We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect accommodation in beautiful countryside”
other travellers have booked this property
Oscar's Barn  Luxury Holiday let
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Oscar's Barn  Luxury Holiday let
Guest's Patio, BBQ area and Summerhouse Foxglove Nook with it's own patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Oscar's Barn  Luxury Holiday let
Guest's Patio, BBQ area and Summerhouse
Foxglove Nook with it's own patio
Oscar's Barn - main lounge/bedroom area
Foxglove Nook Bedroom/mezzanine lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Piercebridge, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ben D
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect accommodation in beautiful countryside”
Reviewed 28 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed in Oscar’s Barn, which is perfect. It's beautifully designed with a huge window overlooking miles of rolling fields. The kitchen is very well equipped and the main room is stunning: two sofas (which open out into sofa beds, although I didn't need them), TV, and a huge comfortable bed. I got one of the best night’s sleep I’ve had in months and half considered moving in permanently! The hosts couldn’t have been more helpful and made it feel like I was staying in a 5 star hotel. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2016
Hi Ben,

Thank you so much for the great review - Tony and I are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future. All the very best to you and Jenni for 2017.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jow1982
1 review
“Tranquil, tucked away stunning accomodation”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Beautiful accomodation, high standards, was greeted by Andrea and tony at beginning of holiday who told us if we needed anything at all to approach them.The welcome basket was a lovely touch but when we entered so many touches what tony and Andrea thought of, they covered everything, brilliant location for alot of places, spoilt for choice with all modern equipment, the annex very spacious tastefully decorated, pure indulgence, definitely the ' wow factor' ! We have booked again, have stayed at other cottages in this price bracket not a patch on 'Oscars barn', Lovely polite people who really went that extra mile for there guests, well done Andrea and tony, look forward to seeing you again Ann, Joanne and sienna

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Aberdeen
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Fabulous stay at oscars barn. Very attentive owners who even posted belongings I forgot, every need was catered for and it was lovely to come back to such a gorgeous relaxing place after hard work at the agility show. Super quiet location with stunning views and walks. Thank you Andrea and. Tony

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esavvy201...
Wirral, United Kingdom
1 review
“spectacular”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

our stay at Oscars barn was fantastic The location of the barn and its tranquil surroundings and gardens is superb 10 out of 10. The views from the barn window is breathtaking 10 out of 10.The accommodation is presented to an exceptional high standard 10 out of 10.The beautiful welcome basket proved a great hit with all our party 10
out of 10 . Our hosts Tony and Andrea were fantastic 10 out of 10..What more can we say ,we would recommend this barn without hesitation to anyone visiting Durham

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the spectacular view
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen O
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely loved our recent stay at Oscars Barn. The accommodation and grounds were superb, and attention to detail second to none. From the welcome basket in the kitchen to the board games for rainy days in the lounge, we couldn't fault it one bit. The views of the countryside were spectacular and we can't wait to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2016
Dear Mr. & Mrs O'Brien , Thank you for your posting , we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us ,and we look forward to welcoming you and Buster the dog back soon, and hope he enjoyed watching the wild rabbits in the garden from, his private floor height window .
Tony and Andrea , Oscars Barn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina P
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“highest standard of accomodation”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The accommodation is presented to the highest standard with as much top quality equipment as you could need. The views are amazing as is the local wildlife and birdlife outside the window every morning is a joy to see. So many areas locally to visit or just relax in the beautiful surroundings. Would highly recommend this to anyone - stairs to entrance would exclude anyone with a disability however. But then again the Foxglove Nook across the drive is more suitable. I assume again to the same high standards.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the welcome pack and huge cream cake awaiting was a wonderful surprise
Liked least: The bathroom is a little on the tight side
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen g
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Cottage, great location.”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Oscars barn is superbly presented cottage in a beautiful part of South Durham. The views from the barn style full height windows are magnificent as is the standard of the equipment and facilities within the cottage. The cottage sits in well tended gardens in a tranquil location just a mile from Piercebridge. The owners seem to have thought of everything and we would recommend the cottage without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall quality and great views
Liked least: We had to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing