We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected Pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Piercebridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unexpected Pleasure”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had been traveling gently South looking at Roman sites an d stopped in Piercebridge to look at the fort and bridge. We'd had a lovely day, but it had been long and tiring so we went into the George for a drink. It looked as though it would cost a fortune to stay there but we were wrong! The building and setting are perfect, the welcome was friendly and warm. The beer was excellent and the food wonderful. Our room was large and cool and I've never seen as many tea bags in a room before. Every one of the staff we met was friendly and chatty while being totally professional. I cannot praise the George highly enough. It's a definite stop when we venture North again. Thank you everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank old_fat_man_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    154
    71
    38
    34
See reviews for
126
239
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Beautiful setting and nice welcome on arrival,we stayed two nights on B+B+D basis.
The room we were allocated was dirty and the tiles in the shower were filthy.
The windows in the Dining Room were dirty on both the inside and outside.
The stench from the drains outside on the patio made it impossible to sit out.

At Breakfast on the second morning we were served almost un-cooked bacon,which was returned to the kitchen but came out again no better ( Don't think the Chef was in this morning )
All other meals were tasty and I asked for well cooked bacon on our last morning which I got.

There needs to be a rigorous overhaul on the cleaning and spot checks to monitor consistency.
I have written a detailed account of our stay to the management and hope they can persuade the Senior Management to make a considerable Investment.

The only saving grace was the STAFF who we found to be very pleasant, warm and welcoming.

They need a lot of Help,Investment, Staff Training and Support if this hotel is to Survive !!

Room Tip: Must pay a visit first,before staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ping12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
452 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 494 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is a lovely pub by the river. We visited here on a Friday evening and it was very quiet just a couple of people in the bar and 3 couples in the restaurant.

The staff were really nice as was the food. However, the only slight criticism I have is what sounded like a posh prawn cocktail on the menu was actually a glass full of prawns still in their shells. I wish restaurants would state this given that no one in our party likes them this way I would imagine a good percentage of people don't like them this way. So why not just state this on the menu and be helpful instead of trying in some way to be "in". This is strange because the seabass was not described as a fillet yet came as a fillet. All of our party like seabass and would probably have ordered it but as it didn't say a fillet we did order it.

We probably won't come back, the food was nice but the combination of the surprise of the prawns being whole unshelled and when the dish was returned to the staff other staff returned and discussed the issue asking if would like it as it had been made.??? This was probably meant in a helpful manner to be honest but came across a little stroppy. We didn't check to see if it had been taken off the bill.

We probably won't come back but the rest of the food was nice and the atmosphere if very quiet was nice too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnSunderlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed here one night on 10th August as part of a wedding party. Dining room is spacious and food was excellent, as this was a wedding reception with many guests. Service was friendly and efficient and the room was cleared quickly for the evening do. Hotel has beautiful grounds with a lovely view of the Roman bridge. Our room was small, but well-equipped, and had an excellent shower. Breakfast was good and served in a room overlooking the grounds. Check in and out was efficient. The hotel dealt well with large numbers of guests.
If you aren't very mobile, this hotel has lots of steps! Also please try to resurface the entrance to the car park.
Otherwise, this is in a lovely location and I would recommend it for a short break.

Room Tip: Main building at the front was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013

As a family party arriving on Friday night staff could not of been more helpful in getting us settled in and providing large area in bar where we could all gather. Also very accommodating with dinner for all 27 of us. Felt we had a private party with all staff helpful and very friendly. Wonderful experience continued following day for our son's wedding, described by our new daughter-in-law as "the perfect day". Largely due to staff carrying out all their wishes in a friendly and efficient. On Saturday night wedding party occupied all rooms and excellent service continued until check out on Sunday. All food great quality and value .

Room Tip: Mews rooms very disable friendly, lot of stairs in main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia2557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Enjoyed our 2 night stay apart from the privacy..... We heard EVERY sound and i mean EVERY sound the people made in the rooms on either side of us. Apart from this we thoroughly enjoyed the peace and tranquility of the area around the hotel. The grounds and gardens are well kept. Couldn't fault the breakfast or evening meals..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LillyDumfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed here when attending a wedding and loved it. We stayed in one of the separate block of rooms which was just perfect in size. We stayed 2 nights and slept really well - the bed was that comfy. Well appointed bathrooms as well (but get up early if you want piping hot water). There is so much to mention - Bar service is quick and all the staff are polite. The breakfasts are generous and well prepared, the coffee is real coffee machine coffee. There is a wonderful ballroom as well. Piercebridge is fairly small but has a good roman history which is documented in the pub. The scenery is lovely though as well in the surrounding areas.

Room Tip: A room in the main hotel is a shorter walk to the restaurant and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piercebridge
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel
21.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
19.9 mi away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
4.5 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Piercebridge DL2 3SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Piercebridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Piercebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Piercebridge, Durham
George Hotel Darlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing