to high which really is a small thing.

Room Tip: all good but rooms facing the river would be at a premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davymole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for your kind review and glad both yourselves and Molly enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Beth Horton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piercebridge
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
21.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
19.9 mi away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Piercebridge DL2 3SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Piercebridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Piercebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Piercebridge, Durham
George Hotel Darlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing