We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (688)
Filter reviews
688 results
Traveller rating
277
203
100
60
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
277
203
100
60
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grandfather clock bridal suite roman fort overlooking the river lovely location food was lovely evening meal wedding party night stay biscuits full english breakfast breakfast room the main hotel the pub large room stayed one night comfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 688 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

We held our sons Christening party at The George and had a fantastic day. After being let down by our original choice of venue I felt like the staff couldn’t have been more helpful in ensuring the day was perfect. The food was lovely and the room was set out just as I had asked. The outdoor space provided plenty of entertainment for the children. We have had lots of compliments since, everyone seemed to really enjoy themselves! Massive thanks to all the staff who were working that day ( 02.09.2018). My only complaint would be next time please can you stock more prosecco as my family love a glass of bubbly !

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Green_Dolphin71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkM10085, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2018

Hi Green_Dolphin71, I am so pleased to hear that you and the guests enjoyed the Christening and it was a delight to have you all here. If you ever wish to book another function again, please do not hesitate to contact us and I assure you that there will be plenty of Prosecco available for you all. Thanks again, Green_Dolphin71, it genuinely was a pleasure to stage the Christening at the hotel and we hope to see you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Very friendly helpful staff who accommodated my In laws difficulty in deciding what to eat or drink, food was freshly prepared, tasty and took a little timer to come, but worth the wait.
Sat outside for a few minutes in the sun on the grass beside the river, very beautiful.
will return soon

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank aandl272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkM10085, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2018

Hi Aandl272, I thank you kindly for your complimentary feedback and you are correct in stating that the surroundings beside the river are rather splendid. It has always been a popular destination to relax for the guests and customers, and I hope that it will attract you to come back to the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

Exelent place to relax with a pet. We were made very welcome .We were given the cottage which was so comfy with 2 rooms .bathroom, hall and kitchen also an enclosed area outside for the dog .
The garden is beautiful .with a river.
Our meal was amazing in the evening (steak cooked to perfection) and we could take the dog with us .breakfast was lovely in the morning.staff were very helpful and friendly.we had private parking in the grounds beside our cottage .COULDNT RECOMEND THIS PLACE MORE XX

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkM10085, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2018

Hi Kay P, I am extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and I hope that one day you will decide to visit us again. Your comments have made the whole team smile and we all look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

This lovely 16th century coachiing inn creaks in places and the decor is tired. However, it is clean, comfortable and rhe staff friendly.
The inn is situated on the banks of the River Tees and looks across at the remains of a Roman fort. It is very quiet and picturesque, a lovely place to stay not to far from many places of interest and the road further north.
Thank you for a lovely stay.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 672debrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkM10085, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2018

Hi Debra D, I thank you kindly for your complimentary feedback regarding the hotel, and I hope that you decide to visit us again the next time your travel up North.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Having read reviews before booking I was swung by the menu and the prospect of a river view table in the restaurant. As we arrived a wedding party was already well into proceedings which added to our entertainment. The welcome was warm, genuine and efficient making us feel instantly at ease. Our room was well appointed and though a little cold initially, warmed to comfortable. We enjoyed a short stroll into the village and back to the hotel via the ruins of an ancient Roman village, amongst the local flora and fauna.
After collecting our pre meal aperitif we were shown to our table in the restaurant, a river view as promised, and we were kind of impressed. We ordered our meals, though there was no starter to suit our palette we chose to have a sweet instead. The meal arrived not exactly promptly but we were delighted by its quality which softened the minor disappointment. The sweet followed but so good was the main, we just went through the motions. Drinks in quiet corner just away from the bar help our meal settle as we watched wedding guests come and go keeping us entertained until sleep became more appealing. Before we retired a conversation between bar staff and guests was unavoidable which revealed a planned upgrade to the interior was due to commence in early 2019. We had already taken this building to heart and expressed a sadness in the building's desperate need of investment. This was music to our ears! We will definitely be back!!

Room tip: We stayed in room 101. It was lovely.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank watercolourcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkM10085, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2018

Thank you kindly for your amazing review, Watercolourcrow, and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews